8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56, +3.75 66, +5.25 101

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50

you might want to bump him up a little by feeding about a teaspoon of high carb canned food.
please retest in 30 minutes.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50

sounds good!
normally we don't pull out the hc until kitty drops below 50, but it's too early in the cycle to be seeing that 50 now. a little hc should bump him up nicely.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50

retest already :
AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
He ate half can LC canned food & 1 teaspoon of HC food (gravy only) 15 mins ago
what should i do next?
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50

AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64

I will retest within 20-30min. meanwhile, is that mean i should give him another teaspoon of HC since the latest number dropped a little bit?
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50

why don't you hold off on giving more hc until you see where he's at in 30 minutes?
you could give him a little bit of his regular low carb canned food now...
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50

Tried to give him his regular low carb canned food, however he dont wanna eat it, maybe he's full, cos he just ate half can of low carb canned food about 45mins ago
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56

i'm a bit worry now, as u said it's too early at the cycle to have 50, ahmin's nadir usually at +5
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56

don't worry. you're in control.
yes, his nadir isn't until around +5. what you want to do is to keep him above 50 until we get past nadir.

i asked you to give him gravy this last time because i don't want his tummy to get full. in a little bit we'll see if he'll eat some hc again. in the meantime, the gravy will help to keep his numbers up.

do you have any karo or some other kind of syrup in the house if we want to boost his numbers up a little more?
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56

good! try feeding him some high carb food. if he won't eat it, let him lick some gravy again. when you're done, come back and let me know if he ate hc food or just the gravy. i'd like to see his number bumped up a little higher before nadir.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56, +3.75 66

a test at +4.5 sounds good to me.
how are you doing, christine? you're not nervous, are you? you're doing a beautiful job managing ahmin's curve.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56, +3.75 66

just a little bit worry only...glad to have u here with me :-D
also, luckily, i just bought those high carb food last night.
i didn't expect his bg suddenly drop to the low level this morning, i prepared the HC food was actually for the emergency use when i start to increase his dosage.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56, +3.75 66

i won't leave you alone until he's on his way up. happy you had hc in the house. you never know when you might need it.
the good news is ahmin has earned a reduction. you've had to work too hard to keep his numbers up. his new dose is 0.75 unit. :mrgreen:
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56, +3.75 66

great to hear ahmin has earned a reduction :mrgreen:
but i'm confusing, in the past few days, i discussed with other members in this forum, they suggested me to increase the dosage to 1.25u,
why we can reduce it to 0.75u? very confuse.... :roll:

btw, latest test result :
AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64
+3.25 56
+3.75 66
+4.5 72

Jill, thanks for helping me, I'm sooooooooooooo appreciate :-D
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56, +3.75 66

christine&ahmin said:
great to hear ahmin has earned a reduction :mrgreen:
but i'm confusing, in the past few days, i discussed with other members in this forum, they suggested me to increase the dosage to 1.25u,
why we can reduce it to 0.75u? very confuse.... :roll:

sometimes it takes some kitties longer to respond to a dose than others. ahmin was seeing some green on this dose, but did not drop as low as he did today. there's no doubt in my mind that had you not intervened, he would have dropped below 50. ahmin is also a newly diagnosed kitty. newly diagnosed kitties can often be unpredictable and than all of a sudden something clicks and they show a huge response (like today).

btw, latest test result :
AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64
+3.25 56
+3.75 66
+4.5 72

oh, i like that 72! very nice.
do you think he'll eat any low carb food now? if not, let him have a teaspoon of hc gravy and retest at +5.25.

the idea is to bump him up a little more so that he won't drop any further as he approaches nadir.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56, +3.75 66

my sweetie Ahmin just ate about 2/3 small can LC canned food :-D
retest at +5.25, result :
AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64
+3.25 56
+3.75 66
+4.5 72
+5.25 101

go back to the dosage, Am i going to give him 0.75u starting from tonite pm shot?
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56, +3.75 66

very, very nice! i think you can retest in an hour. his numbers should continue to go up.

for tonight's dose you have 2 options:

if ahmin bounces by pmps time you could shoot 1u tonight and then take the reduction to 0.75u in the morning

~ OR ~

you can reduce the dose to 0.75u tonight.

if you're unsure what to do, post and ask for advice before you shoot tonight.



do you feel comfortable handling the rest of this cycle on your own?
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56, +3.75 66, +5.25 10

I think i'm able to handle the rest of the cycle by my own, shouldn't be any problem coz bg should continue to go up.
Thank you so much for your help, I'm very appreciated you were here with me :-D
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56, +3.75 66, +5.25 10

my pleasure. :-D
you handled that drop and managed the curve so well!

if you have any questions others will be coming online very soon. i'm signing off for now so i can take a little nap. shot time for alex is a little over an hour away.

you have a good day and i'll say goodnight! :lol:
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin AMPS 135, +2 50, +3.25 56, +3.75 66, +5.25 10

Hi guys .. I just read through all the posts here, you did great with ahmin christine, congrats on the dose reduction! Such a nice job on the feeding and testing .. you are becoming a pro :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top