8/22 Tigger PMPS/311 & 323 -Shot through the bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Early Good Morning LL,

Tigger 8/19

Please see the lower comment box for my REDUCE Question - I'll mark it with a :?: , ok!

Sorry for not posting these last 2 days - I'm still pretty sick - cold went into my chest & being an asthmatic I'm trying not to get pneumonia. If not over by Monday I'll go to the Dr. for AB.

Tigger got 3 reductions pretty rapidly (8/15PM, & 8/18 & 8/20 Ams) after going to 43, 46 & 38.

This last reduction T's stayed high & level, with a quick drop some cycles into the high blue BGs.

8/22 Am shot in 2 hours would be his 5th on the current dose. As of last night he's testing negative urine ketones & has all 5-Ps.

LAst night T stayed high, so I skipped a +5-7 BG for sleep.

The only difference other than reductions is to feed small meals @ +1 & +2 in AM. Not as many meals at PM- I shoot at 8:20PM & go to bed, but T gets a 2nd PM meal @ +1 or +1.5

I think T had alot of reductions rapidly & needs to go back up, but I'm only on the 5th cycle of this dose. Should I hold this dose the full 6 cycles or increase .25 unit now?

Thanks very much for your help. I miss you all & hope to be back up, posting & catching up with you soon.

Take Care everyone - healing & support vines to everyone in need.
 
Re: 8/21 Tigger PMPS/379 +3/339 +9.5/283 Dose Advice Please

bumping you up.....
see if we can get some more experienced eyes....
I'd be inclined to go up myself.....


Hope you start feeling better soon!

ETA: and its August 22 today.....
 
Re: 8/21 Tigger PMPS/379 +3/339 +9.5/283 Dose Advice Please

I'd be inclined to wait the full 72 hours for the bounce to clear. You saw some blue yesterday so it seems like Tigger is trying to pull the numbers back down.
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger PMPS/379 +3/339 +9.5/283 Dose Advice Please

@ Rhiannon - Thanks for the bump, & Oops on the date!

@ Sienne - thanks for the input. I did decide to hold - even tho' I think there's an increase in Tigger's near future, he did go blue yesterday & could go lower today - he's unpredictable. Also, he's lacked consistency this last week with all the reductions, so holding the full 6 cycles, even tho' they're not good cycles, will give him that consistency. Just wish he'd go blue - it would make that decision easier!

Thanks for the well wishes, too - I can use them!
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355 +2/169 +4.5/48!!! Glad didn't redu

Wow, Sienne - If you see Tigg's +4.5 BG, I'm REALLY GLAD I didn't increase! :o :o :o . This is a super example of making sure to be safe. These numbers are with extra meals. Looks like Tigger's on another ride - hope I can keep up with him, I'm going to re-test in 20 (8 min. from now)
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355 +4.5/48 +5/44 Glad didn't increase

+5 = 44 @ 115.

Administration of gravy was interrupted by sight of HUGE spider on corner wall :shock: . Wolf spider? It was promptly removed to a more appropriate new home in an OUTDOOR location :lol:

Whew! Ok - fed & re-test in 20.
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355 +4.5/48 +5/44 Glad didn't increase

There is a huge spider on the outside of my kitchen window! Boy if it were in my house right now.... I sure wouldnt be! I am terrified of spiders!!

Thats a pretty big drop today. Come on Tigger, surf safely for your bean!

Quite a few times I asked about increasing and Sienne suggested I wait it out a little longer and the cycle after she said that, Jupiter would always drop. Shes always right :-D
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355 +4.5/48 +5/44 Glad didn't increase

Jaime, I promise I didn't put that spider on your window! I'm naturally afraid of them too, but we have so many I've learned to make peace with them. Especially when they're OUTSIDE! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355 +4.5/48 +5/44 +5.25/46 Reduce?

:?: :?: I don't know if I should reduce tonight with Tigger or if he bounces (at the last minute) like he's done in previous times, if I should shoot through the bounce and take the reduction in the AM?

:?: :?: He's sooo wonky lately - I am almost wondering if his pancreas is sputtering - hence all the bouncing??? Except he's not regulated. Is his SS at all normal for any of you more experienced members? It's changed so much recently I'm at a loss & just try to test him more often when he's not bouncing.

Thanks for any guidance - I promise when I'm better I'll post more!
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355 +4.5/48 +5/44 +5.25/46 Reduce?

Hi Suzanne, hope you are feeling better soon and nor more icky spiders get into your house! :shock: I do the same as you and quickly escort them outside.

Congrats on the reduction. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I guess we'll have to see where he is at PS to see whether you shoot through the bounce or not. Even though is bouncing like his namesake, at some point he'll settle down. I've seen cats bounce like the dickens, then all of a sudden go boom - no bouncing. Have you looked at Elian's SS? This is where it gets tricky to decide if you are going to shoot through the bounce, because at some point down the dosing scale you hope they'll stop bouncing. Fortunately Tigger still has lots of time in this cycle to let you know his plans.
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355+4.5/48+5/44+5.25/46+6.5/56+7/43 EEP

Thanks for your input, Wendy -

Yes, Elian's SS is up on my computer - it's a thing of beauty....I wouldn't shoot thru a bounce with his #s, don't think, nit the way Tigger drops like a cannonball when he wants- too scary. Tigger scared me a little the last time we shot thru the bounce - he went blue on 8/19 PM @ +3 - (rare for Tigger on a bounce).I thought he was clearing so I fed him MC, but he bounced back up for the next several cycles. I was pre-mature......

Woops! that drop back to 43 from 56 was a surprise.

We had 3 rising Bgs, so I didn't feed the last two, & tested 40 min. instead of 30 this last time. 43!!! :o :shock: :o

Pulled out the Big Guns - 2 tsp FF Gravy, Tigger's favorite ice cream. Take That, 43 Re-test in 30
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355+4.5/48+5/44+5.25/46+6.5/56+7/43 EEP

You can always choose to give the deduction tonight and help your body fight the ick. Looks like that HC you gave him earlier wore off. Good example of why we tell people they have to stay vigilant. Tigger is just reinforcing the need for a reduction. :-D :-D

It is hard to anticipate a bounce. I usually don't shoot through a bounce anymore, because Neko will slide into a lowish PS, then bounce an hour or two later after I've shot.
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355+4.5/48+5/44+5.25/46+6.5/56+7/43 EEP

:roll: Yep the fuds wore off, Tess just did the same thing to me. He's definitely earned a reduction again, but w/ the way he bounces definitely see if where he is before making a decision tonight. Plus w/ you being sick you just might want to play it safe and give the reduction tonight.
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355+4.5/48+5/44+5.25/46+6.5/56+7/43 EEP

+8 = 63 (30 min test) that FF gravy worked its magic..........

Yes, after what I've heard I definitely take shooting through the bounce seriously. If Tigger's up over 300, I'll consider it again, but otherwise, it'll be a reduction.

I don't want my being sick to stop Tigger's momentum - I've had some good sleep the last 2 nights (none today but am doing ok), so I don't want that to be a factor here, just what's best for Tigger. But - he's so all over the map - 370 one hour, 170 the next, it has made me re-think the whole shoot through the bounce thing, anyway. I know Marje had a scary experience with it, too.

Wendy said:
Neko will slide into a lowish PS, then bounce an hour or two later after I've shot
Wendy - sounds like Neko is a bit of a prankster - likes to keep you guessing what's going to happen next?

Ann said
Yep the fuds wore off, Tess just did the same thing to me.
Yikes, Ann! I hope Tess has recovered & is surfing nicely? I'm missing alot- will visit your condo tonite.

Thanks for dropping in & all the well wishes. If I just didn't cough I'd be ok.... :roll:
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355+5/44+5.25/46+6.5/56+7/43+7.5/63+8/7

I meant to get here HOURS ago! I think you are right to wait and see what he does at PS. And it's important to consider your own health. Even if he bounces up tonight and you give the reduction, it's ok and it won't affect his progress any more than if you shoot through the bounce tonight and reduce tomorrow. At some point, he just won't let you shoot through the bounce because he will be clearing them so fast.

I think his SS looks pretty normal :-D

Good luck with the reduction and feel better soon!
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355+5/44+5.25/46+6.5/56+7/43+7.5/63+8/7

Sending healing vines and go away crud vines so you can feel better.

Come on Tigger, let your mommabean get a well deserved night of peaceful rest tonight, ok?
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355+5/44+5.25/46+6.5/56+7/43+7.5/63+8/7

I am sorry you are feeling so .....well, crappy!! I can't imagine why you got sick???........HELLO....LACK OF SLEEP?

well.....you may be doing bad....but Tigger is doing AMAZING....

and that should make you feel a little brighter and better........ :smile:


~kelly
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355+5/44+5.25/46+6.5/56+7/43+8/72+11/16

Thanks Deb, Sienne & Kelly for the well wishes & support - we'll take them, & I appreciate the visits!

Marje said
Even if he bounces up tonight and you give the reduction, it's ok and it won't affect his progress any more than if you shoot through the bounce tonight and reduce tomorrow.

Marje, I thought that shooting through the bounce potentially kept them from bouncing higher andprovided more momentum than giving the reduction at a bounce. Tigger bounces anyway; I'm not sure the higher dose has much effect on him, but maybe. My concern was more a momentum issue. Ok, well that makes a difference, then.

I'm definitely going to take the reduction if he stays under 300. If he's above 400 I'll probably /maybe shoot through the bounce. 300+ I'm not sure..... :roll:

We're at 160 now, 25 minutes b-4 PMPS test. He can still go up 200 or so - it is Tigger, after all! (but - I don't think he's gong there yet - probably later - we'll see, he proves me wrong all the time, now! :lol: )

Always up for more input from more experienced people than me (which is mostly everyone)!

Thanks everyone, for all your input guidance, thoughts & well-wishes. I feel so supported!
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger AMPS/355+5/44+5.25/46+6.5/56+7/43+8/72+11/16

Your understanding of the rationale behind shooting through a bounce is correct. I think Marje's point was that if you're feeling crummy, it's OK to not shoot through the bounce and to go ahead and reduce the dose. There's nothing that says you must shoot through a bounce.
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger PMPS/311 & 323 - AAAH! Should I shoot thru??

Ok - her'es my thoughts: 160 to 311or 323 in 25 minutes - we're having a good bounce. I'm going to shoot through the bounce - I can stay on the couch & snooze & test.

Is this stupid? It looks like he's still taking more than 1 cycle to clear - the lowest he got the time I got scared was 196 @ PM +3 on 8/19/13, & I can feed MC @ +1, +2 & +3 & test, test, test.

Sound like a good plan? confused_cat
 
Re: 8/22 Tigger PMPS/311 & 323 - AAAH! Should I shoot thru??

I would shoot through the bounce.

I would get a +2 or +3 and let that dictate what you need to do. Remember, sleep may be an option!
 
Thanks, Sienne, I had it drawn, & saw your post, so there we went. We did shoot through. Whew! Got a good hot flash, now! ohmygod_smile

I asked Tigger at 160 to let me know & please stay below 260 if he wanted the reduction tonight. This is a joint effort, after all! :lol: I also told him he didn't always need the insulin, he could go OTJ if he wanted, he just had to show me he could do it. So - I think he wanted to keep the momentum, too. ;-)

:?: Should I give a higher carb (9%) vs the 2-5% I usu. give at +1-3 or should I let the #s dictate?

Thanks again, Sienne - I really appreciate the help!
 
Good old reliable Tigger. :lol: I can so relate. But at least he isn't bouncing as high as he used to and made your decision tonight easier.

I'd feed according to the numbers.
 
Good job.

Didn't mean to confuse you. I was talking about overall momentum. So yes, you are correct that shooting through the bounce can help to minimize it but in terms of whether he will fail a reduction or keep going down the dosing scale, it won't matter. So when you are ill or tired, etc, its ok to not shoot through the bounce.

Hope you get some rest tonight and feel better soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top