8/22 Tigger amps 221 Time for a dose increase?

Pattylynne and Tigger

Member Since 2021
I think he probably needs to go up 0.25U, I am not sure but from his numbers last pm: pmps162; +3=196 and 221 this am I might have had a fur shot, also dose was half an hour late. The past week has been trying to get him leveled out from vacation influences but he was almost ready for an increase before vac. so we are kind of behind. Is it better to make changes in am or pm, during day no problems with watching him but not so good at late night testing. Also he seems to show minor signs of hypo at 70-80, this is probably not a true hypo event that would harm him but more a reaction to his body not having seen these numbers much for awhile, that is the main reason I have been so slow to increase his doses, any thoughts? All help appreciated.
 
I agree a little more juice is needed. As to whether to increase at night or in the morning it’s up to you. Some cats respond on the first dose and others take longer. I preferred increasing in the morning but still had to often watch more at night.

As for what you think are hypo signs can you elaborate? That’s definitely not a low bg. Many cats get more hungry when low but that’s not being hypo. It’s not a human needing to eat when their bg gets lower than usual.
 
@tiffmaxee
Just checked him, 3+ is 69 about the lowest he's ever been. Three times, right now, other 67 a month ago (7/21) and a few nights ago when 80-100 he has had this behavior. Don't know if it's the speed which it drops or what but a definite correlation. Looking at the 3 noted times just now, it seems that there might be a pattern of 2-3 days with preshot highs, then a significate drop. No signs when he goes lower from a more moderate number. Right now he is digging into his supply box, throwing things out. He is continuing despite eating 1 of LC This type behavior is typical of him when he wants or needs something, ie my bowl is empty, he has always expressed this way. He is much more persistent with behavior when/since changes in BG, when has gone lower. He may not be in clinical hypo, probably no danger but he certainly reacts to the drop. He has reacted with this agitation every time.
When do you go to MC food to try to bring sugar up? Do you try to let them ride these new lower numbers or do you try to steer the back up sooner with carbs. With this 67 at an early part of cycle do you think I should start feeding MC. He is almost a total free feed of LC FF pate.
 
With a 67 early I’d feed a little 10-12%. Forget an increase btw. I think you need to get a +2 and if a lot lower than the preshot feed a little higher lc or if green some mc. He’s reacting to a big drop I think. That can cause a bounce too.
 
@tiffmaxee

Yes still seems to be trying to find his stride. I do think that it's the drops from an already moderate preshot BG that's getting him set off, then he shots back up in response. Don't know to call hypo but reaction to unfamiliar sudden changes to lower than HIS nml BG., Bounces, drops, panicky liver, whatever it is sure makes it difficult to increase dose and get his numbers down.
I'll hold the 1.25 for a day or two. Every time I plan to change dose he does this. I think that is why I was trying to make .2 changes awhile back, to ease into in change.
I've read lots on the protocols for inc/dec dose on TR but can you explain more of the thought and philosophy of TR. Do you try to give the highest dose that doesn't produce hypo and to continue on lower numbers and edge away from hypo early in the cycle with increased carbs. In other words force into nml numbers so the pancreases can heal and get readjusted to nml even if you have to bump with carbs. More carbs if needed to get consistent dose and nml numbers, adjust situation with using carbs as a balancing tool? Is there a sticky or something that describes the plan in general ideas rather than instructions with numbers. Just trying to get more of a feel for what I'm trying to do.
Thanks for the help
 
Last edited:
Back
Top