8/22 Skunky AMPS 310 +6, 83; +8, 56!!!Nervous!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skunky's Mom

Member Since 2014
Well well, Madame Skunky's new insulin dose is working. I'm excited, but also terrified. I couldn't believe my eyes when I just saw that 83.

I'm so scared of hypos. I'm worried in particular because we're going to Six Flags Sunday and will be gone all day, with no way to check on her. I can leave extra food out for her but she may pig out on it all when we give it to her and then have none all day. I'm tempted to skinny the dose Saturday night and Sunday. I'm freaking.

I'm going to run another test in an hour (+7).

I wonder if the low number has anything to do with the fact that she hasn't eaten much of her food today. I guess she doesn't like her Friskies SD Beef and Chicken. Which is too bad, since it seems to be the best Friskies and I have 7 more cans of it. She's too fat so it's good for her to cut back on food but. . . again, I'm terrified of the hypos.

I'm ready to deal with them if I'm here, but my concern is when I'm not here. I'll for sure be testing in the middle of the night tonight!

A related question. . . if you have to do the rectal syrup. . how much do you use? I was going to pick up a syringe at the pharmacy. That I NEVER want to use ;-) Right now all I have is maple syrup, which I suppose works just fine.
 
Re: 8/22 Skunky AMPS 310 +3.5 158 +6 83 Nervous!!

Now that is a pretty nadir...hopefully it is her nadir. If you're worried about her while you're gone then skinny the dose. Its what most of us do if we have to travel and leave them in the hands of a pet sitter.

I can't honestly answer that question because not only have I never had to go the rectal route, I think in all my time with sugarcats I've only pulled out even HC food maybe twice. I have it all but normally I just feed up with their normal diet.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 8/22 Skunky AMPS 310 +3.5 158 +6 83 Nervous!!

Thanks Mel!
Yes, it is a pretty number. It is exciting, just scary!
I'll see what happens tonight and tomorrow and I think I will skinny the dose, just in case.

And I'll be doing lots and lots of testing. Gotta get to Walmart tonight. I can't believe how quickly this new pack of 50 test strips went!!! :o
 
Re: 8/22 Skunky AMPS 310 +3.5 158 +6 83 Nervous!!

72 at +7.
Wowzers. I'm going to test hourly until it starts to rise, and keep a close eye on her. She's chilling upstairs but I may make her come down and hang out on the couch.
 
Re: 8/22 Skunky AMPS 310 +3.5 158 +6 83 Nervous!!

wow nice numbers for the funky skunky. now settle down little girl and keep steady for your mama bean . :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/22 Skunky AMPS 310 +3.5 158 +6 83 Nervous!!

Nadine, I've been meaning to say - Tibbs looks like he and Skunky could be twins! It weirds me out every time I see his picture. Of course I can't see the other side of his face so maybe he doesn't look as much like her as his picture indicates!
 
Re: 8/22 Skunky AMPS 310 +3.5 158 +6 83 Nervous!!

Oh crap. 56 at +8. Since she hasn't been interested in today's low carb variety, at all, I broke out what I think is a fairly high carb one. It's new so not on any list. She seemed really into it. I gave her a lot. . . I wanted to save the one I know is super high carb for if this happens again.
I bet we're gonna bounce. . .

I wonder if I should give her her full dose tonight.
 
Re: 8/22 Skunky AMPS 310 +3.5 158 +6 83 Nervous!!

If she didn't eat much today that would explain the lower than normal numbers. I'll be watching for you just post here before you shoot tonight and we'll discuss what to shoot. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Awesome! I'll probably do a test at 11 too, just in case!

Phew - she's up to 65 at +9. Better but. . . she tends to drop around 10 or 11, usually.

Maybe the food I gave her wasn't as high carb as I thought. Though it should be consider the ingredients. It's Firskies Indoor "saucy seafood bake with garden greens in sauce." She ate about half a can.

we're about to head to WalMart for more strips (only 2 left. Yikes). So I think I'll feed her the rest of it.

Wow, what a wild ride. I'm so glad it happened today, when I'm working from home all day, and not tomorrow or Sunday.

It would actually be a really nice surf if I wasn't so worried about it eh? It's amazing the difference in .75 and 1 unit! I sure am glad I followed your advice not to go straight from .5 to 1!
 
hi Skunky's mom
they COULD b twins! love those tuxedo kittys.
hope your skunky's numbers are stabilizing. i shoot at noon and midnight EST so i'll be up with you guys too.
see you later
 
Well, surprsingly, she just tested 292!!

Could we be bouncing? Or maybe it's just all that high carb food I fed her.

Dosing thoughts y'all?

I'm planning on getting up in the middle of the night, at about +6, to test, for sure.

I'm thinking. . . somewhere in between .75 and 1. Thoughts? If you ladies are still up!
 
I just found the high carb food I fed her on the list and boy - I picked a high one!! 32% carbs. So I'm guessing that's the main reason her number is so high.
 
Well you can handle it one of two ways since you're planning on getting up with her. Either shoot through the bounce by giving the 1u and reduce on the next cycle..

Or you can reduce on this shot and ride out the bounce over the next couple of days. Which actually might be your best option since you've got plans on Sunday.

But either way she earned herself a dose decrease to .75

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Ok great, thanks.

I guess we'll do .75 for a few days and then maybe something in between .75 and 1, since the .75 wasn't cutting it.

I was so excited to see her get under 200 but then - yowza!
thanks so much for your help.

I don't know what the heck I'd do without it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top