8/22 Rupert AMPS 363 +2 262 +6 180 PMPS 540 +3.5 516

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77575&p=838292#p838292

numbers:
AMPS 426.6
+2 307.8
+6 113.4
PMPS 500.4
+1 469.8

had to go to a meeting last night so I don't know where he headed, but he is at least in the pinks this morning instead of the ugly red. At 3;45am he was playing with Bumley (his older sister) and meowling outside on the landing.... probably hungry but I didn't get up and feed because I didn't want him to start thinking that yowling at 3:45am was an acceptable thing! I'm now wondering if perhaps he also go into a secret stash of kibble that is in our bathroom. He doesn't usually come upstairs much these days and I feed Bumley and Sophie the occasional kibble snack in the bathroom. If sophie had left a few chunks behind he may have discovered them yesterday.. and that might be why he was up there last night, and was actually waiting by the bathroom door this morning too..hmmmm?

definitely BEBT this morning and quite bossy.

As far as what he's getting fed, I"m back to exclusively Friskies Pate food (I believe the same as Classic in the US?) according to Binky's list they are around 6-7% carbs. I have toyed with the EVO now and then although none of them are super keen on it, and it's supposed to be super low, even 0% but I'm not sure if that is possible. Seems he has MORE bouncing when he's on the low/no carb than on the Friskies. He never gets any food that is over 7% carb. I feed him at shot time, obviously, and he gets a +1 and a +2 snack most days. He gets a snack at +6 and then usually nothing after that until PMPS. I've tried giving him larger breakfasts in an attempt to stop the dives.. but then he doesn't dive. when I give him a regular size breakfast....sometimes he dives.. sometimes he doesn't. He likes to keep me guessing!

Anyway, nice to see him heading down, and now I"m wondering if perhaps he was taking a page from Checkers book and was being a bit of a thief and maybe got into the dry food. Who knows? he's a mystery cat that's for sure.
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363

Hi guys .. oh man rupert, what the heck are you doing up at 3:45? That time is for the birds, not cats :lol: I know it is hard figuring out when exactly to feed our kitties, so they don't bounce, or dive .. Each day is a new day and sometimes we just have to change things up and hope for the best .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363

I hear you on the Evo.
My girl just doesn't care for it.
Her new food is TikiCat (chickens). They are 0% which I was trying to stay with a few carbs but it's the one she's been eating
consistently. (knock on wood)

Rupert can be hungry at night. His kitty clock just doesn't match your clock. :-D
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363

Come down Rupert! We know you love playing with Rosy but you two must play around the blue floor, mumbeans dont like the purple or the red.
It is difficult to manipulate their bg numbers with food, I do use additional tsp of food to slow down on Rosy's coming down. Sometimes works , sometimes doesnt. :?
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363 +2 262

well, nice to see the yellow and at only 50pts an hour that's pretty slow for Rupert!!! hopefully he slows it down (yes, he's eating a snack now in a futile attempt to get him to mellow it out!)...be nice to see him hit the blues again today. I stuck with the s2.0 dose, part of me thinks it might not be enough, but given how he CAN react to it I think I just have to put on the patience pants and let his body figure things out.. maybe? who knows. He's looking mighty fine though so that's all that counts. off to feed the horsies then off to work for me. Hope everyone has a great day!
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363 +2 262

Very nice recovery! REmember, Rupert, the Zenner sliiiiiiiiide!
th_slide.gif
Not the
th_26_7_6.gif
.
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363 +2 262 +6 180

Ha ha, love the graphics. Looks like he's nicely into the blue (I hope he didn't do anything truly silly in between +2 and +6!). hopefully he'll stay there for a bit.
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363 +2 262 +6 180 PMPS 540 !!!!!!!!!!!!

SERIOUSLY???????? I thought we were over this bouncing deal.

so.... question... does anyone here think maybe the s2.0 might actually be too MUCH??????? any thoughts on shaving it do 1.5 and seeing what happens? is it the dives making him hit the high numbers or is it lack of insulin? Or is it too much insulin forcing the dives to happen, causing the bounces. ohmygod_smile

off to visit with my folks tonight, back later for a test before bedtime. sigh. we were on such a good trend there for a while. Maybe he's just trying to tell me to ease off???? should I stick with the s2.0 or back off and almost start from scratch again???
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363 +2 262 +6 180 PMPS 540 !!!!!!!!!!!!

Wow, that's some bouncing there Rupert. Just when your bean thought you were done with that behavior. Silly kitties.
 

Attachments

  • liver jumping.jpg
    liver jumping.jpg
    11.2 KB · Views: 375
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363 +2 262 +6 180 PMPS 540 !!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi Pip,
Sending you support, but no advice! I can't interpret Rupert's SS: it is daunting to me!! What criteria are you following for raising and lowering the dose? One number under 50? Three numbers under 50? Generally speaking, I don't think it looks as if your dose is too high. If anything, it looks like you have room to take him up a notch. But wait until you get some feedback from someone who has experience with a bouncy kitty.

Have a nice evening with your folks,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363 +2 262 +6 180 PMPS 540 !!!!!!!!!!!!

Rupert really likes to bounce, doesn't he? (I know. I'm given to understatement!!)

I'm thinking that maybe a different strategy that may help with Rupert's bouncing is to not reduce Rupert's dose until he drops between 40 - 50 three times. (A drop below 40 gets an immediate reduction.)
[url=http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm:1ubisbm2][b:1ubisbm2]Tight regulation protocol for Lantus & Levemir/Tily[/b][/url] said:
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!

Some cats do better with more or less carbs than others. If you are going to experiment with food, you need to give any change at least 2 weeks for Rupert to adjust.
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363 +2 262 +6 180 PMPS 540 !!!!!!!!!!!!

Holy Moly, Rupert!!!! I'm going to send your momma some duct tape so that she can strap you down when you start bouncing!!!!! Hope he quits all this silliness!!! ((hugs))

~Deborah & Shasta
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363 +2 262 +6 180 PMPS 540 !!!!!!!!!!!!

All right Rupert! No need to write a history on bounce K! That is well noted. Come down slowly...
 
Re: 8/22 Rupert AMPS 363 +2 262 +6 180 PMPS 540 !!!!!!!!!!!!

sheesh!!!! What is it with these kitters tonight! I think they dug up the secret stash of bungee cords!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top