Picknickchick
Member Since 2013
I am concerned that River might be dropping too fast for what his body can handle. He was recently diagnosed with pancreatitis, and had uncontrollable high diabetes until an episode of ketosis landed him in the hospital for 6 days. He was released a month ago, and has been doing better. As he's been improving, his numbers have shot way down, and he had a hypo on Tuesday, which was the scariest thing I've ever experienced.
I will link a spreadsheet with his numbers, after I post this.
He is a 14 y.o. male cat, weighs 5.52 kilos (12 lbs.), eats low carbs raw, Wellness no-grain canned, and (infrequently) Orijen dry.
Here's how his numbers have gone:
Sunday August 11
7 AM preshot 19.8
8 AM 2.5 units glargine
11 AM 16.5
2 PM 11.5
5 PM 12.4
8 PM preshot 27.9
8:20 PM 26.2
8:30 2.5 units glargine
9 PM 28.9
4 AM 22.7
8 AM preshot 22.3
8 AM 2.5 units
11 AM 18.7
2 PM 16.6
When we spoke, the vet recommended increasing the dose to 3 units. She said to not be upset about the high 8 PM readings, as I could "expect flareups from a cat with pancreatitis".
Sunday August 18
- Sunday I was worried that he might be going into the hypo range, as he's not used to low numbers.
8 AM 2.5 units
10 AM 8.4
12 PM 4.7 - at this point I gave River 2 pieces of sweet potato with Karo and called the clinic
2 PM 6.6
5 PM 10.2
7 PM 18.9
7:15 PM 2.5 units - clinic said to reduce insulin to 2.5 units
Monday August 19
- Monday he had a checkup and ultrasound of his pancreas, which is healing well. About the hypo, the vet dismissed this concern and wrote in the report that he is "well controlled".
8 AM 2.5 units
10 AM 22.7
Went for checkup and ultrasound and vet recommended increasing back to 3 units for AM and 2.5 for PM shot. She said he was "well controlled" but I didn't think so.
7 PM 27.3
7:15 3 units - I gave 3 units because he was so high. Phoned clinic and they said this was correct. However later I emailed vet and said that ongoing, I am anxious about giving 3 units in the day because he's going into hypo range, and would prefer to do 2.5 units twice a day. Would this be ok? She did not respond.
Tuesday August 20
- Tuesday he had a hypo.
7 AM 15.6
8 AM 3 units
10 AM 13.1
12 PM 9.7
2 PM 5.4
3 PM 4.8 - Because his numbers continued to go down, I gave him some kibble and two small pieces of sweet potato with honey.
5 PM 7.1
8 PM - Just before his preshot reading, he had what I am guessing is a seizure! He was lying beside where I was writing on the table, and his eyes looked all wrong: tiny pupils and third eyelid partly covering. I called him, and shook him gently, and he was completely limp and didn't seem to be breathing. I started giving him mouth to mouth, and he suddenly came awake, and stood up. I picked him up in my arms and he shook himself so that he almost jumped out of my arms. I put him down on the deck, and he walked a bit. We went inside, and when I touched him he jumped and shook a bit; super-sensitive to touch. I thought he might be hypo so I got the Karo and stuck some in his mouth, and then got some rabbit/turkey raw food, which he was happy to eat. I was freaked out, and called vet to see if I should give him his 8PM shot, and what to do. They said to reduce the shot to 2.5 units.
Wednesday August 21
- Wednesday he was high, bouncing.
6:20 preshot 24.4
8 AM 2.5 units
10 AM 20.4
12 PM 19.7
2 PM 20.2
4 PM 19.9
Vet called and advised:
- no insulin tonight at 8
- tomorrow don't check BG because it'll be all over the place
- no insulin at 8 am or pm tomorrow
- insulin Friday am 2u and then 2u BID
- do BG next Friday unless weirdness
However, I did not follow this advice, posted on FDMB, and gave 2.5.
Thursday, August 22 (today)
- Today he is lower, but I'm worried that his body might not be able to take this low yet and he'll hypo again.
AMPS 16.3
8 AM 2.5 units
11 AM 11.2 Worried that he is dropping too fast, I gave him 1 mg B12 wrapped in liverwurst and 1/4 c Orijen. Posted message to FDMB asking if he's dropping too quickly.
1 PM 8.9 Fed small pieces of sweet potato with Karo.
2 PM 11.4
My concern is whether I should lower the insulin dosage. Although he was lively early in the day before his 8 AM shot, grooming and walking around quite well, he's now very quiet and has been mostly sleeping all week. I'm afraid of stressing his body too much. Should I go lower with the insulin? I am assuming that he would have gone even lower without the feedings I gave him.
I will link a spreadsheet with his numbers, after I post this.
He is a 14 y.o. male cat, weighs 5.52 kilos (12 lbs.), eats low carbs raw, Wellness no-grain canned, and (infrequently) Orijen dry.
Here's how his numbers have gone:
Sunday August 11
7 AM preshot 19.8
8 AM 2.5 units glargine
11 AM 16.5
2 PM 11.5
5 PM 12.4
8 PM preshot 27.9
8:20 PM 26.2
8:30 2.5 units glargine
9 PM 28.9
4 AM 22.7
8 AM preshot 22.3
8 AM 2.5 units
11 AM 18.7
2 PM 16.6
When we spoke, the vet recommended increasing the dose to 3 units. She said to not be upset about the high 8 PM readings, as I could "expect flareups from a cat with pancreatitis".
Sunday August 18
- Sunday I was worried that he might be going into the hypo range, as he's not used to low numbers.
8 AM 2.5 units
10 AM 8.4
12 PM 4.7 - at this point I gave River 2 pieces of sweet potato with Karo and called the clinic
2 PM 6.6
5 PM 10.2
7 PM 18.9
7:15 PM 2.5 units - clinic said to reduce insulin to 2.5 units
Monday August 19
- Monday he had a checkup and ultrasound of his pancreas, which is healing well. About the hypo, the vet dismissed this concern and wrote in the report that he is "well controlled".
8 AM 2.5 units
10 AM 22.7
Went for checkup and ultrasound and vet recommended increasing back to 3 units for AM and 2.5 for PM shot. She said he was "well controlled" but I didn't think so.
7 PM 27.3
7:15 3 units - I gave 3 units because he was so high. Phoned clinic and they said this was correct. However later I emailed vet and said that ongoing, I am anxious about giving 3 units in the day because he's going into hypo range, and would prefer to do 2.5 units twice a day. Would this be ok? She did not respond.
Tuesday August 20
- Tuesday he had a hypo.
7 AM 15.6
8 AM 3 units
10 AM 13.1
12 PM 9.7
2 PM 5.4
3 PM 4.8 - Because his numbers continued to go down, I gave him some kibble and two small pieces of sweet potato with honey.
5 PM 7.1
8 PM - Just before his preshot reading, he had what I am guessing is a seizure! He was lying beside where I was writing on the table, and his eyes looked all wrong: tiny pupils and third eyelid partly covering. I called him, and shook him gently, and he was completely limp and didn't seem to be breathing. I started giving him mouth to mouth, and he suddenly came awake, and stood up. I picked him up in my arms and he shook himself so that he almost jumped out of my arms. I put him down on the deck, and he walked a bit. We went inside, and when I touched him he jumped and shook a bit; super-sensitive to touch. I thought he might be hypo so I got the Karo and stuck some in his mouth, and then got some rabbit/turkey raw food, which he was happy to eat. I was freaked out, and called vet to see if I should give him his 8PM shot, and what to do. They said to reduce the shot to 2.5 units.
Wednesday August 21
- Wednesday he was high, bouncing.
6:20 preshot 24.4
8 AM 2.5 units
10 AM 20.4
12 PM 19.7
2 PM 20.2
4 PM 19.9
Vet called and advised:
- no insulin tonight at 8
- tomorrow don't check BG because it'll be all over the place
- no insulin at 8 am or pm tomorrow
- insulin Friday am 2u and then 2u BID
- do BG next Friday unless weirdness
However, I did not follow this advice, posted on FDMB, and gave 2.5.
Thursday, August 22 (today)
- Today he is lower, but I'm worried that his body might not be able to take this low yet and he'll hypo again.
AMPS 16.3
8 AM 2.5 units
11 AM 11.2 Worried that he is dropping too fast, I gave him 1 mg B12 wrapped in liverwurst and 1/4 c Orijen. Posted message to FDMB asking if he's dropping too quickly.
1 PM 8.9 Fed small pieces of sweet potato with Karo.
2 PM 11.4
My concern is whether I should lower the insulin dosage. Although he was lively early in the day before his 8 AM shot, grooming and walking around quite well, he's now very quiet and has been mostly sleeping all week. I'm afraid of stressing his body too much. Should I go lower with the insulin? I am assuming that he would have gone even lower without the feedings I gave him.