8/22 Reuben pmps HI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday 1
Yesterday 2

Good Morning,

Frontline has been applied to combat the stressful fleas, and a Vet appointment (test driving a new vet) today should produce the buprenex. He is very nauseous sometimes, but still is eating. We need to go back to free feeding for the time being I think, as he seems to regulate his intestines well by eating when he needs to. It is possible that his chronic intestinal infection is flaring and causing problems with the BG and all health systems, however the first indication of this in the past has always been lack of appetite - and he is still eating well.
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben amps 'HI' +2 379 Dosing Advice Needed

Jane said:
Hang in there, Alexa. Reuben will do this at his own pace. You're doing fine!
Jane

Thank you for checking in with us Jane - glad to know you think this is normal, and I don`t need to start worrying yet. Alexa
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben amps 'HI' +2 379 Dosing Advice Needed

Ive come with Rosy to show our support Alexa!
Know how difficult it is to wear the patience pants watching your kitty reporting those HI. Trust our experience, these ugly figures will move away. It is because you are testing that you see these figures, they have been with reuben for some time & you are helping Reuben to get better soon. Hang in there.

Thank you Tortie and Rosy! I think maybe I am in 'nervous-nelly-mode' right now. After what we have been through though, I just have to be super vigilant and try to solve problems before they develop - you know what I mean? Hope you and Rosy and Gorgor and all the gang are well, thanks again for the support and visit! :razz: - Alexa
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben amps 'HI' +2 379 Dosing Advice Needed

Hi Alexa!

I can assure you that this is something quite common though painful to watch. As Helen said, he's been at these numbers for a while and you didn't know it. Now you know because you are testing and treating. He is coming down, reacting to insulin, and there is no reason to think he has glucose toxicity. He's not at a high dose and he just started. Racci was all the way up to 5U at one time to bring her numbers down! Don't panic. ;-) I know the poor little boy has had a terrible time of it but he's getting what care he needs now and hopefully this new vet will be a good one to care for the pancreatitis. Don't forget to ask here for the name of the anti-nausea meds to ask the vet to prescribe.

I would give another increase today or tomorrow if he were mine. I would see what the dosing pros advise. You might only want to give a .25 increase because he is now getting his flea meds and he will have his Bupe tomorrow and those are going to make a difference in his bg. The better he feels, the lower he will go. Your first increase brought you to pinks which is great. The next hopefully will bring you to solid pink with touches of yellow. .5u may be a little fast but see what Sienne & Marje think because by the same token, with pancreatitis it is important to give enough insulin and you can always decrease it again.

Do you have any Pepcid tablets in the house? That is usually given to cats with Pancreatitis - 1/4 tab. It might help his nausea until you get some meds for it from the vet.

We all went through this. I know how it feels. Relax, and wait and read up on the pancreatitis threads too. That will help you talk to the vvet tomorrow. Most vets know very little about handling diabetes tho so don't put any big hopes there. :lol:

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben amps 'HI' +2 379 +4 189

Rupert was hitting very high numbers for quite a while when he was first diagnosed. He did come down though.. it does just take a while!!! of course then he got into bouncy mode and it looks like Reuben is trying that method now! good luck!
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben amps 'HI' +2 379 +4 189

Wooo hoo! A blue! I guess I was right in my gut feeling that .5u was too much huh!? :lol: See, patience!

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben amps 'HI' +2 379 +4 189

MelanieAndRacci said:
Wooo hoo! A blue! I guess I was right in my gut feeling that .5u was too much huh!? :lol: See, patience!

Melanie & Racci

Thanks Pip and Melanie - I do calm down when I know from you guys that this has been seen before! Thank youuuuuuu nailbite_smile Yeah, look at that blue!?!?! He was awfully dehydrated this a.m.. He had stopped drinking during the night due to nausea, so I spent the morning offering him water with a little tuna water (bribe) and vitamin Bcomplex powder (same stuff that goes in his food recipe) in it, and suddenly the numbers dropped. Hydration = Lower BG ?? Logical! Yeah, sometimes this boy has to be helped to hydrate, and I have to stay on top of it. Maybe subQ's are in order but I just don`t want to add another needle. If offering him liquids solves it, then that`s better maybe.

I will get the pepcid, bupe, more antibiotics and maybe have the vet give a subQ shot while we're there... I assume any hydration help is good and one dose would help.

I am supposed to go to the vet without Reuben in 45 minutes to show the new vet his charts and history - as I can`t do it if kitty is with me - waiting, suffering and crying and shooting his BG up. I will go back later today with Reuben for the visit. But, now with the crazy +4 189 I can`t leave him until I know he is on his way back up.

I hope I can go condo visiting later today, after all the hubub has calmed down here. It`s fun to visit and get perspective, and I learn so much reading everyone`s profiles and SS's and threads. And I have to start visiting the Pancreatitis site. There is So.Much.To.Learn!!
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben amps 'HI' +2 379 +4 189

Add you your subject line 'pancreatitis nausea meds?' before you go so someone who knows can tell you what to ask for today then there won't be a need to go to another site right away. :smile:

I'm glad the vet will see him today re the pancreatitis. That is the concern right now. You're doing everything right with the diabetes. It would be good to know if he needs fluids and get the meds for the pancreatitis though.

Good luck with the new vet! I hope he turns out to be great.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben amps 'HI' +2 379 +4 189

Hi, Alexa. You got a Blue! (Remember that it may shoot up again, but that is normal when kitty's BG is lower than what it has been for a while. Try not to get bummed out if that happens.)

If the vet thinks Reuben is dehydrated, I highly recommend the subQs as long as he has no high blood pressure or heart disease. It always makes Max feel better. If you can't check the blood pressure for some reason, the vet may recommend subQs in a lower dose. Max gets 50 cc at home at a time. The fluid sits under the skin in a lump and slowly absorbs into the body over about 8 hours (unless more than enough was given, and if so, it may take longer for the lump to disappear -- this is my limited understanding.) If you pay attention to how long it takes to absorb, you can guesstimate whether he was given too much, the right amount or too little. The lump may move around a bit, and that's normal, too.
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben amps 'HI' +2 379 +4 189

Good to see some improvement in the numbers.
Hope the new vet is worth his salt.
Those other issues will help in seeing the big picture and keeping you heading on the improvement path.
Reuben is so lucky to have your love and devotion.
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben amps 'HI' +2 379 +4 189 +5 214 +6 477

Oh thank you so much, all of you, for going through this with us! I was very impressed with vet, I think he might be worth his salt, and dare to hope he might be of help to us - more than just for prescriptions. I`m going back with Reuben in an hour and will ask about sub Q's... I am really thinking they are indicated... look at the + 6! He was lying on the terrace while I was gone - drinking NOthing and we went from 214 to 477 in a little over an hour... ( I can`t imagine what that feels like, argh... ) Thank you for encouraging me about it Dale. I`m just so ssssscared to learn another needle but I won`t be doing alone - I have all of you! :razz: I will do as you suggest Melanie, and ask in the subject line about the pancreatitis nausea meds. Thank you Rhiannon for reminding me to keep perspective - it gets lost sometimes especially on 2 nights of little sleep!

I am going to eat lunch, do the med research and write down all the questions to ask. Blood pressure and heart check for subQ's, respiratory system check, organ palpation check, eyes almost always really dark and spooky, why? (could be dehydration now that I think of it) ... what else... oh yes, gum and teeth check, lymph nodes check, .... have I missed anything?

He is lying here breathing really shallow, I am going to give him liquids every 5 minutes until he stops. The BG must be really HI by now... :cry:

Does anyone know off the top of their head about the buprenex, what dosis at what concentration?

Must eat now! Back in a while. Bless all your hearts :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben-Pancreatitis Nausea Meds? +4 189 +5 214 +6 4

Just checking it to see how you and Reuben are doing this evening....how'd the vetty visit go? I'm glad you found a vet that seems like a good one!
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben-Pancreatitis Nausea Meds? +4 189 +5 214 +6 4

Hi Alexa, Looks like Reuben had quite a day with big swing in his numbers. Looks like this dose is starting to show some effects with fewer HI and even a blue.
How did things go with the new vet? Hope you are pleased with him. I will look in later, both of you have a great evening!
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben-Pancreatitis Nausea Meds? +4 189 +5 214 +6 4

Hi Alexa and Reuben, i don't think i've stopped by your condo before but HI!

My Leo just got over a bout of pancreatitis. To deal with the nausea and vomiting we got injectable cerenia, it stings when i gave it to Leo but it most definitely helped with vomiting and nausea and our vet says it also has pain relieving properties in it as well. For pain we got buprenorphine, i had some prefilled syringes (that you shoot into the mouth) on hand that were 0.2 mls and both the ER vet and our regular vet said that dose was for 'moderate pain'. I also gave subq's that helped with dehydration and also brought his sky high numbers down. While we were at the ER they also gave Leo some odansetron for nausea as well.

I hope this helps your questions you had about nausea meds! Good luck at the vetty Reuben and feel better soon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben-Pancreatitis Nausea Meds? +4 189 +5 214 +6 4

If you need nausea meds, ondansatron or maropitant are what are typically recommended.

How did the vet visit go?
 
Re: 8/22 Reuben-Pancreatitis Nausea Meds? +4 189 +5 214 +6 4

Alexa, you are doing so well with Reuben. I know how overwhelming it all can be at first, especially when you are dealing with more than just the diabetes. Do you have one of those kitty fountains that keep the drinking water circulating and aerated? If Reuben will use one, that might be a big help with keeping him hydrated. ECID, however. Stu loved his fountain, but Rusty ignores his!

Good luck with your new vet and with the vetty visit,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Everybody, I just got back from the 3rd trip to the vet (2 without Reuben, 1 with) in time to get the ubiquitous 'pmps HI' reading and then shoot our 1.75u... Thank you all for such helpful, informative and supportive messages!! -- where would be be without out you? I had a meeting with the vet before Reuben`s appointment to show him all the labs, and explain his history and our present situation, and then afterwards to discuss medications and a treatment plan. I have to dash out now to get the bupe and will give a more complete report when I get back! Thaaaaaaaaank you all soo much, it is a completely different phase for us now with all your help and support! :razz:
 
Hoping Reuben starts feeling better and the meds help bring him down! Sending ((hugs)) and wishes of sweet dreams!

~Deborah & Shasta
 
Sorry about the HI, but I was getting a bit worried about you two, so I'm glad you're back and have a script for the bupe!

Try to have a relaxing night!!!
 
Just for your info Alexa.
I dont know how it works at your vet office but I always asked my vet to do all the "first time" med feeding, injection, subq for me when I took my cats there. They will feed the pills , give the first injection, plug in subq if needed. Usually the cat is more submissive on the vet table. You have to note down the time for the next pilling for you to do at home.
My vet do not charge extra for this service. This is to buy time for the med to work in their body esp if you have to travel for some time to get there & might not be easy for you to handle it the first time at home.
 
Oh my gosh, more lovely visits to our condo while I was at the pharmacy, thannnk youuuuu all!!! I think a water fountain is a really good idea as the vet said that oral hydration is indicated and preferable at this point. He wants to keep the medications to a minimum and says to use bupe and metoclopramide as needed, preferring to use the metoclo instead of ondansatron or maropitant right now due to its ability to stimulate motility and control nausea at the same time.

Ohmigosh, I am falling asleep as I try and write this!! I will finish tomorrow - good night, and thank you all for such kind words and amazing support! :razz:
 
Hi Alexa,

You must be exhausted! I'm glad you got it all done today though. I was just checking for a vet report but I'll look for it tomorrow instead. I hope the meds make Reuben feel better right away. Keep an eye on his bg. When he feels better you may see lower numbers faster than expected. I have a water fountain also btw, and my cats always loved it and drank more with it.

Have a good night.

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top