8/22 Pumbaa - AMPS/142 +6/369 PM +6.5/42

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
So we've had some problems with dose accuracies lately due to changing from the Monoject syringes to the UltiCares, And that was after a BCS and a dose decrease. No wonder I can't figure out where Pumbaa's numbers are coming from.

Too.Many.Variables.

That is why I took him back up to a full 2.50U, to get beyond all of these variables and let him settle in at the good dose he was at. And start over.

I was surprised by the high pinks today, after his bounces the last 2 days were just in the yellows. I'm praying that Pumbaa doesn't dive tonight, but am pretty sure he will since he has had greens for the last five days. Woe is me for getting sleep. But the worst thing for me is seeing his BG levels vary so much. It's got be to hard on his body.

I equate his bounces and dives to what happens to me if I go to Quick Trip and get one of their very tasty and refreshing frozen coffees. I get a sugar high immediately, and then get the shakes due to the sugar high. And then I crash when the sugar high is over. That must be what Pumbaa goes through when his liver puts sugars in his body in a reaction to the low numbers he got.

Back to work for me, then more testing and probably another sleepless night.

SuZzzzzzzzzzze
 
Re: 8/22 Pumbaa - AMPS/142 +6/369 - WTF with the pinks?

Pumbaa said:
Back to work for me, then more testing and probably another sleepless night.

SuZzzzzzzzzzze
Or in other words you are planning to sleep through the bounce. ;-)

If we speak in enough riddles here, maybe we can confuse Pumbaa? He has to love all the attention and playing the "come chase me" game all night? Chip is so cooperative and easy to test. But still I have to be wide awake to do it. So I just kind of doze lightly.

Maybe these pinks are part of the new dose wonkiness, if you finally got the dose back up. Combined with the bounce? Chip seem to get virtually nothing extra (as expected with Levemir) from the current dose, but he seems to go pink for about 2 cycles when I increase. So his body knows something happened, even if he apparently can't use the extra insulin right away.

What worries me still is I have to keep increasing the dose to make anything keep happening. Hopefully it's just that I'm not quite there yet. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 8/22 Pumbaa - AMPS/142 +6/369 - WTF with the pinks?

Dale 'n' Chip said:
Or in other words you are planning to sleep through the bounce. ;-)

I sooo wish, but we both know that Pumbaa will be diving tonight. :)
 
Re: 8/22 Pumbaa - AMPS/142 +6/369 - WTF with the pinks?

I suppose you have to take your greens where you can get them?

Chip sure didn't have any more greens or blues on that dose after holding for the max allowed 7 days.

He he got was endless nearly pink flat yellow. Guess that's marginally better than actual pink flat pink. @-)
 
Re: 8/22 Pumbaa - AMPS/142 +6/369 - WTF with the pinks?

Just playing Devil's avocate here...but check out Autumn's spreadsheet since I took back over dosing her...I didn't think her reduction was holding at .25u so yesterday morning I took her back up to .5 and was rewarded with a string of high pinks, dropped her back down to actually less than .25u (just not sure what to call it yet, perhaps it is closer to a fat zero) last night and not only did she drop nearly 100 points in 3 hrs last night at her Lights Out test but this morning she handed me a lovely blue number to start out the day.

So could Pumbaa's pinks be coming from the increase? As I am finding with Autumn even a drop or two one way or the other can have a huge and immediate effect on her numbers. Even something as simple as not getting the complete dose squeezed out of the syringe will make her jump up. It is my theory that just like some cats are more sensitive to carbs than others some are much more sensitive to their insulin that others. Some even a mere half a drop can change the whole day number wise.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 8/22 Pumbaa - AMPS/142 +6/369 - WTF with the pinks?

Pumbaa said:
Dale 'n' Chip said:
Or in other words you are planning to sleep through the bounce. ;-)

I sooo wish, but we both know that Pumbaa will be diving tonight. :)
Yep... I guess he knew once you posted here ;-)

I'd love to have the problem of having those numbers every night, but that's just me.

Then again maybe not the steep drop, since it always makes you wonder how low he might go. :shock:
 
Re: 8/22 Pumbaa - AMPS/142 +6/369 - WTF with the pinks?

Dale 'n' Chip said:
I'd love to have the problem of having those numbers every night, but that's just me.

Then again maybe not the steep drop, since it always makes you wonder how low he might go. :shock:
I love the numbers, too, but the lack of sleep is killing me. Especially since I work all day. And, being the contrary little guy that he is, when I changed my work hours around and worked through the night instead, he had his low numbers during the day!

Yeah, the dives are hard. But Pumbaa really enjoyed his favorite old gravy food last night, Friskies Shreds - Whitefish & Sardines in Sauce.

How's this: "Pumbaa, I hope you never, ever, ever stop bouncing and diving!" ;-)

SuZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzze
 
Mel:

Sorry to hear that you were sick! Hope you're all better now.

I still haven't figured out how sensitive Pumbaa is to the Lantus, and if the difference of a drop can cause the high numbers. I probably shouldn't have dropped his dose down by a full .25U this morning, but I want him in nice high greens, not down in the 40's for hours at a time.

Autumn is on such a small dose...I don't know how you microdose like that! And wouldn't her numbers today be caused by the shed from the .25U or the .50U doses?

You might be right, though, about those pinks coming from the dose increase since his previous bounces weren't that high.

So.Damn.Confusing.

SuZzzzzzzzzzzze
 
Re: 8/22 Pumbaa - AMPS/142 +6/369 - WTF with the pinks?

Dale 'n' Chip said:
What worries me still is I have to keep increasing the dose to make anything keep happening. Hopefully it's just that I'm not quite there yet. nailbite_smile
I hope Chip gets there, soon. I hope that the 2.75U turns out to be the perfect dose!
 
KT!!! PUMBAA!!!! STOP IT!!!!!!!!! You are NOT balls!!! Try SMOOTH glides instead of dives!!!! Quit driving us Mamas even MORE crazy....

HUG Suzzzzzzzze....hope you're getting some of those zzzz's about now........
 
Lyresa,

Nope...I'm working. *sigh*

Looks like KT is doing to you today what Pumbaa did to me last night. (((HUGS))) And KT ate a whole can of HC food and it didn't affect the numbers? That's what happened with Pumbaa last Friday night...I had to keep giving him gravy just to keep his numbers from diving lower than they were. It took me 2 hours to get him up over 50.

Did I read somewhere that you work nights? So you should be sleeping right now?

SuZzzzzzzzzzzze
 
I still haven't figured out how sensitive Pumbaa is to the Lantus, and if the difference of a drop can cause the high numbers. I probably shouldn't have dropped his dose down by a full .25U this morning, but I want him in nice high greens, not down in the 40's for hours at a time.

Autumn is on such a small dose...I don't know how you microdose like that! And wouldn't her numbers today be caused by the shed from the .25U or the .50U doses?

You might be right, though, about those pinks coming from the dose increase since his previous bounces weren't that high.

So.Damn.Confusing.

Hi Suze,
Take a step back, I think you're overthinking it. I think you said there was a 2 drop difference between 2.25 and 2.5?

I think, maybe, that a drop or two might matter if you're trying to decide between .25u and .1u because it's a fairly large difference, percent-wise, in total dosage. But a drop or two when the dose is bigger than 2u? I think the difference in Pumbaa's numbers have very little to do with the exogenous insulin, and a lot more with everything else that is going on inside his body on a daily basis:

Words of wisdom from Dr. Lisa might help (I hope) -
(Just substitute "Suze" in place of "Lori", and she could be talking to you)
(Lori - I am hoping that the last statement will take pressure off of you - not add to it. Copper's body is in charge and we are just along for the ride...doing the best that we can with the ability to affect only a few pieces of the puzzle....ie....diet, insulin, constipation, body weight - in the case of an overweight cat.)

Serum glucose, at any single time point during the glucose curve, represents the sum effects in the *rate* and *amount* and *timing* of:

*Exogenous insulin absorption

*Endogenous insulin production

*Intracellular uptake of exogenous and endogenous insulin

*Insulin degradation and elimination - different for exogenous vs endogenous

*Intestinal glucose absorption

*Endogenous glucose production

*Tissue glucose uptake and utilization

and then throw in the amount of exogenous insulin....excess body fat....inflammation....subclinical infection....etc...etc....

....and then add in Copper's recent bouts with constipation (stress => increased BG) which prompted an email to Lori to get Miralax (or generic PEG 3350) into him asap before he ended up needing an enema at her vet's office...which is not easy for her to get to and I hated the thought of Copper having to go through all of this. (Dosage Rx was to start with 1/8-1/4 tsp AM and PM - mixed into food - and dose upwards to effect.)

When you consider all of the above, to me, at least, I can't get caught up in agonizing over minute dosage changes...so dear Lori....please stop driving yourself nuts over such small dosage increments.

Sorry, Suze, I can't stand to see you driving yourself insane over this.
Hugs,
Carl
 
Carl & Bob said:
Hi Suze,
Take a step back, I think you're overthinking it. I think you said there was a 2 drop difference between 2.25 and 2.5?

I think, maybe, that a drop or two might matter if you're trying to decide between .25u and .1u because it's a fairly large difference, percent-wise, in total dosage. But a drop or two when the dose is bigger than 2u? I think the difference in Pumbaa's numbers have very little to do with the exogenous insulin, and a lot more with everything else that is going on inside his body on a daily basis:

Words of wisdom from Dr. Lisa might help (I hope) -
(Just substitute "Suze" in place of "Lori", and she could be talking to you)

Sorry, Suze, I can't stand to see you driving yourself insane over this.
Hugs,
Carl
Carl, thank you! (((HUGS)))

You just made me cry! Because I'm trying so hard for my little guy, and I am driving myself insane over this. But, as you (and Dr. Lisa) pointed out, Pumbaa has no control over how his body reacts, daily, as well. That's why I'm crying, out of frustration for both me and Pumbaa. (Edit: I just want everyone to know that I was crying in a good way...it was a release of pent up frustration coupled with being overly tired. What Carl posted was very liberating, and I thank him for that!)

I just want him to stop bouncing and diving, as that has to be brutal to his little body. As I know it it brutal to mine, since I haven't been sleeping more than 2 hours at a time, normally, for too long now.

Yes, per my dosing methods, a skinny is one drop less than the actual dose. A .25U dose is two drops less than a single unit dose or a .50U dose.

I just finished working for the day, and will now go and crash on the sofa until Pumbaa's +6 since he was up at +3. Hopefully will get a 1-hour nap. Hopefully Pumbaa won't dive after his +3 like he did last night. But, since I never know when he's going to start a dive, I just have to keep testing him, constantly, 24/7. *sigh*

SuZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top