8/22 Onyx - PMPS=126, +2=115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Onyx & Klepto

Member Since 2013
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=102740

Howdy LL!!!

So after a bit of a furshot, Onyx spent the day yesterday coming back down from the missed Insulin. She basically dropped continually, all day--and all night. I tested her at +10, expecting to see her normal on-the-rise numbers at the end of the cycle, but was shocked to see a 48! Gave her a tiny bit of carbs to get her out of the 40's, without risking giving her AMPS an inflated boost. She did go up to 56 for her AMPS, but quickly came back down to a 40, 30 minutes later. Needless to say, I did NOT shoot. I gave a tiny bit of carbs again, and she's been staying at 59 for 2.5 hours since.

I'm trying not to get too excited, but I just wanted to share our progress. I will continue monitoring her closely today.

Hope you're all having a great day.

:-D

EDIT: Well Onyx held her own BEAUTIFULLY pretty much most of the day, without a shot. Now in the late hours, she's starting to rise. We have 2 hours left until her PMPS, and with a 94 right now, I'd say we'll be over a 100 for sure. I just have to decide what dose makes the most sense, for her safety. She had earned a .25 reduction on her PM cycle, but after another day of healing numbers, I'm afraid 1U might be too much. Anyone have a suggestion after a day like this on no insulin????
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - AMBG=56, +12.5=40, +13=59, +14=59

If she dropped to 40 today after you gave a FS the other night on the 1.25u dose, IMHO, I'd reduce the dose to 1u tonight and see what she does. Paws crossed she surfs green ALL day today!!! Come on Onyx!
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - AMBG=56, +12.5=40, +13=59, +14=59, +15=57

Marje, I've got everything crossed--that's crossable!!!

Thanks so much for your support through this. You rock!!!

:-D
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - AMBG=56, +12.5=40, +13=59, +14=59, +15=57

Those are some beautiful numbers, Onyx! Keep up the good work!
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - AMBG=56, +13=59, +14=59, +15=57, +16=56

WOOT WOOT!! Looking good Onyx! :thumbup

FIngers and paws crossed here too.
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - AMBG=56, +13=59, +14=59, +15=57, +16=56

Thanks, Missy and Wendy.

I'm in shock at how well she's doing, but I'm "trying" not to get too excited. But it's hard when you see such great numbers without insulin all day.

I guess I'll know in a few hours if I need to shoot.

:smile:
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - AMBG=56, +13=59, +14=59, +15=57, +16=56

Onyx & Klepto said:
...I guess I'll know in a few hours if I need to shoot. :smile:
You "jones-ing" yet Brandi? :lol: Have you decided how much insulin (provided she continues to rise, as it seems) and at what BG number you're comfy shooting? Are you going to shoot early?
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - AMBG=56, +13=59, +14=59, +15=57, +16=56, +19

Surf safe, Onyx! I'm on shore right now, but I'll keep an eye on you.

~ Rusty, LagoonMeister
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - AMBG=56, +13=59, +14=59, +15=57, +16=56, +19

Thanks, Kat and Ella.

I'm really not sure what to shoot later. I'm still in shock she's getting these numbers with NO shot. Marje had suggested 1U earlier, but I guess we'll see what she looks like in a few hours. It's really looking like her body has had about enough of the insulin, so I'm just not sure. If I shoot, I'm guessing it will be .5 or 1. I want to be safe. If she still rises, but stays under 100, it will probably be .5. But if she goes over 100 at PMPS, then I'll do 1. I think that makes the most sense.

I don't think I've ever watched the clock so closely in all my life...lol.

:-D
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - AMBG=56, +13=59, +14=59, +15=57, +16=56, +19

Melissa & Tarragon said:
What a great green day there. Yay! Have a wonderful night!

Thanks, Melissa!

I think green is my new favorite color...lol.

You and Tarragon have a wondeful night celebrating his burfday!!! Have some cake for me.

:smile:
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - AMBG=56, +13=59, +15=57, +16=56, +19=77, +22

Well Onyx held her own BEAUTIFULLY pretty much most of the day, without a shot. Now in the late hours, she's starting to rise. We have 2 hours left until her PMPS, and with a 94 right now, I'd say we'll be over a 100 for sure. I just have to decide what dose makes the most sense, for her safety. She had earned a .25 reduction on her PM cycle, but after another day of healing numbers, I'm afraid 1U might be too much. Anyone have a suggestion after a day like this on no insulin?

I think this is the most nervous I've been about a dose so far... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - PMPS=126 Shoot .5 or 1?

Hi Sienne.

Given her numbers for the past few days, and that she was in the 50's most of the day with no insulin, do you think I should shoot a .5 or 1?

Thank you.

:smile:
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - PMPS=126 Shoot .5 or 1?

I'd probably reduce to 1.0u. You are around to monitor and you keep a close eye on Onyx's numbers.
 
Re: 8/22 Onyx - PMPS=126 Shoot .5 or 1?

Okay, will do. My gut is saying she'll be earning another reduction in a few hours...lol.

:smile:

Thanks, Sienne.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top