8/22 Harley(skipped am) +3 114, +5 56, +5.5 45, +5.75 51

Status
Not open for further replies.

KKL

Member Since 2013
****SKIP TO BOTTOM POST: 4:15 PM TODAY: WITHOUT INSULIN HE'S DROPPED TO 56 AT +4, HE ONLY GOT A SMALL DOSE LAST NIGHT AND WENT REALLY LOW, WE GAVE KARO AND NOW HES DROPPING AGAIN AND I HAVE TO LEAVE FOR WORK....TESTED AGAIN AT +5.5 AND HE WAS LOWER AT 45....REPEATED WITH MORE KARO AND WET FOOD....


We had a long night last night after a 149 PMPS and dropping to 46 at +4. We had to give three tbsp. of LC and 2 big drops of Karo to bring him up...don't want to yo-yo here....

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=102763
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, shoot or hold?

I would shoot. You're giving such a tiny amount of insulin. Is there any way you can give less?
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, shoot or hold?

After the "incident" last night I decided to hold, knowing the 111 was from the glob of Karo I had to give at 1am and watch him until 330am...just to be safe.

any idea on how to do less with just a plunger depress shot?? I already was pressing the plunger less firm than I had and we still dropped to 46 at +4 last night...and I had skipped the morning shot yesterday....
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, shoot or hold?

I still think you should go back and look at last nights condo.... and evaluate/test what you actually are giving.

Here's what we call one drop.
Take your loaded syringe, needle pointed straight up, and twist the plunger slowly until a drop forms on the needle and rolls off.

Those two links I gave you last night talk about counting how many drops are in your particular syringe for 1 unit.

What syringes do you have? Some have a unmarked amount in the hub... and so even though the marks say 0 units.... there is still "some" in there.
And some syringes can have as much as 0.2 units in them even though the marks say zero.
So I'm very interested in finding out if you are giving more than you think ..... or if you might already be giving nothing at all.
It very much depends on your syringe.
And it takes experimentation to find out.


As I said, when I thought I was giving one drop, I found out by experimenting that nothing came out at all. And had to backtrack a little .....
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, shoot or hold?

I agree with Dyana from last night that he still isn't looking solid green like kitties that are ready to go OTJ.

I saw that you tried to feed a higher carb food and he got sick and then you mixed HC and LC for MC and it didn't affect his numbers. But I'm not seeing on his SS where you are consistently doing this. I would be feeding him in the vicinity of 9-10% carbs at PS, +1, +2, +3 to see if that slows him down so his overall curve comes up a bit and you can get that .05u drop in him.

If you can't do that, the only other thing I know to recommend is for you to try a food trial. If you can feed him at +9 am and pm cycles, if his pancreas is working, then his PS should come down. If his PS comes down, then he will be flatter when you shoot the small dose. I'd still give him some higher carb food (not HC) to try and hold him flat. But if you can get him into green all the time, then he would be a better candidate for an OTJ trial.
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, shoot or hold?

I found the wet food MC and HC foods made him sick and so to "create" MC and HC I was adding some of his old dry food to his LC wet food to try to bring the carbs up, but yet not worry about finding it on the floor in the basement...
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, shoot or hold?

It's pretty much just a hub shot, I am well below the "0" line. Yes I know the BG 3/10 syringes I use can have the 0 line anywhere from 0 to 0.25 unit apart. So, I have been doing the plunger depress which tends to yield about 1/10 of a unit. I have been pressing firmly to get it in and out...but the last several days I have been pressing firm to retrieve then light to discharge. I check it after and there is still a micro drop (think grain of sand) that is left in the needle. I would say there are two very small drops that come out with just a plunger depress. I did try twisting the plunger, but nothing comes up, not until I actually push the plunger entirely down.
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +2 114, +4 56

WHOA NELLY!
I skipped this morning shot becaue of last night ....he was 111 AMPS, then at +3 he was 114 and I am heading out for work at +5 and he's down to 56...what the heck is happening!? I have an appointment I need to make so I gave him some LC with some karo and a kitty crunchy treat....
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +3 114, +4 56

If you have to leave and you are worried Harley might drop lower, you could also leave some LC with a drop of karo out for him while you are away. I am hoping some other members give you their opinion too, but wanted to suggest this in case you dont get any replies before you have to leave
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +3 114, +4 56

He's not a grazer so he will inhale whatever I put down...but I did give him some right away at +5 when I tested him...I skipped both yesterday and today's shot so he only has gotten a very small dose within the last 36 hours...just surprised to see him drop again without insulin, and so fast.
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +3 114, +4 56

If you are worried he will eat it all too quickly.... can you put down a few bowls of food in different places?

Do you know how long you will be gone? and how soon do you have to leave? will you be there long enough to get 1 more test before you leave?

this is just what I personally would do - just to be safe
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +3 114, +4 56

Oye...now he's down to 45 at +5.5...I gave him Karo and wet food as well as two dry treats 25 minutes ago....he's acting fine, but I still put some on his gums as well as more wet food with more Karo....better higher than lower if we can help it!! I am way too afraid to leave now....
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +3 114, +4 56

How soon do you have to leave?


How long will you be gone?


and its okay... you have been doing a wonderful job.... dont worry too much... with such a tiny dose of insulin I think youll be able to bring his numbers up
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +3 114, +5 56, +5.5 45

Kris

You didn't give insulin this morning, correct? It says "AMPS" in your subject line but also "skipped".

If you don't give insulin, he can't hypo. I'd just give him a good sized meal and check him before you walk out. Leave food out. But he should be fine without any insulin on board.
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +3 114, +5 56, +5.5 45

No insulin this morning or yesterday morning...only his small dose last night with the low numbers at +4....
He dropped within 30 minutes from 56 to 45 even though I gave him Karo, wet food and treats. I did again and will test shortly. I was supposed to be gone for a handful of hours but this sudden drop without insulin has me worried....
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +3 114, +5 56, +5.5 45

Some cats, even without insulin, have low numbers. Jupiter hasnt had any insulin in a few weeks, but sometimes he will go under 50. I dont think its anything to worry about when you are not giving insulin.

For a little while there, Jupiters appetite was really bad and I had troubles getting him to eat anything. So I would have to feed some HC gravy food sometimes... and his numbers didnt go up. I think this is fine though if you are not giving insulin.
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +3 114, +5 56, +5.5 45

My cat Nikki is the poster child for low BG with no insulin these days! :roll: :lol: As long as Harley has no insulin on board the fact that his BG is dropping after all those carbs means his pancreas is working!

We're not sure how or why Nikki can function so low, but what I've ended up doing is feeding her 7-8 mini-meals a day with a carb percentage around 8-9%. This seems to work the best for keeping her BG level around 40 so I'm not seeing those drops into the 20's. And she hasn't had insulin in over 3 weeks!
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +3 114, +5 56, +5.5 45

Ok, at +6 hes at 51....this is with a good amount of Karo, two tablespoons of his LC wet and a couple dry treats. I wish I was seeing better numbers before I leave him since the insulin from last night is still in his system....
 
Re: 8/22 Harley 111 AMPS, skipped, +3 114, +5 56, +5.5 45, +

Like Marje said, just leave some extra food out for him :-D and if you are really worried you could always just put a drop of karo in the food you leave out if that will help you worry less
 
Re: 8/22 Harley +12 111 (skipped), +3 114, +5 56, +5.5 45, +

He or one of the other two will inhale food when set down :(
Does this mean his Pancreas suddenly decided to join the party?? I hate to pump him full of Karo and have him spike, but I am also afraid to leave him...he seems a tad lazy right now and that is not like him...whereas he was jawing at me an hour ago...



4:00 pm: 56 (gave 1 tbs LC wet food with 2 big drops Karo and 2 dry HC treats)
4:30 pm: 45 (gave 1 tbs LC wet food with 3 big drops Karo)
4:45 pm: 51
5:15pm: 52
5:25pm: 50
 
I am sorry I dont know the answer to your question.


Maybe another member that has more experience can guide you better but I dont know whos online right now.


The only thing I can suggest is possibly leaving several bowls of food out placed in different spots? and hopefully they wont go to all the bowls and inhale them right away.
 
He's down to 50 right now, I just gave him more wet food and a teaspoon of his dry food. Since he does have his depot and he did get a shot last night he does have insulin in there, if his pancreas suddenly decided to do it's job I don't want it pushing him any lower while I am gone :(
 
Would it be possible to put Harley in a separate room while you are gone? That way you can put plenty of food in that room with him and not have to worry about the other cats eating it. You could also place several bowls of food in different place in hopes he wont eat it all right away
 
His depot may be holding his numbers down a bit but I believe at this point that the "active" portion of a Lantus cycle would have worn off.

ETA: A link to more info on Carryover from the Insulin Depot sticky.
 
I'd be better locking the other two away than him, he would knock the door down. He is a vacuum, the "seek and destroy-eat until they explode" type, he doesn't know when to walk away :)

I just gave him more food in hopes of getting that number at least headed up...I am shocked with what he's eaten in the last hour and a half that his numbers have barely budged??
 
Really? I thought if he had insulin in his system and he dropped below 50-60 that we wanted him back up over 70 again so that I can leave him unsupervised? I am just surprised with what I have fed in the last hour and 40 minutes that it hasn't really moved....

He is at 55 and 10 minutes later at 57, he is trending upward so I am assuming I am safe to leave him for a few hours? His belly should be plenty full...probably will see a nice spike later with all the carbs I gave him :)
 
Hi Kris, you only need him above 70 if you are going to leave for a while, and gave insulin that cycle. You didn't, so he should be safe. Just give him a big "lunch" before you go, you should be fine to leave.

BTW - I tested my non diabetic cat a week or two ago, he came in at 53. Harley is in a good number range.
 
Well here we are 3.5-4 hours after 3 feedings of wet food, Karo, dry treats and dry food (a LOT of carbs)...and yet his blood sugar is 85....what does this mean?
 
It means you might not have to give him insulin tonight. :-D :-D

I wouldn't have fed him so much or given him any karo. There are cats that run in the 30s without insulin, as Alexis knows.
 
My concern was that I was supposed to leave for several hours and he went from 114 to 45 in just a few hours without morning insulin...well, partly since he did get insulin last night....so since this was uncharted territory I was worried he'd get too low while I was away :( Whooops, rookie error...
 
Alright....the fun continues, he's been 24 hours without insulin now and he's continuing to drop again...even though he had all that karo and dry food 4-5 hours ago, he rose a little to 85 from 50 but now he's coming back down, he's at 65 right now. This is good, right??? :mrgreen:
 
I think this is good! I dont think last nights dose is effecting him anymore. I think this is him right now :-D and hes doing great
 
:lol: I love being the one with the weirdo cat! Thankfully Nikki's been cruising in the low 40's much more lately.

What you may want to try is sticking with frequent mini-meals. That seems to keep Nikki at a more steady BG. Congrats on having a great day with no shot! :mrgreen:
 
HEY EVERYONE CHECK OUT HARLEY'S NUMBERS!! :) He's coming down on his own it seems :) :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top