8-22 Gizmo AMPS=352; PMPS=488; +3=413; +4.75=338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...2-6-255-8-75-224-pmps-127-2-198-4-187.182662/

PMPS = 127 (retested at 163)
+2 = 198
+4 = 187
+8 = 303

AMPS = 352

Gizmo is starting to eat the organix a little better. Still not sure if it is causing him to have diarrhea (something is). He went twice during the pm cycle (once before we went to bed and another time overnight). I think for now I'm going to keep introducing the organix slowly to see if he will continue to eat it (he's accepting of it at best right now - not sure how long that will last) and if the diarrhea goes away.
 
Pumpkin helped Girlie - and she seems to like the taste/texture. Maybe you have to go slower on the Organix? I attribute Girlie's explosive reaction and two ER visits to my too optimistic efforts with Ziwipeak. Come on, Gizmo! Give mom a break, now! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Pumpkin helped Girlie - and she seems to like the taste/texture. Maybe you have to go slower on the Organix? I attribute Girlie's explosive reaction and two ER visits to my too optimistic efforts with Ziwipeak. Come on, Gizmo! Give mom a break, now! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
He gets 1 tsp pumpkin mixed with his breakfast every morning. I'm wondering if I should give him some with his PMPS also? I think I'm mixing the organix pretty slow. He eats 2 cans of food a day and has only been getting 1/2 can of organix a day (so 25% new food). I planned on increasing to 50-50 after 4 days. I'm also wondering if it might be because I switched him from friskies ocean whitefish and tuna to Friskies mixed grill. I did that fairly quickly because it was just a different flavor - same brand. It could be that switch was to much and just took a few days to show up. It's not to bad right now, so I'm hoping it will straighten up quickly.
 
I hope Gizmo starts feeling better soon. Glad to hear he is slowly taking to the Organix because it is so much lower in phosphorous. When I was feeding Fancy Feast I rotated through all of the varieties and Maggie didn't have any issues with it. ECID!
 
They keep us on our toes, for sure... I wish we had Organix here in Australia - hard to find a food low in phosphorous that's ok for diabetic kitties.
 
+2 = 275
+3 = 148 :eek: ... the resulting bounce is not going to be pretty when it arrives
+4 = 103

Only ate about 1/2 of the organix I gave him at +3, but he ate all the Friskies at +4
 
BREATHE! You've got a handle on this! You did exactly what you should have done and yes, test again in 30 minutes!

More deep slow breaths....keep reminding yourself that you caught it, you 'did' for it, it's working....no need to panic.

If you find yourself still shaky, SING! Doesn't matter what - the ABC song even - just sing! It will help calm those shaky hands.

HUGS!
 
BREATHE! You've got a handle on this! You did exactly what you should have done and yes, test again in 30 minutes!

More deep slow breaths....keep reminding yourself that you caught it, you 'did' for it, it's working....no need to panic.

If you find yourself still shaky, SING! Doesn't matter what - the ABC song even - just sing! It will help calm those shaky hands.

HUGS!
Thanks for the vote of confidence. I just wasn't sure with the number being so close to the cut off number and also being close to his nadir. I didn't want to overcarb him.
 
Perfect call on giving LC! :)

As for switching flavors but same brand ... I tried giving Turkey and Giblets last week - 3 out of 4 cats were perfectly fine. However, my civvie Keena immediately regurgitated everything he ate. Back to Mixed Grill we went. I thought perhaps they were tired of having the same flavor all the time, but Keena just can't do it. He has a sensitive tummy. :oops:
 
make it 45 min, I think

ETA: I think 45 is ok because usually he is up by +8.
45 min later will make it to +7.5 - and you have not recorded many tests for +7 yet.
Delightful numbers! Even if he got there a little too fast.
 
Good catch on the 62 and that earns Gizmo a reduction when using a AT2 meter. You need to see if he will stay up by himself without any food to know you are in the clear. Hopefully he will surf for you from now to the end of the cycle. Let your meter tell you whether you need to intervene with more food. If he stays up the next test, then I would lay off the food and test in 30 to see if he can maintain.
 
Good catch on the 62 and that earns Gizmo a reduction when using a AT2 meter. You need to see if he will stay up by himself without any food to know you are in the clear. Hopefully he will surf for you from now to the end of the cycle. Let your meter tell you whether you need to intervene with more food. If he stays up the next test, then I would lay off the food and test in 30 to see if he can maintain.
Sounds good. Thanks for the advice on how much food to be giving. I'm never sure, but usually slack off after +6.
 
Yep, he sure did. Hoping this one works a little better than the last one. We reduced. His numbers went higher and higher. We had to increase several times to see decent numbers again. I never thought I would say this, but I really don't want to reduce!?:eek:
I hear what you're saying, reducies fail more often than not with Bronx and his acro.
 
If he shoots to the moon by PMPS time, you can shoot through the bounce and reduce tomorrow morning. Good luck with the reduction. Once reduced, as soon as it's clear that the numbers are going steadily upwards you can take him back to 9 units again. With a bounce, the numbers wobble around.
 
Hmm, he earned a reduction with the drop below 68.

But he came up easily with LC.

He has one previous reducie which failed. But this is the only reduction I see on his ss.


The 3 drops below 50 approach is usually used in long term diabetics or kitties that have shown they don't hold reductions. Not sure that we can say gizmo falls into either of those categories yet, one failed reduction is not a trend, yet.

Given he's on a higher dose, has he been tested for high dose conditions? ( Sorry not having visited for a while I just wanted to ask as that would certainly impact advice on dosing??)


If he does bounce veto pink by pmps, shooting through the bounce is a good option, holding on to the dose for one more cycle before taking the reduction, can help the numbers get back on track more quickly and I've seen it work quite well for some of our kitties.
 
PMPS = 488

Wow, but I knew the bounce was coming.
I shot 9 units tonight to shoot through the bounce.

It's official we are moving on from organix ... even the civvie refused to touch it today and Gizmo is iffy about it and the diarrhea is getting worse. Gave more pumpkin with his PMPS meal. Tomorrow it is just mixed grill until we get the diarrhea under control. About how long would it take for the organix to get out of his system? If that doesn't work, I guess I'll have to switch him back to ocean whitefish and tuna and start over. :( I have tiki cat ordered and we will have to go back to petco to try soulistic.

On a side note you mention Gizmo's watery eyes. Are they always watery? Beenie's eyes get goopy only after she eats. As if keeping her head down while feeding she tears up and I always wipe away her goopies. That's the only time it happens. None of my civvies have that issue.
I have been keeping an eye on the watery eye and while I can't say it isn't happening at other times of the day I notice his watery eye after he has eaten when I am giving him his shot.
 
one failed reduction is not a trend, yet.
after thinking about it, we realized that it was probably best to reduce to 8.5 in the morning. Like you said it has only happen one time and that is hardly enough to base a decision going against protocol off of.

Given he's on a higher dose, has he been tested for high dose conditions? ( Sorry not having visited for a while I just wanted to ask as that would certainly impact advice on dosing??).
We want him tested, but have had issues getting a vet to do the testing. We are still trying.
 
Hmm ... now I'm really wondering about this reduction. He is on 9 units, so he should reduce to 8.5, but maybe 8.75 would be a better choice?
Congrats on the reduction. You can always try 8.75U and see if that works better. When Neko was up around that size dose, I was surprised how sensitive she was to 0.25 u changes. ECID of course. :cat: Or you could try 8.5 and go back up by 0.25 if he doesn't hang onto the reduction. 8.5 only saw green once on the first cycle last time.
 
after thinking about it, we realized that it was probably best to reduce to 8.5 in the morning. Like you said it has only happen one time and that is hardly enough to base a decision going against protocol off of.

I do like @Wendy&Neko suggestion of going to 8.75, especially as he came up easily enough with the LC, and his recent numbers on 8.5 were not ideal ( though of course insulin needs can change over time)

In your shoes I would consider my availability to monitor over the next couple of days and factor that into my decision. Being a little more 'agressive' if I was available, and more 'conservative' if I wasn't
 
Ok ... new plan: since I am available to monitor for about another week, i am going to shoot 8.75 units in the morning (as much as I hate 0.75 and 0.25 increments - I think it will work best for Gizmo). At one point today, my husband and I were discussing not even taking the reduction. :eek:
 
Sorry to read about the food issues, and associated bum issues :rolleyes:, I hope the Tiki cat works for both kitties. It's not the main meal for Maverick, but he likes it as a snack. Crazy day for you, I kept checking in, even though I was at work...I hope they don't review my internet use :woot:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top