8/21 Zener PMPS 198;+2 232;+4 305;+7 391 A Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 8/20

Zener's in blue and on the express train!

Yesterday's summary
8/20/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 368, 9th cycle at sk 1.50, 2t 10%
+1 >2t. 10%
+2.3 334, 2t. 10%
+4 286, 2t 10%
+6 283
+8, 1 oz 10%
+10 331, FDCK treat at poke
PMPS 337, 10th cycle at sk 1.50, 1oz 10% carbs & 1oz 11%
+2 298, 1oz 11% carbs
+3 1/2 oz 11%
+4 248, 1 oz 11%
+10.5 vomited hairball

Today
8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, vomited before shot, fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%

Will check a +4 and see if the train has slowed down.
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;+1 211;+3 102;+3.5 90 ATrak

Today
8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, vomited before shot, fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%
+3.5 90, fed 3 semi soft treats :shock:

Yikes -will check again in 30 minutes. Thanks Sienne for the advice to check at +3.5!
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;+1 211;+3 102;+3.5 90 ATrak

good call - you might be needing to steer this cycle a little bit! stop dropping zener - flatten out and surf now!
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;+1 211;+3 102;+3.5 90;+4 87 ATrak

Hi Lisa, thanks for the positive support! We freak out a little at the green #s!

Julie - thanks captain! We are full speed ahead with steerage in place!

Today
8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, vomited before shot, fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%
+3.5 90, fed 3 semi soft treats :shock:
+4 87, ate 1t. 17%

Will get a +4.5 shortly. @-)
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;+1 211;+3 102;+3.5 90 ATrak

julie1220 said:
good call - you might be needing to steer this cycle a little bit! stop dropping zener - flatten out and surf now!

We can't take credit for this call. Sienne gives the BEST advice and we were following it! I will find Zener's board shorts so he will be all decked out for surfing! :-D

Wondering if this droppage had anything to do with morning pukeage or if it was just time for Zener to drop like a rock after all the pinks!
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;+1 211;+3 102;+3.5 90;+4 87+4.7 108

Second consecutive number stable and/or rising!

Today
8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, vomited before shot, fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%
+3.5 90, fed 3 semi soft treats :shock:
+4 87, ate 1t. 17%
+4.7 108, licked gravy on 1t. 15%

I'll get another BG in an hour and see how things are looking.

I'll be here all next week with Liz to prepare for me being away for 8 days on a work trip to Germany. Liz is feeling very anxious about having cycles like today, when she has to be at work and can't be home to steer with foods. It will be her first stretch of time being Zener's only caregiver and at the same time, going back to teaching after the summer off. And, we've both had our share of health problems lately! We are thinking about reducing Zener's dose a little bit while I am away to decrease the stress on Liz of what to do with food, shots etc if Zener is dropping like a rock. Any advice or suggestions is welcome!!
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;+1 211;+3 102;+3.5 90;+4 87+4.7 108

Well well, this dose has been showing some consistent action! You may be waving goodbye to sk1.50 soon. :mrgreen:
IMHO, from all you've expressed about the upcoming events (back to work, you out of town) it will be a good idea to drop the dose during the time Liz will be a "single mom".
As far as the "to what?". . . too early to say - a lot can change in 7 days. . . :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;+1 211;+3 102;+3.5 90;+4 87+4.7 108

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Well well, this dose has been showing some consistent action! You may be waving goodbye to sk1.50 soon. :mrgreen:
IMHO, from all you've expressed about the upcoming events (back to work, you out of town) it will be a good idea to drop the dose during the time Liz will be a "single mom".
As far as the "to what?". . . too early to say - a lot can change in 7 days. . . :mrgreen:

Thanks Sandy, our thoughts too that this dose may change before I leave. We will keep on keeping on and post about what to drop to a couple of days before I leave. In Zenerland 7 days can bring many surprises! :lol:
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;+1 211;+3 102;+3.5 90;+4 87+4.7 108

What a lovely cycle for Zener today. He decided he didn't need no stinkin' dosecrease!!!
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;1 211;3 102;3.5 90;4 87;4.7 108;+6 8

Hahha Marje! He is hankering for a dose decrease instead!

oday
8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, vomited before shot, fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%
+3.5 90, fed 3 semi soft treats :shock:
+4 87, ate 1t. 17%
+4.7 108, licked gravy on 1t. 15%
+6 89, 1t. 17%

Looks like he dropped again, so I guess the 15% carbs weren't enough for surfing! Gave him 17% again at +6 and will get another BG in 30 minutes. I am pretty sure if I wasn't giving him such high carbs he would be below 80, dose decrease territory. If you are using high carbs to keep your kitty up in the safe numbers, then do you ever do a dose decrease anyway?

So much for our relaxing Sunday, before we go back to work tomorrow!
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;1 211;3 102;3.5 90;4 87;4.7 108;+6 8

Anne: typically you would not as you want them to earn the reduction so they don't fail it. When they are ready for the reduction, you won't be able to keep him up with HC.

Having said that, it is not a die-hard rule and you also have a feel for your kitty. If you think it is just too difficult to keep him up, then you can shave him. He might not hold the reduction but you can take him back up....once any bounce has cleared.
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;1 211;3 102;3.5 90;4 87;4.7 108;+6 8

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Anne: typically you would not as you want them to earn the reduction so they don't fail it. When they are ready for the reduction, you won't be able to keep him up with HC.
Ah, so that's the difference! When he dropped to 68 at +6 on Monday, we didn't test between +2 and +6. If we had been testing we would have given high carb. So it's hard to speculate if the same thing would have happened today if we were not testing so often!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Having said that, it is not a die-hard rule and you also have a feel for your kitty. If you think it is just too difficult to keep him up, then you can shave him. He might not hold the reduction but you can take him back up....once any bounce has cleared.
I understand, ECID! :lol: We have had to work pretty hard this cycle to keep him up and the poor guy has just about had all the food he can stand! We also both go back to work at the university tomorrow and won't be home to test as often. :roll: We are thinking about shaving the dose tonight...depending on numbers of course. That would also give us a little bit of a chance to see how he does with a lower dose before I leave Liz as his single mom.
 
Re: 8/21ZAMPS212;1 211;3 102;3.5 90;4 87;4.7 108;6 89;6.5 10

A couple of thoughts...

You can just feed the gravy. The gravy is where the carbs are, anyway, and Zener won't fill up as much as if you were feeding the solids.

When feeding HC, you need to remember that it wears off. The reason we use gravy or Karo, etc. is that it's in and out of a cat's system quickly. As a result, numbers can bobble around. It's why you shouldn't get too complacent if you see numbers are coming up.

When you use food to manipulate the curve, one of the things you need to factor in is how hard you are working to get numbers to come up. If you are struggling to bring numbers up, then it's time for a dose reduction. That said, if you are "struggling" and the numbers are at 100 (or 130 on the AT), I'm not sure I would regard that as truly struggling. On the other hand, if your cat is in the 50s (or 80s on the AT), that's a different story.
 
Re: 8/21ZPS212;3 102;3.5 90;4 87;4.7 108;6 89;6.5 104;7.5 10

That said, if you are "struggling" and the numbers are at 100 (or 130 on the AT), I'm not sure I would regard that as truly struggling. On the other hand, if your cat is in the 50s (or 80s on the AT), that's a different story.

I'm glad Sienne added this because I assumed we were talking about low numbers as she referred to (80s on the AT). I should know better ;-) ;-) So, in summary, "what she said" up there :lol: :lol: ^^^^^^^
 
Re: 8/21ZAMPS212;1 211;3 102;3.5 90;4 87;4.7 108;6 89;6.5 10

Sienne and Gabby said:
A couple of thoughts...

You can just feed the gravy. The gravy is where the carbs are, anyway, and Zener won't fill up as much as if you were feeding the solids.
Ah, of course! Sometimes he will just lick the gravy and we just did a +7.5 and that was all he did. I think I filled him up too much!

Sienne and Gabby said:
When feeding HC, you need to remember that it wears off. The reason we use gravy or Karo, etc. is that it's in and out of a cat's system quickly. As a result, numbers can bobble around. It's why you shouldn't get too complacent if you see numbers are coming up.
Once we saw two stable numbers, we started increasing the time between tests. This helps explain the wobble bobble we saw around almost +5 and then the drop at +6. He is back up now and fairly stable in the low 100s on the alpha trak.

Sienne and Gabby said:
When you use food to manipulate the curve, one of the things you need to factor in is how hard you are working to get numbers to come up. If you are struggling to bring numbers up, then it's time for a dose reduction. That said, if you are "struggling" and the numbers are at 100 (or 130 on the AT), I'm not sure I would regard that as truly struggling. On the other hand, if your cat is in the 50s (or 80s on the AT), that's a different story.
I would say we have been struggling with getting his numbers to come up from the 87-90 range into the low 100s on the alpha trak today. So, does that seem like perhaps shaving a dose is okay?

Here's the latest:
8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, vomited some food before shot, re-fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%
+3.5 90, fed 3 semi soft treats :shock:
+4 87, ate 1t. 17%
+4.7 108, licked gravy off 1t. 15%
+6 89, 1t. 17%
+6.5 104, 1t 17%
+7.5 109, about 1/2t. mostly gravy

I have an appointment I have to leave for. Liz will get another BG in about an hour and we'll see where he is then. Has been a struggle to keep him in the low 100s on the alpha trak.
 
Re: 8/21ZPS212;3 102;3.5 90;4 87;4.7 108;6 89;6.5 104;7.5 10

Thanks Marje, we must have cross posted! So, if I am understanding this, even though he stayed in the high 80s-low 90s and now the in the low 100s with the HC, no shave? (and no haircut) :lol: I am expecting to see a big bounce any minute! :shock:
 
Re: 8/21ZPS212;3 102;3.5 90;4 87;4.7 108;6 89;6.5 104;7.5 10

If Zener bounces, I'd shoot the old dose through the bounce if you're comfortable doing so. As for the shave, I think it's fine to give it a try. If it looks like the reduction isn't working, bring the dose back up.
 
Re: 8/21ZPS212;3 102;3.5 90;4 87;4.7 108;6 89;6.5 104;7.5 10

Sienne and Gabby said:
If Zener bounces, I'd shoot the old dose through the bounce if you're comfortable doing so. As for the shave, I think it's fine to give it a try. If it looks like the reduction isn't working, bring the dose back up.

Here's the latest:
8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, vomited some food before shot, re-fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%
+3.5 90, fed 3 semi soft treats :shock:
+4 87, ate 1t. 17%
+4.7 108, licked gravy off 1t. 15%
+6 89, 1t. 17%
+6.5 104, 1t 17%
+7.5 109, about 1/2t. mostly gravy
+9 111, 1t. 17%

I didn't have room in the subject line for all the tests, but all is on his SS. He is surfing now, but only with using HC food. We'll see how he looks as shot time approaches. I'm not comfortable very shooting at the number he is right now.
 
Re: 8/21 Zener AMPS 212;1 211;~3 102/90;~4-9 87-111;+10.5 15

And he's heading up at +10.5

Here's the latest:
8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, vomited some food before shot, re-fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%
+3.5 90, fed 3 semi soft treats :shock:
+4 87, ate 1t. 17%
+4.7 108, licked gravy off 1t. 15%
+6 89, 1t. 17%
+6.5 104, 1t 17%
+7.5 109, about 1/2t. mostly gravy
+9 111, 1t. 17%
+10.5 151

What is the best way to edit the subject line when you have so many tests it won't all fit? We'll be posting our PMPS and see how things look for deciding on the dose. :roll:
 
Re: 8/21 Zener PMPS 198 A Trak

And we're up, up and away!

8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, 11th cycle sk 1.5u, vomited some food before shot, re-fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%
+3.5 90, fed 3 semi soft treats :shock:
+4 87, ate 1t. 17%
+4.7 108, licked gravy off 1t. 15%
+6 89, 1t. 17%
+6.5 104, 1t 17%
+7.5 109, about 1/2t. mostly gravy
+9 111, 1t. 17%
+10.5 151
PMPS 198, 12th cycle sk 1.5u, fed 1t. 11%

Thanks to everyone who visited today and helped us through our longest string of low numbers yet. Looks like Zener may be headed back to the trampoline now. flip_cat We gave the same dose, sk 1.5u, no shaving after he came up to 198.

Hope everyone has a quiet and peaceful Sunday evening.
 
Re: 8/21 Zener PMPS 198;+2 232 A Trak

Up a little bit at +2 from PMPS, we like to see that behavior rather than the express elevator dropping like a rock! It has been a very busy poke fest day, so hoping Zener gets a break (and us too) tonight!

8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, 11th cycle sk 1.5u, vomited some food before shot, re-fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%
+3.5 90, fed 3 semi soft treats :shock:
+4 87, ate 1t. 17%
+4.7 108, licked gravy off 1t. 15%
+6 89, 1t. 17%
+6.5 104, 1t 17%
+7.5 109, about 1/2t. mostly gravy
+9 111, 1t. 17%
+10.5 151
PMPS 198, 12th cycle sk 1.5u, fed 1t. 11%
+1 1t. 10%
+2 232, 3t. 11% carbs

Tomorrow we have to go back to work, we are professors at our local university. Classes don't begin for another week, so we have some flexibility to be home in the morning, come check on Zener mid-day and come home a bit early. Not the same as being around all day, like during our summer break. Our schedules will be less flexible when classes begin. :sad:

The kitties hate it when we go back in the fall, because during the summer we can leave our back door open and they can waltz in and out of their fenced & very safe backyard whenever they like. And the best part, doing their business in the yard and not the litter box! cat_pet_icon

I'll be checking Zener again at +4 and see how things look then. The trampoline may be out again. flip_cat
 
Re: 8/21 Zener PMPS 198;+2 232 A Trak

wow - what a great day for Zener! and I missed it! You did really well - it is so grand when we start to see numbers like these for our kitties. You received great advice today too. What a great group of people we have here.

have a great night guys - I hope Zener has a good cycle this evening!
 
Re: 8/21 Zener PMPS 198;+2 232 A Trak

Thanks Michelle, although it was a bit nerve wracking we weren't as panicked as other times. We are getting a better handle on things & it really helps to see Zener feeling better! I agree completely with the wonderful advice and guidance here. We are so fortunate to have found this community! :YMHUG:
hope you and Manny have a lovely Sunday night!
 
Re: 8/21ZPS212;3 102;3.5 90;4 87;4.7 108;6 89;6.5 104;7.5 10

Sienne and Gabby said:
If Zener bounces, I'd shoot the old dose through the bounce if you're comfortable doing so.

Gosh, I'm glad we had your expert advice on this! We did shoot the regular dose at PMPS because it was on its way up and looked like the beginning of the bounce. Pretty sure it's a bounce now that we have a 305 @ +4!

We'll see how long this tour de trampoline lasts!
flip_cat
 
Re: 8/21 Zener PMPS 198;+2 232;+4 305 A Trak

I am heeding the advice from many of you here and taking advantage of the bounce for a good night's sleep - it's back to work tomorrow.

8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, 11th cycle sk 1.5u, vomited some food before shot, re-fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%
+3.5 90, fed 3 semi soft treats :shock:
+4 87, ate 1t. 17%
+4.7 108, licked gravy off 1t. 15%
+6 89, 1t. 17%
+6.5 104, 1t 17%
+7.5 109, about 1/2t. mostly gravy
+9 111, 1t. 17%
+10.5 151
PMPS 198, 12th cycle sk 1.5u, fed 1t. 11%
+1 1t. 10%
+2 232, 3t. 11% carbs
+4 305, 1/2t. 11% carbs, left out about 1oz at bedtime

Good night and pleasant dreams to all! I-)
 
Aaarrrghh.... bouncy, bouncy, bouncy. flip_cat

8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, 11th cycle sk 1.5u, vomited some food before shot, re-fed 1t. 17% & 1t. 10% & kept that down
+1 211, ate 1t. 17%
+3 102, ate 1t. 17%
+3.5 90, fed 3 semi soft treats :shock:
+4 87, ate 1t. 17%
+4.7 108, licked gravy off 1t. 15%
+6 89, 1t. 17%
+6.5 104, 1t 17%
+7.5 109, about 1/2t. mostly gravy
+9 111, 1t. 17%
+10.5 151
PMPS 198, 12th cycle sk 1.5u, fed 1t. 11%
+1 1t. 10%
+2 232, 3t. 11% carbs
+4 305, 1/2t. 11% carbs
+7 391, 1 oz. 11% carbs

Gosh, am I glad we shot through this bounce. I suppose his BG could be even worse!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top