8-21 TYLER AMPS-163/127@+5.75/PMPS-110/75@+3.5/100@+7.25

Diane

I read back through yesterday’s thread and I would like to offer a different perspective as I believe some of the advice sounded a bit confusing.

Wendy was correct that if you are seeing green nadirs, you should hold the dose at least ten cycles. That is written specifically in the TR protocol. Tyler was seeing green nadirs on 1.75u so holding the dose ten cycles was appropriate.

I would not have raised the dose after six cycles with green nadirs. The TR protocol does state if nadirs are less than 200, hold the dose 6-10 cycles. It also states that if the kitty is new to nadirs under 200, hold for ten cycles. It does not say to increase the dose after six cycles if a cat is seeing green and blue nadirs.

The part of the TR protocol that states to hold the dose 6-10 cycles if nadirs are under 200 “allows” a member whose cat is not new to BGs under 200 to raise the dose after six cycles if you are seeing a sea of blue or are seeing blue nadirs. With green nadirs, even with some blue ones, hold ten cycles.

I don’t want this to be complicated for you so you don’t understand when to increase. IMHO, for where Tyler is and based on the TR protocol, I would suggest:
  • Hold the dose ten cycles if you are seeing green nadirs
    • after ten cycles, assess where his nadirs are and decide what is a reasonable nadir for you and him; I’ve said it before...70-80 is fine but if you want to deal with lower nadirs (50-60), that’s great and your decision.
    • in the above, also consider how long he is staying in green nadirs; if it’s only a few hours and he’s 70-80, it would be fine to increase the dose.
  • Hold the dose six cycles if you are seeing blue nadirs.
Does that help?
 
Diane

I read back through yesterday’s thread and I would like to offer a different perspective as I believe some of the advice sounded a bit confusing.

Wendy was correct that if you are seeing green nadirs, you should hold the dose at least ten cycles. That is written specifically in the TR protocol. Tyler was seeing green nadirs on 1.75u so holding the dose ten cycles was appropriate.

I would not have raised the dose after six cycles with green nadirs. The TR protocol does state if nadirs are less than 200, hold the dose 6-10 cycles. It also states that if the kitty is new to nadirs under 200, hold for ten cycles. It does not say to increase the dose after six cycles if a cat is seeing green and blue nadirs.

The part of the TR protocol that states to hold the dose 6-10 cycles if nadirs are under 200 “allows” a member whose cat is not new to BGs under 200 to raise the dose after six cycles if you are seeing a sea of blue or are seeing blue nadirs. With green nadirs, even with some blue ones, hold ten cycles.

I don’t want this to be complicated for you so you don’t understand when to increase. IMHO, for where Tyler is and based on the TR protocol, I would suggest:
  • Hold the dose ten cycles if you are seeing green nadirs
    • after ten cycles, assess where his nadirs are and decide what is a reasonable nadir for you and him; I’ve said it before...70-80 is fine but if you want to deal with lower nadirs (50-60), that’s great and your decision.
    • in the above, also consider how long he is staying in green nadirs; if it’s only a few hours and he’s 70-80, it would be fine to increase the dose.
  • Hold the dose six cycles if you are seeing blue nadirs.
Does that help?
Yes it helps tremendously, thank you Marje:bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Back
Top