Just got the Libra back on at the vet and it’s works. Yay! He peaked at 190 looks like and he’s at 136. Definitely stress.Good morning, Steven. Hope you see more greens today.
Hi Steve, with the numbers you are seeing, you should hold the dose. He got a 61 yesterday, pretty low, and you don't want to increase the insulin because then Oreo might go below 50, and we don't want that. If you start seeing more blue numbers then perhaps you'd think about an increase then, but we always want to see how low a dose takes a cat. I'd give it some more time. Keep doing what you're doing.![]()
There must be so much to coordinate with your clowder of kitties and the pup!
There must be so much to coordinate with your clowder of kitties and the pup!
I found your thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/syringe-needle-size.251773/I posed the question in the main thread regarding syringe needle size. I’m not sure you could answer that but I figured I would ask but otherwise it’s in a thread for someone else to respond
I found your thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/syringe-needle-size.251773/
I've always used the 5/16" (6 mm) needles so I can't tell you. A shorter needle might be more comfortable for Oreo.
Right!What was your +4.5? 63, I think? The drops can be scary, hang in there and deep breaths.
I tried that first and even tried warming it. Like he’s being defiant out his nose up and turned around. Im like come on Oreo do this when you’re at 200 just. It now. UghhhhDo you think he would be willing to have a bit of MC? I saw he was picky at +4.
He’s 58 manual and 59 on LibraThe Libre also gives some wonky drops. If you get a low that seems incorrect, cross check with a human meter
I have karo and a syringe to put it in his mouth if needed if neededI would try that and then a +5.
Do you also have HC wet food on hand, or honey/karo/syrup? I don’t think it’s time for that, just wondering what is in the kit![]()
I feed him at PMPS so we are about +5What did he last eat and when? He doesn't need honey yet. That's only for below 50 when HC/MC don't work to bring the numbers up. A last resort.
Ok he’s eating the HC I have home 2 yea spoons. He’s literally hogging it downWhat did he last eat and when? He doesn't need honey yet. That's only for below 50 when HC/MC don't work to bring the numbers up. A last resort.
Yes.tring HC
Looks like a full can at PMPS and then a couple kibble treats at +4 @Bandit's MomIm giving him cat treats- hard kind kibble kind
2 tsps is enough. We don't want to send him to the moon. Let's see where he is in 30 mins.Ok he’s eating the HC I have home 2 yea spoons. He’s literally hogging it down
Ok 30 mins. I just check again he’s gone up 4 points. Whew..2 tsps is enough. We don't want to send him to the moon. Let's see where he is in 30 mins.
It takes food 20 mins to affect the BG.Ok 30 mins. I just check again he’s gone up 4 points. Whew..
Yes, I am around and ditto! This felt like "old times"!@Bandit's Mom are you able to continue to check in? Past my bedtime(it was so nice to ‘see’ you by the way!)

That's great! He seems to be giving a "Don't mess with me" look!In the last 2 days he’s gone from subservient to he’s old ways.
Thank you for checking in on me. That drop rate was scary. (And I thought I’d get a full night sleep with a few scans overnight) lolGlad he came up a bit for youWhat a handsome kitty! He looks pretty happy about getting some HC
Big breaths!
@Bandit's Mom are you able to continue to check in? Past my bedtime(it was so nice to ‘see’ you by the way!)
He’s already sleeping again.Yes, I am around and ditto! This felt like "old times"!
That's great! He seems to be giving a "Don't mess with me" look!![]()
Ok he’s at 72 whewOk 30 mins. I just check again he’s gone up 4 points. Whew..
While you stay up worrying about his BG!He’s already sleeping again.![]()
Not bad. This is +5? Will he eat some more LC or LC-MC mix?Ok he’s at 72 whew
Yea +5 I made a mix and put Him in the room. Not sure he will eat it. I’ll check on him in 30 mins. I think he’s fine. That trajectory had me imaging him just going way down fast.While you stay up worrying about his BG!
Not bad. This is +5? Will he eat some more LC or LC-MC mix?
More HC may be too much carbs.
He was going down fast but the HC put the brakes on it. But he's on Levemir and it's still earlyish in the cycle. His nadir could be +7 or +8.Yea +5 I made a mix and put Him in the room. Not sure he will eat it. I’ll check on him in 30 mins. I think he’s fine. That trajectory had me imaging him just going way down fast.
Yea seems like +7-8He was going down fast but the HC put the brakes on it. But he's on Levemir and it's still earlyish in the cycle. His nadir could be +7 or +8.
He was going down fast but the HC put the brakes on it. But he's on Levemir and it's still earlyish in the cycle. His nadir could be +7 or +8.
Looks good. I think he should be okay for the night.sorry I dozed off. He did t touch the food and still at 73
Looks good. I think he should be okay for the night.