8/21 Morgaine AMPS 144, +6 103,PMPS 125

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Good Sunday everyone!

Gave Morgaine a slight increase to a f3.00 units to see if that will bring her numbers down a bit more. I must say, I am not sure I can tell the difference betweein a f3 and a 3.25 but I played with the lines first till I got it, I think. In any case, I will just be consistent and see where we go with this. She is doing well, seems happy and content and acting like her old self. Yesterday she even ran down the hall which doesn't happen often. Trying to perk her up with some catnip but she seems uninterested. I am going to grow some from seed and see if that will work. Morgaine has always been an indoor kitty, a rather "lazy" girl at that. :smile: I do think some exercise would do her good as she is in good shape now and it would help her BG.

Hope you are all having a good day.

My thoughts and prayers to all here who are dealing with the ups and downs of FD and other issues. The love and support in this community is awesome, truly it is and I am so glad to be a part of it.
 
Re: 8/21 Morgaine AMPS 144

Hi Rosalie:

As you know, it's all about being as consistent on the dose draw as you can. It's hard to distinguish many times. I just experimented with it by drawing up a dose to the next higher "line" and then counted drops. I, personally, get two drops in .25u but others may get different ones...that's ok as long as you figure out what your drop size is. I keep a description of each dose written down so I know how I do it each time. I try to also relate it to a line so perhaps my sk1u might be one drop less than 1u and the middle of the plungers is on the middle of the 1u line. It's tough.

Ann (Tess) has a great method, too. She slowly expels insulin until the drop on the bevel starts to roll down the syringe. I think this might be easier with lev which is thicker than lantus. I've tried it and it doesn't work as well for me but that's just my ineptitude.

Good luck...she's still looking great in flat blue!
 
Re: 8/21 Morgaine AMPS 144

Marjorie, can you post your description or PM me with it? I would love to see what you do and work out my own. I am shooting these tiny doses pretty blind right now and I am unable to get all air bubbles out as well so i have to adjust a bit for that. Fortunately for us, Morgaine is pretty consistent with her flat curve. Been measuring insulin most of my life and never did anything like this. With air bubbles I generally tap the syringe with the lancet pen and try to shoot it out the needle after drawing more insulin than I need but I always have a tiny bubble that won't budge. I do think it is the consistency that matters.
 
Re: 8/21 Morgaine AMPS 144

Mlle Morgaine is looking good!

When we got down into fat/skinny doses, with my shaky hands it was a challenge! Someone suggested that I twist the last bit of insulin out, pushing gently while at the same time twisting gently. That was what ended up working for me.

BK is strictly indoors too. For exercise, BK goes crazy playing "laser mouse" . I got a laser pointer that is shaped like a mouse at PetSmart. It's a straight shot from the front door of BK central to the back door, maybe 35'. I stand in the middle and get him running the entire length, back and forth and back and forth. I get tired before he does. DBF and I refer to it as "BK running laps".
 
Re: 8/21 Morgaine AMPS 144

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Mlle Morgaine is looking good!

When we got down into fat/skinny doses, with my shaky hands it was a challenge! Someone suggested that I twist the last bit of insulin out, pushing gently while at the same time twisting gently. That was what ended up working for me.

BK is strictly indoors too. For exercise, BK goes crazy playing "laser mouse" . I got a laser pointer that is shaped like a mouse at PetSmart. It's a straight shot from the front door of BK central to the back door, maybe 35'. I stand in the middle and get him running the entire length, back and forth and back and forth. I get tired before he does. DBF and I refer to it as "BK running laps".
I do already get that last bit out. I hold the syringe for a few seconds and push and then twist it. She growls at me because she is eating and doesn't like to be disturbed but that never stops her.

Morgaine used to love to play with those feathers on a stick. At one time she would leap through the air and do a twitst and we called her a gymnist. Now she follows the feather with her head and works her neck muscles. :lol: I have tried the lights and she is oblivious. The only thing that motivates her is food.
 
Re: 8/21 Morgaine AMPS 144

Sienne and Gabby said:
Will she chase after a treat if you throw it?

No. She will slowly walk over to it. She does jump on and off the bed several times a day and she jumps up on her kitty condo but mostly she is in slow motion. She has been this way for many years. She really surprised me when she went running down the hall with quite a spring in her. She was more active when I was more active. I used to chase her and play with her. She liked that but I spent a year off my feet and in a wheelchair and I do not move fast anymore either. Morgaine has many toys and no interest in them. She really never was much of a cat toy kitty though she liked her feather on a stick with supervision.
 
Re: 8/21 Morgaine AMPS 144

Hi Rosalie,
Since I switched to the Monoject 31 gauge syringes I never get air bubbles:

http://www.americandiabeteswholesal...t-ultra-comfort-insulin-syringes_2552_178.htm

I also have a technique to minimize air bubbles in all syringes: I work the plunger 3 times in the empty syringe to get it moving smoothly. The third time I hold it pushed in all the way, really putting pressure on it. Then I insert it into the insulin cartridge/pen/vial and let up on the plunger. Then I draw out very slowly about a unit more than I need and slowly twist the plunger to release the excess insulin into a paper towel.
I know that you are a long-time diabetic and an expert with insulin and syringes, but I can't tell you how much better the 31 gauge Monojects are than even the 30 gauge (which I used to use). They are virtually bubble free.

So nice to see Morgaine in good numbers. Enjoy the evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/21 Morgaine AMPS 144

Ella, that makes a lot of sense since the 31's are so thin, so less air in the actual needle. I do, however, use a 1/2 inch needle which do not come in monoject or any other brand except for 29 or 30 gauge. I am concerned because her fur is so thick. I will have to try it again as I now have several boxes of different lengths and gauges and brands. Do those come with 1/2 unit markings?
 
Re: 8/21 Morgaine AMPS 144, +6 103

Yes, they have 1/2 unit markings. The order blank doesn't mention that, but if you look closely at the picture of the box, you will see that they only come with 1/2-unit markings. Rusty (a Maine Coon mix) has thick, long hair. I do give fur shots (usually in batches!!), but I have learned to pull up on a clump of hair and that way I can see skin.
Good luck!

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top