8/21 Charlie AMPS 416 +4 238 +5 257 PMPS 430 +2 389 +5 346

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Good morning friends.

That reference to ultralente yesterday was a mistake. The question was really more about overlap. Is it possible that the overlap of the doses could be causing some of Charlie’s BG spikes?

Also, is it possible that Lantus lasts longer in one cycle as compared to the other cycle, causing more of an overlap? In other words, do some cats need less insulin in the evening cycle versus the morning cycle, possibly based on other variables such as activity, food, etc?”

overlap

I understand that this is a marathon and not a sprint. Still, I have the feeling that Charlie has had a very tough time getting regulated. Her BG numbers are erratic after almost 2 months of treatment. Many of the spreadsheets I have looked at seem like they normalized much quicker. Thus, I am open to any and all suggestions you might have to keep us moving in the right direction.

It seems like every time we increase Charlie's dose, she has a bad reaction (vomits, acts strangely, etc). Maybe this is all part of what happens the first few days on a new cycle, but still, I find is slightly discouraging as we would like to see more progress.
 
Re: 8/21 Charlie AMPS 416 +4 238 +5 257

Hi Jill, No dosing advice or suggestions, the wise ones may have some ideas and wisdom for you. Looks like Charlie's vomiting has subsided? and I hope she is feeling better. You two have been through a lot with her infections and antibiotics which probably makes it harder to get her regulated. You are doing a great job caring for Charlie despite all the challenges! I hope your staycation is restful and you both enjoy the time. Take care and have a great day!
 
Re: 8/21 Charlie AMPS 416 +4 238 +5 257

Hi guys .. No dosing or overlap advice from me, but take a look at Mocha's SS if you haven't already .. this cat didn't even have the slightest clue was regulation was about, even after nearly two years! Then bam! One day she was like, I'm kicking this direbeasties nonsense to the curb! :lol: Regulation takes time, I know 2 months seems like a lifetime, especially when dealing with other stuff on top of FD, but don't rush it .. follow the protocol, listen to the great advice on here, and things will work out how they should, when they should, ok? have a great day!
 
Re: 8/21 Charlie AMPS 416 +4 238 +5 257

Jill:

Overlap doesn't cause spikes. Shorter acting insulin has no overlap. Numbers go up then they go down -- often in a harsh way. With long-acting insulin, like Lantus or Levemir, as one dose runs out of steam, the next dose is kicking in. It creates a more even transition between doses. If overlap where an issue, Charlie's numbers would drop low early in the cycle.

I think there are a couple of considerations. I think starting dose which was too low to begin with (0.5u) considering it took 1.5u - 2u of Caninsulin to drop Charlie into green numbers. You also held that dose for 3 weeks. As a result, glucose toxicity set in. What's gong on now is pretty typical of a cat on lantus -- a dose drops the cat down, but doesn't keep the cat in green numbers. You're going to have to continue going up in dose to bring Charlie's numbers down overall.

I don't see the correlation between a new dose and vomiting. I do suspect that Charlie doesn't feel good due to the high numbers or the change in his numbers. Some cats, especially those who have been sitting in high numbers for overly long periods where glucose toxicity is an issue, don't feel great when their numbers are in normal range. The need to get used to being in lower numbers.

I'm not sure who's spreadsheets you're looking at. Some cats are quick to get into good numbers. Some are not. It's not necessarily an issue of which insulin you're using. The best suggestion I can give you is to not keep Charlie on a dose that's not working. Follow the protocol. It's meant to get cats out of high numbers in a safe way.
 
Re: 8/21 Charlie AMPS 416 +4 238 +5 257 PMPS 430 +2 389

Thanks for the encouragement and continued advice everyone.
We will keep following the protocol and work on our patience.
 
Re: 8/21 Charlie AMPS 416 +4 238 +5 257 PMPS 430 +2 389

*heart attack*
AHHHH, rainbow of death :shock:
Please remove the rainbow from your first post. Here it means a cat has gone to the Bridge.

Patience and frustration are part of this sugar dance, unfortunately. It's OK to vent. We understand how it feels.
 
Re: 8/21 Charlie AMPS 416 +4 238 +5 257 PMPS 430 +2 389

Agh!!! Thank God no. Using my phone to post and must have accidentally tapped that symbol.
I hope I never have to use that one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top