8/21 Butters AMPS 229/+3 295/+9 326/PMPS 268/+1 355/+4 308/+10 257/ Increased to 1.25u tonight

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

This morning is cycle 6 of Butters receiving 1u since she last had a nadir under 200. I believe this means if there is no action today, she will earn an increase on the next cycle.

Have a wonderful day/evening, all.
 
Yep, today is cycle #6. So if Butters doesn't get to the lagoon, or at the very least a nice low blue number - then you could increase tonight - I'm not a big fan of increasing at night because you never really know how much the depot is going to contribute - and I don't like staying up late to monitor. It's up to you...being prepared to have a PJ party is always a possibility at any time...

And then there's the possibility that it'll take a couple of cycles before Butters show's any response to the increase...only you can tell how soon she reacts to increases...Luci was given an increase this morning...she needs to get moving...hasn't seen any lagoon time in 6 cycles...

Have a great day Lyla!
 
I notice Butters often has nadirs at AMPS or PMPS, and her numbers often rise in the middle of the cycle. Do you know why? Can her cycle be longer than 12 hours? I'm clueless, and I'm sorry if it has been addressed before. Not out of curiosity, just wanted to mention it in case it can influence the strategy somehow if taken into consideration.
 
I notice Butters often has nadirs at AMPS or PMPS, and her numbers often rise in the middle of the cycle.

Hi there, I'm wondering what dates you're seeing the nadirs at pre-shots? I'm seeing mostly nadirs mid-cycle...

Sorry Lyla for jumping in...I'm curious about this observations as well...it'll be an interesting discussion about nadirs :)
 
Ah, I see - the lowest number of that cycle...

However, those may be the lowest number of the day, but he typically hits his nadir when he hits those greens mid-cycle. I don't believe those other lows - being pinks or yellows could be considered a nadir. With Lantus kicking in about two hours post-shot, that's most likely when nadirs occur.

Lev tends to cause nadirs later in the cycle - although every cat is different and Luci defies that trend - she tends to hit nadirs earlier in the day.

Adding a link about nadirs: https://petdiabetes.fandom.com/wiki/Peak linked from here; https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/
 
Last edited:
Well... In the past two weeks: the 7th, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 20. And there are plenty before that.

Interesting observation! I'm really not sure TBH! I have struggled to pin down her nadirs at this point. I do know that I think I read on a sticky that some cats will drop a little lower at the end of the cycle, and that this isn't necessarily a nadir. I don't know if that explains what is going on with Butters. Sue, not sure if this is what you were saying?

A lot of those days you list above, Butters is in a bounce. She gets one decent number and then stays high for several cycles after. I think some of the days are just high and flat without a clear nadir at all.

Sue and Luci, always happy for you to jump in!! No apology needed, ever. :)
 
A lot of those days you list above, Butters is in a bounce. She gets one decent number and then stays high for several cycles after. I think some of the days are just high and flat without a clear nadir at all.
Yes, for sure. It's just she seems to go back and forth on the dose. Probably she needs more time to adjust?
 
Morning Lyla, I hope you start to see better numbers for Butters, just like I'm waiting to see Tyler hit better numbers, they both need a talking to, lol
Have a good day Lyla and scritches for Butters :cat:
 
Luci was given an increase this morning...she needs to get moving...hasn't seen any lagoon time in 6 cycles...
I hope that Luci's increase works for her. Good luck!

Morning Lyla, I hope you start to see better numbers for Butters, just like I'm waiting to see Tyler hit better numbers, they both need a talking to, lol
Have a good day Lyla and scritches for Butters :cat:
I know....what are they waiting for!!!! lolol. Let's sort it out with them tonight. :DHave a great evening.
 
Increased on the PM cycle to 1.25u, or 1.88mm with my syringes using digital calipers.
Highest dose since starting TR. Stomach in knots. Like, could she crash at any minute :eek:.
I think she is now getting more insulin than just before we started using calipers. Hope this dose finally starts doing something to get her into better numbers more often.
 
The beauty of Lantus is it's a gentle insulin - so no crashing...well hopefully...

I told DH that we were shooting low tonight - only 156 at PMPS...let's see if Luci makes a run for it...she hit the lagoon today, but just barely with a 99 around mid-day...I've got to get her numbers on the SS...always something!

Relax and sort through your MC/HC food... :)
 
Back
Top