8/21 Alice AM 71 -no shot +2.25 54, low potassium cont. +2.85 72 +4.5 110 +10.5 249, PMPS 397

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-449-3-254-11-248-low-potassium-cont.233911/

I’m having trouble getting her to eat. We did not give insulin this morning. She had a bowel movement last night and she would eat a little through the night. I was awake all night checking if she was breathing, heating food, encouraging feeds. I’ve been giving her bits of potassium gel, she still has ventroflexion of her neck.

I gave her a bit of syrup since she tested at 54 and won’t eat.


-One of the other cats just snuck in and ate an unfinished bowl with some of the potassium gel. Now I have to wonder if that will throw off his electrolyte balance?

I just want my baby to feel better.
 
Check again in 20 minutes please. The honey might wear off fast. Will she eat Gerbers 2nds 100% protein food. It was one of my go to foods. It’s also easy to finger feed the r syringe.
 
B3D5034A-62AA-40FC-BF7D-A0E5E2A76C3B.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • B3D5034A-62AA-40FC-BF7D-A0E5E2A76C3B.jpeg
    B3D5034A-62AA-40FC-BF7D-A0E5E2A76C3B.jpeg
    58.2 KB · Views: 127
Check again in 20 minutes please. The honey might wear off fast. Will she eat Gerbers 2nds 100% protein food. It was one of my go to foods. It’s also easy to finger feed the r syringe.
With her IBD, I’m not sure what emergency foods she can or should eat. :( her getting into chocolate pudding is what started this downhill slide.
I got her to eat a couple teaspoons. I’m trying not to poke her a lot because she is already feeling so terrible, but I will test again soon.
I’m also not sure if the potassium gel has sugar or not.
 
I'm not sure if this helps at all, but Cosmo has megacolon and after a severe bout of constipation (a long story, and other things/foods involved, but he was eating ziwipeak lamb for a time during his bout), we had to switch him to gastro food as treatment. He also had low Potassium at the time and had bad neck twitches/spasms. We have had a lot of success (at least with the twitches/megacolon) with this food (which has Potassium and lots of vits/minerals). His twitches went away about a week later.

I know you may not be wanting a HC food (26% I think) or want to introduce that into the mix, but thought I'd share. I'm also not sure if it would help at all.

I hope all is well.

Screenshot_20200821-123216.png
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20200821-123216.png
    Screenshot_20200821-123216.png
    133.2 KB · Views: 57
Hey all, if I wanted to give a token dose on a food-influenced number that I expect to be easily over 200, probably over 300 because she is eating a little better now...

current dose had just been moved up from 1fat to 1.25

how low would you cut the dose? I was thinking about something like half a unit just to be sure she had some insulin going in at all.... too conservative? Too risky?

Will test and then make a decision in about 45 minutes.


She is:
Able to climb up onto the bed
Able to jump down from the bed and land upright
Drinking water herself
Having a daily bowel movement (two days in a row around same time)
Urinating in the litter box and able to still crouch low enough to keep it in the box
Showing interest in plain ziwi without something extra added to it

But she is also:
Still weak
Thin, overall
And still unable to raise her head (Not enough potassium yet)
 
Back
Top