Re: 8/21/14 Michael AMPS 91 +3 252(+3 done at Vets)
Stress from being at the vet is the reason for the higher +3 Paula. It can raise the BG up to 200 points, so tests done at the vets are pretty much useless....especially when deciding on a dose!
If you've got your insulin and there's no other reason you need to take Michael to the vet, I'd just stop going. If she's interested in knowing how he's doing, send her the link to his spreadsheet. Once she see's that he's improving, hopefully she'll get on the bandwagon.
The older insulins that vets are used to using (mostly Caninsulin on dogs) is dosed on the pre-shot value...the higher the pre-shot, the higher the dose, but Lantus just doesn't work that way.
I know we've told you this before, but if you have to go, no matter what she says, just nod your head and say Thank you...then go home and do what the protocol says. Some vets will learn along with you, and some won't. We've even had cats go OTJ and their vets are still telling their beans that they "should be doing things their way" (which has included continuing insulin on a cat that has normal numbers!)
And CONGRATULATIONS on shooting the 91! That's really awesome!! It's really too bad you had to go to the vet today and got that stress number. Shooting those lower numbers usually ends up giving a nice, flat green cycle with lots and lots of pancreas healing time!
Even though you got the high +3 due to the vet visit, you still deserve the BOS award!