8/20 Michelangelo AMPS 336, PMPS 243

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

Michelangelo is still on 1.5u, but from all the skipped shots, even that is looking to be too high a dose. I'm in reactionary mode to his numbers now and am "re-writing" his book on how he reacts to food and insulin because none of this makes sense in comparison to how he used to react to insulin before his colitis. Speaking of which, last week Henry was having some diarrhea issues himself, which makes me lean even more toward a stomach bug that hit them both. Probably some contaminant from one of the many creatures Henry likes to bring home. :roll: He's now wrangled innumerable birds, three baby possums, and one mouse (that I know of). ohmygod_smile

Michelangelo's appetite seems to be back to normal now, so I don't know what's going on?? Do medical emergencies cause a reduced need for insulin? Or was there some sort of "reset" from him not getting insulin for all those days?
The curiosity as to what is going on is killing me as if I were a cat. confused_cat
 
Re: 8/20 Michelangelo AMPS 336

Hi Kay!! I see Michelangelo is being a typical cat...not giving up any of his secrets!!

yes, any medical problem can cause changes in BG readings, as can the lack of food, a change in the household, the weather, a strange dog walking by the window and a myriad of other things. That's another one of those things we just have to deal with

I'm not an expert on dosing, but I think I would have probably stalled at PM last night when you got the 85, not fed and rechecked in 30 minutes ...and used that time to post and ask for advice and hand holding. If he continued up without food, it probably would have been best to go ahead and shoot the 1.5...or even taken a BCS dose to keep from draining his depot too much.

Every time he goes into those unfamiliar low numbers, his body is going to react by bouncing when his liver releases Counter regulatory hormones and glucogen to get his BG back to where it's "Used to"...As he gets better regulated, the bounces should not go as high, and clear faster. His liver just has to get accustomed to being in more normal numbers

Hopefully one of the more experienced sets of eyes will take a look soon, but I think you just need to keep changing those patience pants!
 
Re: 8/20 Michelangelo AMPS 336

Hi guys .. boy it's been awhile since I've been to michelangelos condo! I'm sorry to hear your babies haven't been feeling so hot .. I sure hope they get over whatever stomach bug they have .. have a great night guys!
 
Re: 8/20 Michelangelo AMPS 336

Chris & China said:
I'm not an expert on dosing, but I think I would have probably stalled at PM last night when you got the 85, not fed and rechecked in 30 minutes ...and used that time to post and ask for advice and hand holding. If he continued up without food, it probably would have been best to go ahead and shoot the 1.5...or even taken a BCS dose to keep from draining his depot too much.

Thanks for stopping by our condo!

I skipped last night because an hour or so before his pre-shot he was at 154, which means his pre-shot was a decreasing number. I actually held off till his +2 of 81 before calling it a "no shot night."

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. boy it's been awhile since I've been to michelangelos condo! I'm sorry to hear your babies haven't been feeling so hot .. I sure hope they get over whatever stomach bug they have .. have a great night guys!

I've been so busy at work lately that it seems I'm only getting in a condo or two a week now. I'm not even getting home on my lunch to test him most days. :YMSIGH: I suppose I should be thankful because that's what makes me necessary at my job, but I'm already missing the lulls I get so easily bored of. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top