8/20 Jean Luc PMPS 409

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
AMPS 461

I hope he goes back down by this afternoon. Won't be around to monitor today as it is a start of a new work week. Continued with his dose of 1.5. Should I change it at this point? Is the depot still forming? Is he using all the insulin so no depot forms?

Does anyone know of any tricks with these U100 needles. Mine are very difficult to reduce amount in syringe. I pull a little over 2U in the my syringe, remove syringe from bottle, remove any air from syringe, then attempt to push the plunger in to reduce the dose to 1.5U. This is where I find my syringe to be stiff and very difficult to change. I have even moved it up and down several times to "loosen" it up before inserting into the insulin bottle. This morning I had to start completely over with a new needle. The plunger doesn't seem to respond with gentle spinning and turning. I had to apply more pressure than needed and the insulin shot out.
 
Re: 8/20 Jean Luc AMPS 461

Hi guys .. I hope that jean luc comes down for you today as well .. No dosing advice from me, but what type of syringes are you using? We always used the relion syringes from wal mart and found them easy enough to use .. maybe others know of a different brand that might help you .. have a great day guys!
 
We are using relion 31g 5/16 length 3/10c 1/2".

Do anyone think he dosage needs to be increased?
 
I always twist the plunger to get the extra insulin out, rather than push it. You have much better control with the twist.

I'm not sure if I've visited yoru condo before (been a crazy week or so over here!)...welcome to LantusLand!

Amy
 
I think you can increase but a lot will depend on both how the cycle tonight goes and if you'll be able to get a test or two tomorrow. It takes about 5 - 7 days for the depot to form. I can't recall when you started Lantus but I suspect the depot is there.

I also turn the plunger when I am "dialing in" the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top