8/20 Corv, AMPS 283 +6 123 PMPS 173

You are doing great too! FYI, not all cats nadir at +6. It can be a good idea to mix up the timing of the tests a bit. When Neko was on Lantus, I used to joke that her nadir was in the range of +3.5 to +13, but most often in the +7-+9 range. Kept me on my toes!
 
Rather than having to skip so frequently, it'd be better to lower his dose so you can (hopefully) get two shots in per day. Maybe try 0.75 units tomorrow morning.
 
that’s what i was wondering — luckily my vet thinks we caught his diabetes early so hopefully another skip doesn’t hit him too hard. will try .75 tomorrow morning. it’s ok to try lowering only 5 days on insulin (with like 2 skips and 2 fur shots?)
 
It's possible you started on too high a dose. Normally with a kitty on all wet food low carb diet, on SLGS they would start with 0.5 units. Corv has been in very safe numbers so far, but he'll do much better (less high numbers) if you can get in two shots a day. We believe in starting lower and working your way up. It's easier on the caregiver too.
 
Back
Top