8/20 Copernicus PMPS= 551 +6=432 AMPS=427

Krista & Copernicus

Member Since 2026
PP

Last night's high was all nausea. Every time I give him a full dose of Cosequin (he needs for both arthritis and urinary) he gets nauseas and BGs go up. I am going to need to try a different supplement. Suggestions?

My goal now is just purples without reds and blacks. He feels a lot better and walks better even in consistent purple. I'm not even aiming for normal at this point.

I really like his BGs on day 5 of dose 15...327, 292, 322, 376, 368. Maybe he takes longer to fill a depot. I chatted with some other acro kitties moms and this can be the case. I just know he feels crappy with all the bouncing and NDW every 3 days, so I was trying to give him a break. It would have been an interesting experiment to leave him at 15 and treat with Zofran.
 
Krista, you’ve noticed a correlation between Cosequin and nausea? Pookey for the last handful of months has been slower eating in the PM, after I give Cosequin. I’ve just figured it’s later in the day and with the CKD more toxins have built up by then.

I hope he comes down for you more soon :bighug:
 
I've been trying to increase his dose for awhile. And now I can say for sure that every time I do increase to a full dose, he gets nausea and BG goes up with that side effect. He seems ok on half a dose (we've been opening up the capsules and saving the other half for the next day). Thank you. Hope you are great!
 
PP

Last night's high was all nausea. Every time I give him a full dose of Cosequin (he needs for both arthritis and urinary) he gets nauseas and BGs go up. I am going to need to try a different supplement. Suggestions?

My goal now is just purples without reds and blacks. He feels a lot better and walks better even in consistent purple. I'm not even aiming for normal at this point.

I really like his BGs on day 5 of dose 15...327, 292, 322, 376, 368. Maybe he takes longer to fill a depot. I chatted with some other acro kitties moms and this can be the case. I just know he feels crappy with all the bouncing and NDW every 3 days, so I was trying to give him a break. It would have been an interesting experiment to leave him at 15 and treat with Zofran.
I use Adored Beast Jump for Joynts. I noticed a difference in my cats using it.
 
I found Cosequin didn't do much for Neko. Acro arthritis can get pretty severe. We upgraded to hyaluronic acid drops (brand Hyaflex). My other cat also got it for his idiopathic cystitis. The dog version is the same as the cat version, just larger bottles. Since I had two cats on it, it was more economical.

Hyaflex was one of several things Neko got for her arthritis.
 
I found Cosequin didn't do much for Neko. Acro arthritis can get pretty severe. We upgraded to hyaluronic acid drops (brand Hyaflex). My other cat also got it for his idiopathic cystitis. The dog version is the same as the cat version, just larger bottles. Since I had two cats on it, it was more economical.

Hyaflex was one of several things Neko got for her arthritis.
I found a supplement with HA and glucosamine, but I've noticed they keep putting goats milk in cats supplements now. And that is basically sugar from what I read.
 
The one from Hyalogic only has saline as a second ingredient. My vet was picky about which HA to use, not all are created equal. If he can't handle Cosequin, I'd stay away from something with glucosamine.
 
The one from Hyalogic only has saline as a second ingredient. My vet was picky about which HA to use, not all are created equal. If he can't handle Cosequin, I'd stay away from something with glucosamine.
Ok. The glucosamine was important for his urinary tract because it converts into GAGs to coat the bladder in cystitis. He's so sensitive though that I am having difficulty going full dose on any of his supplements. I increased his fish oil tonight and he threw up.
 
I've been trying to secure it from some friends in Europe. Sometimes it's on Amazon, but the company said it's not FDA approved in the US so highly likely counterfeit on Amazon.
Some people pull together the supplements and make their own blend. You can find the ingredient amounts on the bottle. The missing element is a taste enhancer, I think, but I’m not sure that’s necessary. If you’ll search the FIC group, you’ll see where people have done this and might get some guidance.
 
Some people pull together the supplements and make their own blend. You can find the ingredient amounts on the bottle. The missing element is a taste enhancer, I think, but I’m not sure that’s necessary. If you’ll search the FIC group, you’ll see where people have done this and might get some guidance.
I did see that, but I have enough going on that I want it done for me lol
 
I did see that, but I have enough going on that I want it done for me lol
Sorry the cosequin is not working and you don’t trust the Cystease! It’s definitely trying when nothing seems to work and they are suffering. Cystophan is another option. IVe ordered it before, shipped from AUS, but reasonably priced.
 
Back
Top