8/2 Tiger Amps 381

Deb and Tiger

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-28-tiger-amps-390.292582/

I can’t believe it’s been 4 days since I posted but I’ve been busy trying to catch up around here. Tiger had his check up and sensor change on Tuesday. He checked out fine. The vet thinks the box was his problem. We will see but he does seem happier even playing a couple times with his toys. She also thinks his body is still adjusting to the dental procedure and wants us to hold his dose for 2 weeks. I just don’t think I can do that and am looking to increase this weekend as his numbers are too high. The sensor read higher by over a hundred to the human meter but very close to their vet/pet meter. Not sure what to believe anymore.

Have a great night everyone.
 
The sensor read higher by over a hundred to the human meter but very close to their vet/pet meter. Not sure what to believe anymore.
All three would have been "over 300" or just plain "too high". It doesn't really matter which one is "right". I'd be much more interested in how they compare under 100.

I absolutely agree with you that he needs an increase. He earned his reduction from 1.5 units to 1.25 units, but hasn't earned any reduction since then. A fat 0.75 is too low a dose.
 
Hi Deb, I’m glad to see Tiger is doing better. Nice to see he’s playing on your SS.
He does look like he needs an increase.
These vets all want our cats around 300. (They do not understand how closely we watch their numbers so they tell us to do that for safety). I’m sure most people outside of this forum don’t even test and don’t have a clue what’s happening with their diabetic cats.

I know a woman who has a diabetic cat and has never once tested and doesn’t own a glucometer of any kind. The cat’s been diabetic for years she just blindly shoots insulin. It gives me hives just thinking about how scary that is:nailbiting:

Sending hugs. Hope you have a nice weekend :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, thanks so much for the update! I am so relieved Tiger is better and peeing on the rug was just a complaint. I read somewhere in the forum, that a cat peed on a rug they bought from Pete Townshend from "The Who". :rolleyes: I hope your rug was more ordinary....

About the sensor: Maybe you saw that I was really upset about the difference I measured on thursday, around four hours after the new sensor was installed. It was more than 150 mg/dl off. I was sure, something went wrong and thought, that I have to bring Binie back to the vet the next day to install a new one. I remembered that Abbott says that the first 12 to 36 hours the numbers are not accurat but I thought, that so way off is a sign it is faulty.

The night from thursday to friday already looked quite normal and on friday I took some readings with the handheld, which have been all pretty close to the libre. I just took a reading now and the Libre was 271 and the handheld 277. Maybe directly after placing it is not the best time to test it. But of course I know, Tiger will not let you do it at home and very often they seem to work well from the beginning. If I look at his ss the numbers are pretty much consistent with the days before the change. So it seems everything is alright.

I wish you lots of luck with the increase! I am sure you will see better numbers soon! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, thanks so much for the update! I am so relieved Tiger is better and peeing on the rug was just a complaint. I read somewhere in the forum, that a cat peed on a rug they bought from Pete Townshend from "The Who". :rolleyes: I hope your rug was more ordinary....

About the sensor: Maybe you saw that I was really upset about the difference I measured on thursday, around four hours after the new sensor was installed. It was more than 150 mg/dl off. I was sure, something went wrong and thought, that I have to bring Binie back to the vet the next day to install a new one. I remembered that Abbott says that the first 12 to 36 hours the numbers are not accurat but I thought, that so way off is a sign it is faulty.

The night from thursday to friday already looked quite normal and on friday I took some readings with the handheld, which have been all pretty close to the libre. I just took a reading now and the Libre was 271 and the handheld 277. Maybe directly after placing it is not the best time to test it. But of course I know, Tiger will not let you do it at home and very often they seem to work well from the beginning. If I look at his ss the numbers are pretty much consistent with the days before the change. So it seems everything is alright.

I wish you lots of luck with the increase! I am sure you will see better numbers soon! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Actually they always test the old one they are removing as the new one doesn’t work for an hour and by then he’s already home. But thanks for the reminder as to how wonky they are the first day.
 
Looks like we’re all in agreement he needs an increase. I just wanted everything to settle down, teeth, inflammation, depot, eating (which is still on and off) before I raised it. I was surprised the vet told hubby to hold it that long.
 
Back
Top