8/2 Simon AMPS 285 +6 - 55!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon'sMommy

Very Active Member
He had a nice green number before bed last night so not surprised that he bounced a little although the last few mornings have been low and in blue territory. His pancreas is definitely making an appearance lately, although when is unpredictable making this so frustrating! :YMSIGH:
 
He is at 55 right now. He is eating but I am wondering if this warrants giving him gravy food or karo...or just feed his low carb FF and see where he is?
 
He is now at 66 and rising...and purring...and sweet and happy and feeling great. He ate well. :mrgreen:

Taking the 911 down!
 
If he'd thrown the 55 at +3, you might've needed to steer, otherwise, it was after the likely nadir and he was already on his way up.

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using a human glucometer:

< 40 mg/dL
- Treat as if HYPO
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50.
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

180 - 280 mg/dL
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
That 55 at the nadir is ok, like BJM said. No need to reach for the gravy food or karo unless he was in the 40's at that point in the cycle.

Here is something Marje said a while back in advising Bernadette about Tashie. Nice little lesson so I saved it to share with people.
Lesson One...Feeding Low Numbers

The other day, we fed Tashie HC at 54 @+3.5. Usually we say, feed LC unless they are below 50. But....there are exceptions:
• a fast drop to a lower number
• a new kitty with little data and a nervous caregiver
• a low number really early in the cycle

Take a look at Gabbys SS. Gabby generally has an early nadir and likes to drop early and fast. You can see how Sienne uses HC with her to slow her down.

The goal in a newly dx cat (dx less than one year) is NOT to prevent a reduction; it's to keep them safe and try to minimize the bounce that comes with a really fast and steep drop.

If you get a 54 midcycle from a glide down, you would use LC food. You will also learn what Tashie reacts to best. For instance, I used alot of HC gravy, food, karo when Gracie was newly dx and on Lantus. But then I figured out she responded really great to 10% food. I never use HC or gravy and restrict the use of karo to really really low numbers (20s/low 30s) when I want her up fast. ECID...learn what Tashie responds to and use what she needs.

If you get a 54 late cycle, you might not need to feed OR a tiny bit (1 tsp) of LC might work beautifully. So consider:

1. How fast is she dropping
2. Where is the number in the cycle
3. How does she respond

And lastly....feed the 40s. If you get a 40s number at PS, do not feed, retest in 15 mins. If she is not above 50, feed 1 small tsp LC and retest in 20 mins. In the meantime, you will be posting and asking for help
 
I only fed him his normal low carb. He is an on demand feeder anyway so it was not out of the ordinary. This was only the second or third time Simon saw the 50's so I got a little nudgy..LOL

His normal green numbers are 60's-80's, not 50! He ate a few tbsp. of low carb (4%) and came right up in half an hour and/or was back on the upswing anyway as it was after nadir time.

Tonight, he bounced but not too badly. He is at 274 for his PMPS! Giving him 2.25 instead of 2.5 as he goes lower at night and I don't want him going too low if I am asleep.

AMPS 285
+6 55
+6.5 66
PMPS 274 :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top