Re: 8/2 Shadow AMPS 80 +1~71
Rhiannon
Her SS looks amazing!!
Ok...so today is your 12th cycle at this .9 dose and no stalling, etc.
She has been to 51/50 on this dose...so close a reduction but not quite. I think she is doing great and I do not see her stagnating. Normal is normal and she does not know the difference between 50 and 100
For a newly diagnosed cat, you need to reduce her according to the protocol once she is at this dose 7 days as long as she keeps doing what she's doing. The point is to get to remission, right? So give her the chance. I know you are worried about reducing and she fails it and you have to take her up. We all deal with that...no one likes to lose momentum. But I have a feeling that is not going to happen here.
It's being too aggressive for a newly diagnosed cat to go over seven days in these numbers and then also wait for her to go under 50. The depot CAN get ahead of you. A cat left at a dose too long can start throwing inverted curves. So I would take her down after the 7 days...again as long as she keeps giving you these awesome green numbers.
And, for a newly diagnosed cat, one method is not better than the other. You get to a reduction either way and whichever comes first is what you need to go by.
To give you an example....for a long term diabetic, they can earn a reduction with the numbers in the normal range of 7 days, going below 40 once, or going below 50 three times on separate days. CG's don't get to pick which one they want to do...whichever comes first, is when the cat gets the reduction.
I've got to feed Grace but I'll fiind the "good glycemic control" for you later.