8/2 Onyx - AMPS 440, +4 464, +7 397

Status
Not open for further replies.

Onyx & Klepto

Member Since 2013
Hi Everyone.

Not a good day with Onyx. She's barely eating, extremely lethargic, and now hiding under the bed, which she hasn't done for days.

Feeling very helpless and sad today.

:sad:
 
Brandi, I'm sorry to hear Onyx is having a bad day. Since you've just increased, maybe the PM shot will start to bring things down more and help her feel better. Hugs . . .
 
Brandi --

Can you stalk Onyx to the litter box and get a ketone test?

With the loss of appetite, high numbers and lethargy, I'm concerned that Onyx may be developing ketones. It's possible that her numbers are related to an undiagnosed infection or inflammation. (Miko is going through the same thing.) Do you notice an odor of acetone (smells like nail polish remover) on Onyx's breath. If you do, it's a trip to the ER. If more than trace ketones are present, it requires immediate treatment.

If you don't have Ketostix, you can get them at any pharmacy. You stick a strip in your cat's urine stream so the paper on the end of the stream is wet with urine. You wait 15 seconds and compare the paper to the color guide on the container.
 
Thanks Sienne and Amy. I think a good hug--and cry--is exactly what I need today. I'm really hoping with the dose increase I see the numbers drop a bit tomorrow. My gut was telling me she might need a .5 increase instead of .25, since the only 3 times she's had in the 200's this past week was the HIGH 200's. We'll see.

Amy, yes, I've been really nervous about the keytones as well. The keytone sticks always say negative, but the Nova Max Plus blood test has been back and forth all week between .5 and .6...which supposedly is normal, according to the box. I really hope there's not an infection going on that's getting in the way of the insulin. That would really suck. Before she was diagnosed a few weeks ago, I'd had her to the vet 3 times in a month for an upper respiratory issue...along with the alleged allergy stuff. He'd given her a steroid at the time, no antibiotic. She's just sooooo sad today and it's breaking my heart. She did finally come out from under the bed though to get a drink. I've been making sure she drinks at least every 2 hours all week, which hasn't been a problem. Today is the first day she hasn't eaten much though. I"ll be doing her PMPS soon.

Thanks, Ladies. I sure hope you're both having a better night than we are. But I'm sure tomorrow will be a much better day.

:smile:
 
Sending hugs to you Brandi. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

It can be so difficult when we see our sugarkitties are not feeling well.

You can cry on our shoulders all you want to. We understand.
 
Awe, thank you so much, Deb. I appreciate the hugs and shoulder so much.

Sometimes I think when you're all by yourself with no one to talk to about what's going on, it makes it so much worse. Maybe it's time I get a boyfriend...lol.

:smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile:
 
Would you be comfortable asking the vet for an antibiotic? If this is allergy, there are some options for that, as well, that don't involve steroids.

I also think if the numbers don't start moving, we can be a bit more aggressive with the dose.
 
That might not be a bad idea, Sienne. My vet is closed over the weekend, so I'll give him a call Monday morning. Hopefully we start to see changes in her numbers tomorrow, but if not, I'm definitely on board for being more aggressive.

I'll give you guys an update tomorrow after I do her AMPS at 11:00 EST.

Thanks again, Ladies!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top