8/2 Nikki PMBG 35; +3 42; +4 42

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexis & Nikki (GA)

Member Since 2013
Our most recent condo

Whoa. Nikki missed 4 shots while I had to be out of town for 2 days because my sitter can't test and she's been coming down the dosing scale pretty rapidly. I was hoping to come back to something not super high but instead I get a number that isn't shootable?! I tested twice, we're at about +59 right now. Not sure what time she last ate today.

I wanted to put her back on .75u tonight and keep her on the insulin to support her pancreas until we got to an OTJ trail (god willing). Now I'm not sure what to do?? Thoughts?

ETA: I just tested on my backup meter and she was at 35 so it's accurate... :shock:
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest) - advice?

It looks like Nikki may have started an OTJ trial without you, considering how long she's gone without insulin and kept her BG down so low! I don't have experience with OTJ trials but hopefully someone else can advise you soon. I don't think ANYONE would shoot in the 30s.
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest) - advice?

I definitely wouldn't shoot the 30's! :-D I'm so, so happy, but a bit worried as we only started getting good numbers about a week ago. Not sure if I should feed, see where she is in 2 hours and then maybe resume insulin?
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest) - advice?

Sorry, I can't advise dosing, either, too new. How is she acting? Have you fed her anything at this level?

I would suggest that you re-edit your Posting title & ask for HELP - also use the question mark button - it may help to draw people in. I'll see if I can get someone over to help you, too
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest) - advice?

She hasn't had insulin for 2 days, so it's not a hypo, thank god! :-D

I will go back and add the question mark, how quickly I forgot! :lol: ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest) - advice?

Yeah...Nobody would shoot a 30....and if Nikki were on insulin, you'd be reducing anyway, so I agree with Amy....Nikki decided to go ahead and start without you :-D

Feed your normal meal, retest at +2 or +3, see where you're at. If you don't get a huge bounce, or don't start seeing numbers creeping back up, might be best to just thank the Diabetes Gods and see how it goes!

Good luck!! Doing great so far!!
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest) - advice?

She got food. I had her feeder set for what would have been +52 and +57, so she had at least 2 tbs of food about 2 hours ago.

Interestingly, I only left the 2-4% carb food while I was gone. Maybe I need to cut anything above 5% out of her diet at this point.
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest) - advice?

Should I be worried about her tonight? Is there enough left in her depot to make this a hypo situation? I'm not sure whether to be freaking out or calm! :lol:
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest); +60 36 - advice?

Nikki's Mom said:
Should I be worried about her tonight? Is there enough left in her depot to make this a hypo situation? I'm not sure whether to be freaking out or calm! :lol:

Again, I'm pretty new & I'd not want to take advice from me ohmygod_smile , but here's the sticky on the Lantus & Levemir Depot: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150 That should tell you the depot time frame, etc.

If it were my cat though, I agree with Sienne - I'd feed a little & keep testing every 30 minutes & stay on top of the situation.

Sending calming vines - you're doing great!
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest); +60 36 - advice?

No insulin = No hypo

Without adding extra, Nikki will either drain the depot, or her pancreas has kicked in and is acting normally. You may sleep tonight!!

Lucky you :-D
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest); +60 36 - advice?

Well, technically the depot hasn't drained, so there is still SOME insulin. It's just a question of how much I guess at this point. I am SO, SO glad I had my sitter skip her shots though!

Now see whether this low starts a bounce or not.... confused_cat
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest); +60 36 - advice?

I guess what I meant was no added insulin on top of what's already in the depot. He's been doing so great! We all hope he continues!

I'm happy your sitter didn't give it too! If Nikki is in the 30's without it, it could have been tragic.

You're doing great!
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest); +60 36 - advice?

I had a feeling the way she'd been earning reductions that skipping was the way to go. I'm sure glad I did! :mrgreen:

And right now she looks fine, so hopefully I won't need to get crazy tonight. :-D
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest); +60 36 - advice?

Well Nikki!! What a way to welcome mom home!

So...Chris is right. She can't hypo. But the depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles and I've actually seen one cat where it was more. So I'd do as Sienne suggests and feed. And I'd also do a bit of a food trial for a couple days. I think Chris gave you the info. Feed her at her normal shot times and then test at +3. If you can also feed at a.m. +9 and then test her at her normal shot time, feed, and test at +3, it will let us know if Mr. P is in the house still.

Paws crossed!
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki +59 26 (31 retest); +60 36 - advice?

Thanks! I knew we might be headed this direction but didn't think it would happen after 2 days of no insulin!

I can set her feeder so she eats at her +9 times. I'm looking for her BG to come back down 3 hours after food, right?
 
Re: 8/2 Nikki PMBG 35; +3 42

Yes, if her BG comes down 3 hours after food, that means her pancreas is working to produce insulin.

Hoping this trend continues. :-D
 
We'll see how she goes! Apparently she didn't read the handbook. AGAIN! :twisted: :lol:

So far she's pretty flat after eating. I'm trying to pretend all is normal. :? nailbite_smile

Thanks to all for the advice and visits! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top