8/2 Nadia PMPS=73 Low pre-shot and leaving! What should I do

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liz4Paws

Member Since 2013
Hi LL!

I had the day off of work for some "me" time due to some major stresses going on in my life, Nadia's diabetes being one of the many. Well, she had pretty high numbers during the day, but started dropping at the +10 mark. Seemed good to me, I love the blues and greens.

Well, interestingly enough, we got some wonderful news today that put most of the non feline diabetes stresses in my life obsolete! Because of this, DH and I made reservations at a nice restaurant to go celebrate! Well, we want to but tonight her PMPS is at 73!!! WHOA!

Gah!!! Should I cancel my reservations? Should I feed her and still go? She's on the 6th cycle of her dose reduction to .5u already. And our reservations are for +30 minutes after her PM shot and I would imagine we'd be back no later than +2. What would you do if you were me?? Any advice?
 
Re: 8/2 Nadia PMPS=73 Low pre-shot and leaving! What should

That's hard to answer since you've never shot anywhere near this low before, and it's not clear right now whether she's still dropping or not. If you had shot numbers like this before, it would be easier to tell how she would react and safer to say go ahead and shoot as long as you're back quickly and leave food out.

One option, and only you can decide whether it's best for you right now or not, is to stall the shot until you get home since you said it should be only two hours after the usual shot time. If you do that it will throw your shot schedule out by two hours and you'll need to adjust the next shot times to gradually get back on schedule.

I hope you get to enjoy your celebration one way or the other :-D
 
Re: 8/2 Nadia PMPS=73 Low pre-shot and leaving! What should

Thanks everyone! I'm going to skip. Thankfully this board came back up just in time!!! She's eating a giant meal of LC food right now. But should I still worry about her going into hypo with NO shot and leaving her with these dropping numbers?
 
Re: 8/2 Nadia PMPS=73 Low pre-shot and leaving! What should

No insulin, no hypo. Just leave food out so she can graze while you're gone.
 
Re: 8/2 Nadia PMPS=73 Low pre-shot and leaving! What should

Thank you thank you thank you! I'm so relieved! I'm REALLY going to enjoy tonight! Thanks everyone!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top