Rebecca & Max (GA)
Member Since 2020
Last post 7/31
Max's numbers have been pretty good for the last few cycles. On 7/30, I shot a half dose (0.75U) because I didn't want Max to drop too low during the night when I knew I couldn't monitor him (rather than totally skip as he'd kept me up the night before threatening a hypo). To my surprise, Max surfed and then climbed into the lemon tree.
I decided to shoot a skinny 1.5U on 7/31 for his AM shot just to see how he'd react, and he surfed the WHOLE day! Shot another skinny 1.5U at PM shot, and he dropped to 65 (+4) then 64 (+5) even after eating in between +4 and +5, and before his normal nadir. He then bounced up to 282 by +8 and was 401 by AMPS read. Figured the skinny doses bit me in the butt.
Gave him his regular 1.5U dose 8/1, and he surfed all day again! Another lower PMPS read had me cautious still. Me staying up all night a few nights ago is still affecting me, and I'm shutting off alarms and going back to sleep rather than getting up and testing Max! I decided to shoot a 1U (so a bit over 3/4 dose) last night, and Max surfed in the two tests I got, then settled into the lemon tree again. I decided to see how he'd do at 1.25U at his AM shot since I stopped him from dropping below 50 twice (which would mean a dose reduction). He went from the lemon tree to the green bean patch (is that what some have called the greens?).
I am not really sure if the numbers mean Max's pancreas is starting to work a little bit, or am I manipulating his levels by the dose decreases and increases? I don't want to really keep decreasing his PM shot, but I also know I'm just too exhausted right now still, come bedtime, to wake up every 1-2 hours. Shot time is still 12:30 AM-ish, so bedtime is around 1:30 AM as the other cat and the dogs think they need to get fed and get ear stick treats as well when Max does. I try to go to bed ASAP after giving Max his shot, but something always gets in the way of that. I don't expect Max to be very high at his PMPS test, as it appears as if he's bouncing again (no clear nadir), so unsure of what tonight's plan will be after his PMPS read...
Max's numbers have been pretty good for the last few cycles. On 7/30, I shot a half dose (0.75U) because I didn't want Max to drop too low during the night when I knew I couldn't monitor him (rather than totally skip as he'd kept me up the night before threatening a hypo). To my surprise, Max surfed and then climbed into the lemon tree.
I decided to shoot a skinny 1.5U on 7/31 for his AM shot just to see how he'd react, and he surfed the WHOLE day! Shot another skinny 1.5U at PM shot, and he dropped to 65 (+4) then 64 (+5) even after eating in between +4 and +5, and before his normal nadir. He then bounced up to 282 by +8 and was 401 by AMPS read. Figured the skinny doses bit me in the butt.
Gave him his regular 1.5U dose 8/1, and he surfed all day again! Another lower PMPS read had me cautious still. Me staying up all night a few nights ago is still affecting me, and I'm shutting off alarms and going back to sleep rather than getting up and testing Max! I decided to shoot a 1U (so a bit over 3/4 dose) last night, and Max surfed in the two tests I got, then settled into the lemon tree again. I decided to see how he'd do at 1.25U at his AM shot since I stopped him from dropping below 50 twice (which would mean a dose reduction). He went from the lemon tree to the green bean patch (is that what some have called the greens?).
I am not really sure if the numbers mean Max's pancreas is starting to work a little bit, or am I manipulating his levels by the dose decreases and increases? I don't want to really keep decreasing his PM shot, but I also know I'm just too exhausted right now still, come bedtime, to wake up every 1-2 hours. Shot time is still 12:30 AM-ish, so bedtime is around 1:30 AM as the other cat and the dogs think they need to get fed and get ear stick treats as well when Max does. I try to go to bed ASAP after giving Max his shot, but something always gets in the way of that. I don't expect Max to be very high at his PMPS test, as it appears as if he's bouncing again (no clear nadir), so unsure of what tonight's plan will be after his PMPS read...