8/2 Max AMPS 276

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
I took Max back to the vet for a BP recheck. Last week it was 170, this week it was 180. He’s on Amlodipine 1.25 mg bid and Enalapril 2.5 mg qd. Max’s primary vet is on vacation until Friday. Not sure why they made me come today. Anyway, the vet who was there did not feel comfortable changing his meds and said to keep doing what I was doing until his regular vet is back on Friday. I tried everything I knew to do. We played nature music in the car, sprayed Feliway spray on a towel and covered his carrier (he likes it that way) and we waited in the car until they had a room open. I even gave him some Gabapentin this morning. Anyway he seemed pretty chill until when we walked in. A big dog was barking, the vet tech shaved a spot on his tail again (not sure why that was necessary again) and it was noisy…so it was scary for him again. I guess we just have to wait and see again. I wish he could have seen his vet. I need to know where to buy the Doppler type BP monitoring for a cat. Anybody know? @tiffmaxee I have tried the cheaper BP cuff Tanya’s site mentioned on amazon. It is not accurate so I returned it a while ago.

Also I’m considering a little increase in the Lev dose. Those greens are high greens he had and some good blue numbers but the bouncing is out of control again. I’m thinking an increase may flatten him out, but it also could make the bouncing worse so I’m thinking about it.
 
I also put a couple drops of Rescue Remedy for Pets on a treat and gave that to Neko before her vetty visits. Any dog action/noise drove her BP up at least 40 points. :eek: We'd get into a quiet room and stay there for at least 10 minutes before the tech came in with the Doppler BP machine. And her fluffy tail never needed shaving.

Would be nice to get the pinks out of the picture.
 
@Max & Lori, I am late seeing this, but I thought I would throw this out there. The Tanya's website does recommend the Parks Model 841-A, https://www.parksmed.com/products/non-directional-dopplers/ $700 new. But there was another one, the Vet-Dop2, also used by vets, https://www.vmedtechnology.com/vet-dop.htm. This is the one I think my vet clinic uses and there is a video demonstration on my link. My Tiger never had her tail shaved, in fact I am certain our vet used her leg. They had the room flooded with Feliway, low lights and I swear soft music for BP checks.

I'm so sorry it was so stressful for poor Max at the vet. I hate when there are barking dogs present, no offense to dog owners!:rolleyes:
 
@Max & Lori, I am late seeing this, but I thought I would throw this out there. The Tanya's website does recommend the Parks Model 841-A, https://www.parksmed.com/products/non-directional-dopplers/ $700 new. But there was another one, the Vet-Dop2, also used by vets, https://www.vmedtechnology.com/vet-dop.htm. This is the one I think my vet clinic uses and there is a video demonstration on my link. My Tiger never had her tail shaved, in fact I am certain our vet used her leg. They had the room flooded with Feliway, low lights and I swear soft music for BP checks.

I'm so sorry it was so stressful for poor Max at the vet. I hate when there are barking dogs present, no offense to dog owners!:rolleyes:

Thanks Ruth! I’ve actually sent an email inquiring about the Vet-Dop 2. I know these are quite expensive but I think it would be nice to have, since it seems like it’s completely useless to keep taking him to the vet to get it done. It looks like this product comes with the sphygmomanometer as well. I was confused about what to get with the Parks Doppler. It looks like it was the Doppler only and I didn’t know what else I needed to go with it.

I’ve even asked the vets office if someone would come to the car and check it but they won’t. :rolleyes: Thanks for your help!
 
Back
Top