8/2 Kasha AMPS 81 PMPS 66 Dental - advice on shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
She's not eating a lot - had about 1 Tbsp breakfst, maybe a tsp or so snk at +9 (although I left the food out and it was gone this morning - not sure if she finished it or Blue did). Still sneezes.

Played with a piece of plastic seal from a supplement bottle this morning. I let her chew on the plastic a bit, even though I hate it - she was enjoying it so much.

I'm feeling pretty bad - yesterday was a hard day... lots of tears and emotional pain on the relationship front again. Apparently things are just going to end painfully. Now I have a headache from crying and I'm going btb for a while.

Yesterday
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81

Krys, I'm very sorry that you are having a hard time in regards to your personal life..I completely understand, I've been there myself, but remember, things will get better and whatever heart ache you have will go away. You just got to pick yourself up and dust yourself off and don't look back! It may take a while, but it does get better! Feel free to PM me if you need someone to talk to.

I'm haven't had a chance to go back and read Kasha's last few condos but I'm sorry that she isn't eating well. She did eat a little, and maybe just offer her several small meals throughout the day. If she eats all of them, she is still getting the nutrients she needs. I hope she stops sneezing soon tho, I'm sure that is a big stresser to you also.
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81

((((Krys)))) on the bright side - and there's always a bright side, Kasha is doing very well.

Relationships can suck, big time, been there, done that, but you will pick up the pieces and move on, it hurts, yes, but you will be a better, stronger person in the end.

(((((big hugz)))) to you. Take good care.
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81

I'm sorry you're having such a horrible time of it, pm me if you want to vent about it or cry about it.
We're all hear for you.
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81

Look at Kasha's number here!!! Reason to Celebrate!!--The Heck with anything else....
Please know that love backwards spells evol--That can be evil or evolve-It's quite a word..
No one is worth your tears.. Big Hugs~!!
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81 Dental tomorrow - advice on shot?

Thanks for your support, everyone... I'm just feeling really down today.

Kasha gets her dental tomorrow. They told me to do everything as normal (feed/shoot) but I'm wondering if I should skinny her dose or not. Her current dose is just about touching the first ("0") line. I take her in to the vet in the morning, but she won't get the actual dental till afternoon (after +7). Advice?

I thought she had a seizure today and I panicked. She was lying in her bed on her side and started to twitch until she rolled over... and then scratched her chin with her hind foot. Duh. Blue had one of those "seizures" too, except his happen when he tries to scratch his head with his non-existent hind foot (and then I run over to provide some help).

Kasha's walking around crying and sniffing cuz I'm cooking some chicken for her.
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81 Dental tomorrow - advice on shot?

Kasha and Shadow will both have their teefus cleaned tomorrow! :mrgreen:
I am awaiting dosing suggestions in my condo as we speak!
Hope you guys have a good day today....keep your chin up kiddo! Better days are coming!!!

Beautiful AMPS Kasha! Good luck tomorrow! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81 Dental tomorrow - advice on shot?

Hi Krys,

I've sent out a note for someone to pop in tonight, so please do check back ok?

Do you have everything you need to know for dental tomorrow?
Ask for whatever else you may need to know.

Hope you feel better soon.
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81 Dental tomorrow - advice on shot?

My vet has me skip the shot. That's what I've seen here or that it's been recommended to give half of the usual dose. Anesthesia can drop BG levels. I'm really surprised that your vet is recommending that you give any insulin.

See what others have to say.
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81 Dental tomorrow - advice on shot?

Ronnie & Luna said:
Hi Krys,

I've sent out a note for someone to pop in tonight, so please do check back ok?

Do you have everything you need to know for dental tomorrow?
Ask for whatever else you may need to know.

Hope you feel better soon.

Hi - I have everything else I need to know for the vet except the shot info. I dug up some dental info that Sienne had posted somewhere and my vet tech confirmed that they are using all the approved meds, etc... I insisted on no Metacam so they should be using bupe instead.

Now, I just want to repeat that my instructions are to feed and shoot AS NORMAL the night and morning of the dental... per my vet tech. She does NOT want me to fast Kasha. And Kasha will not be getting the actual sedation till around +7 or after. I'm going to send along some food, but they doubt she'll eat there.
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81 Dental tomorrow - advice on shot?

Sienne and Gabby said:
My vet has me skip the shot. That's what I've seen here or that it's been recommended to give half of the usual dose. Anesthesia can drop BG levels. I'm really surprised that your vet is recommending that you give any insulin.

See what others have to say.

Sienne - does your vet have you fast your kitty before the procedure? I'm wondering if my instructions to FEED as normal evening and morning are why they suggest I still shoot. They said they used to fast the cats before the procedure, but that they found the cats were too prone to hypoglycemia when fasted.
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81 Dental tomorrow - advice on shot?

ok, here is what I did for Spot...I was told not to give him anything to eat or drink after midnight and then to give him his regular dose of insulin. Of course, he was only on a small dose, so that may have had something to do with it.
 
I think this was her lowest ever preshot... Hmmm... Of course this happens before her dental tomorrow...

She wasn't hungry, of course. She did eat about 2 tsp snack around +9. And she nibbled during the day, of course. I'm not sure how much she ate at dinner cuz I got frustrated and force fed her 1 Tbsp Wellness after she picked at her FF for a bit. I've discovered that the paste-like texture of Wellness works well for sticking in the roof of her mouth and she generally doesn't spit it out. FF does NOT work for this maneuver. She complains and pushes at my hands, but not with much conviction (like when I try to pill her).

Poor girl...

I'm considering measuring on the first line (0 line) for her morning dose (instead of just touching it) - that way it will be a little less than normal, but more than nothing. Any opinions?
 
are u shooting tonight? if so, please get a +1 to start.

I'm not too sure about the morning thou - but hopefully you'll get your answer by the end of the nite.
 
My vet had me shoot as normal the night before and no food after midnight. No insulin in the AM.

I really do not understand why they think it's OK to feed in the AM. Anesthesia slows gastric motility. If there's food in the GI track, you risk vomiting and aspiration. Can I suggest you post on Health and maybe one of the vet techs will reply.
 
Re: 8/2 Kasha AMPS 81 Dental tomorrow - advice on shot?

kryskat said:
Sienne - does your vet have you fast your kitty before the procedure? I'm wondering if my instructions to FEED as normal evening and morning are why they suggest I still shoot. They said they used to fast the cats before the procedure, but that they found the cats were too prone to hypoglycemia when fasted.

My vet also said I could feed in the morning before the dental. This was for a civvie so insulin was not a factor. My vet said that cat metabolisms are fast and she would not be under sedation for very long... as long as I fed (lightly) about 3 hours before the appointment my kittie would be fine. In their experience this works fine... fasting for 12 hours is not really necessary. I was a little concerned since this no-fasting thing was new to me, but it was not a problem.

I'm only repeating what my vet said and what I did for my civvie. Not saying what you should or should not do....

edited to add: My vet is young and graduated at top of her class. Maybe this is a newer thing?
 
I'm sure your decision will depend on the numbers in the morning. Maybe because they know they'll be doing the surgery later in the day, it's not as necessary to fast overnight. Just a guess, I really have no idea. With such a tiny dose of insulin, I can't imagine that it would do any harm to skip the shot in the morning, but let the number help you decide.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top