8/2 Karamelle AMPS 62 +1 75 +2 70 +4 27 +5 109 +6 41 +7 40 +8 41 +9 41 +10 116 +11 112 PMBG 80 skip shot +2 50 +4 165 +9 156

JoM

Member Since 2023
8/1 Karamelle AMPS 188 +2 224 +4 178 +6 143 +7 186 +9 140 PMPS 194 +2 271 +6 141 +9 99 +10 105

@Marje and Gracie and @Staci & Ivy Thanks for answering my plea this morning. As I mentioned to Staci, my brain just becomes scrambled in these situations and everything I may have "learned" is just stored away in some unknown place. Good news is she didnt actually drop below 50 and its come up some since AMPS. Since she doesnt seem to like anything except pate, which generally seems to be lower in carbs, I just have to find the highest I can and feed her small amounts more frequently I guess. In the early am I fed her at +6 -5.3%, +9 - 9.7% and +11 - 4% (before I saw the message about not feeding her then. She only ate 7 grams before I snatched it away).
I guess when I posted and it was +10 and Id just tested, I was wanted to know how close to AMPS I could actually feed her, just the 4%. I knew when I posted that by the time you answered and then I got the food ready it would be closer to 1 1/2 hours to AMPS. But my half asleep brain, when I didnt hear back instantly just said, go back to sleep.
So thats what Im dealing with in the morning. A brain that at the best of times doesnt function well anymore (believe me Ive had it checked with a brain scan, Dr, says its normal aging, sigh), but at 6:30 am, its pretty non-functional. Thats why I need some sort of set thing I need to do.
 
Last edited:
8/1 Karamelle AMPS 188 +2 224 +4 178 +6 143 +7 186 +9 140 PMPS 194 +2 271 +6 141 +9 99 +10 105

@Marje and Gracie and @Staci & Ivy Thanks for answering my plea this morning. As I mentioned to Staci, my brain just becomes scrambled in these situations and everything I may have "learned" is just stored away in some unknown place. Good news is she didnt actually drop below 50 and its come up some since AMPS. Since she doesnt seem to like anything except pate, which generally seems to be lower in carbs, I just have to find the highest I can and feed her small amounts more frequently I guess. In the early am I fed her at +6 -5.3%, +9 - 9.7% and +11 - 4% (before I saw the message about not feeding her then. She only ate 7 grams before I snatched it away).
I guess when I posted and it was +10 and Id just tested, I was wanted to know how close to AMPS I could actually feed her, just the 4%. I knew when I posted that by the time you answered and then I got the food ready it would be closer to 1 1/2 hours to AMPS. But my half asleep brain, when I didnt hear back instantly just said, go back to sleep.
So thats what Im dealing with in the morning. A brain that at the best of times doesnt function well anymore (believe me Ive had it checked with a brain scan, Dr, says its normal aging, sigh), but at 6:30 am, its pretty non-functional. Thats why I need some sort of set thing I need to do.
I get it. Same over here 💕💕💕
I replied to your previous post on options for carbs (to add Karo syrup??)
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
8/1 Karamelle AMPS 188 +2 224 +4 178 +6 143 +7 186 +9 140 PMPS 194 +2 271 +6 141 +9 99 +10 105

@Marje and Gracie and @Staci & Ivy Thanks for answering my plea this morning. As I mentioned to Staci, my brain just becomes scrambled in these situations and everything I may have "learned" is just stored away in some unknown place. Good news is she didnt actually drop below 50 and its come up some since AMPS. Since she doesnt seem to like anything except pate, which generally seems to be lower in carbs, I just have to find the highest I can and feed her small amounts more frequently I guess. In the early am I fed her at +6 -5.3%, +9 - 9.7% and +11 - 4% (before I saw the message about not feeding her then. She only ate 7 grams before I snatched it away).
I guess when I posted and it was +10 and Id just tested, I was wanted to know how close to AMPS I could actually feed her, just the 4%. I knew when I posted that by the time you answered and then I got the food ready it would be closer to 1 1/2 hours to AMPS. But my half asleep brain, when I didnt hear back instantly just said, go back to sleep.
So thats what Im dealing with in the morning. A brain that at the best of times doesnt function well anymore (believe me Ive had it checked with a brain scan, Dr, says its normal aging, sigh), but at 6:30 am, its pretty non-functional. Thats why I need some sort of set thing I need to do.
You can always write it down to help you. If she’s lower at +10, you want to stick with LC food. Don’t shoot anything below 50. Feed her higher carb food at AMPS if she’s in the 50-80 range so you can get her up a bit before she onsets around +3 or so.

I found with Gracie and Levemir that I still had to front load her food (usually LC) before she onset at +4. If you can find a good 10% that she will eat and feed that consistently in the PS, +1, +2 timeframe, it might help her.
 
If you can find a good 10% that she will eat and feed that consistently in the PS, +1, +2 timeframe, it might help her.
Yeah, thats the big problem at the moment. I cant find a 10% food she will eat. I will keep looking for one.
Just tried to feed her at +2 and she wouldnt eat at all. Tried 3 different foods. Ended up shoving some in her mouth. She will usually always eat the 4% which is the Weruva chicken hydrating pate. I didnt try that just now tho. Im trying the ones I bought that are higher. I put it all in the notes on the SS.
I could test at +10 in the morning if she is 50-80 at +9, then feed LC. Although looking at this morning, I started the feeding at +6 because she had dropped from 271 at +2 to 141 at +6. If the 5% worked it was short lived because she was down at +9 (to 99) so I gave her the highest I had that I knew she would eat, which was 9.7%, she was up to 105 at +10. Should have just fed her again I guess, even tho you said feed between 50-80, because at AMPS she was 62.
If I hadnt fed her at all, since she never dropped below 80 until AMPS, I dont know where she would have ended up this morning.
 
Yeah, thats the big problem at the moment. I cant find a 10% food she will eat. I will keep looking for one.
Just tried to feed her at +2 and she wouldnt eat at all. Tried 3 different foods. Ended up shoving some in her mouth. She will usually always eat the 4% which is the Weruva chicken hydrating pate. I didnt try that just now tho. Im trying the ones I bought that are higher. I put it all in the notes on the SS.
I could test at +10 in the morning if she is 50-80 at +9, then feed LC. Although looking at this morning, I started the feeding at +6 because she had dropped from 271 at +2 to 141 at +6. If the 5% worked it was short lived because she was down at +9 (to 99) so I gave her the highest I had that I knew she would eat, which was 9.7%, she was up to 105 at +10. Should have just fed her again I guess, even tho you said feed between 50-80, because at AMPS she was 62.
If I hadnt fed her at all, since she never dropped below 80 until AMPS, I dont know where she would have ended up this morning.
It’s good you are learning how to handle her curves and what can work.

I’ve been seeing members mention the Lamb Burgini. I don’t know who makes it but sounds like it might be 8-10% carbs?
 
It’s good you are learning how to handle her curves and what can work.

I’ve been seeing members mention the Lamb Burgini. I don’t know who makes it but sounds like it might be 8-10% carbs?
The Lamb Burgini is 7.6%ME. I did try it and she ate it once, but then it wasnt as good the next time, sigh. Im not entirely sure Im learning anything at all, but just using my intuition at the time with what small amount of brain capacity I have in the middle of the night. But I do know what she likes and I do see patterns now with all the extra testing. I meant to test at +3 but of course I was cleaning up all the mess the critters make in my yard and filling the water bowls and watering some potted plants and completely passed by +3, so I'll see what she is at +4 and go from there.
 
Good grief! She is being such a drama queen. I’m glad you got her up right away.

Looks like she will get a few extra meals today.
Yeah, she didnt like this dose at all. I havent used any more honey, but so far the food hasnt raised it above 50. I just gave her some Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers but theres some question as to whether the pate is actually higher carb. I guess the next test will determine that I suppose. Shes acting perfectly fine, as usual. I just hope PMPS is up enough to shoot. Id prefer also to not have to test every hour all night long.
 
Oh Jo what a day you’ve had!! If it was Khloe and the food wasn’t raising her above 50, I’d pull out the honey.
I really hope your night is better than today!! 🍀🍀🍀🍀
 
Yeah, she didnt like this dose at all. I havent used any more honey, but so far the food hasnt raised it above 50. I just gave her some Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers but theres some question as to whether the pate is actually higher carb. I guess the next test will determine that I suppose. Shes acting perfectly fine, as usual. I just hope PMPS is up enough to shoot. Id prefer also to not have to test every hour all night long.
It’s ok to skip if you need to.
 
Yeah, she didnt like this dose at all. I havent used any more honey, but so far the food hasnt raised it above 50. I just gave her some Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers but theres some question as to whether the pate is actually higher carb. I guess the next test will determine that I suppose. Shes acting perfectly fine, as usual. I just hope PMPS is up enough to shoot. Id prefer also to not have to test every hour all night long.
I don’t think the pates are higher carb.

Sending you vines for a calmer night.
🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍀🍀🍀🍀
What a day! 🫂🫂
Up Karamelle, up ⬆️ 💞
 
Ok well none of the food I'm trying to feed is bringing up the BG. All the Fancy Feast I thought was between 16-20% is probably only 4%. She won't eat anything but pate which is mostly all lower carb. I tried some of the higher LC already. Just walked to the pet shop to pick some Weruva Grandmas chicken soup with is 20.7% and you can see what she thought of that. She ate FOUR GRAMS!! The only thing that brought it up today was the honey I gave at +4. I don't know how I'm going to get her BG up enough to shoot tonight, unless it decides to bounce. I hate skipping cause then I know it's going to go really high. Any ideas welcome. @Marje and Gracie
1000006139.jpg
 
+5 is the same. The 4 grams of 20.7% didnt do anything. Strangely its been flats 40/41 for 4 hours!
 
I’d go ahead and give her a bit of honey with food since it’s +9. She really won’t let go of this.
Ok, Ill give her the food she likes, but I cant mix the honey in. She wont like that. Will have to give that separate. I usually give her about 1/4 of a teaspoon of honey, maybe a little more. Its a small spoon but I measured water into it and the amount I give is about 1/4 teas. Is that good?
But then what happens at PMPS? It will be all wore off by then. Hopefully she will just start going back up on her own?
 
Ok, Ill give her the food she likes, but I cant mix the honey in. She wont like that. Will have to give that separate. I usually give her about 1/4 of a teaspoon of honey, maybe a little more. Its a small spoon but I measured water into it and the amount I give is about 1/4 teas. Is that good?
But then what happens at PMPS? It will be all wore off by then. Hopefully she will just start going back up on her own?
It should be worn off and we will have to see. Be sure you get a+10 to make sure she is headed up.

The amount of honey is ECID. Honey never worked for Gracie but Karo did and it only took a drop. Karamelle is Karamelle.

Hard to say what she will be doing by PMPS. These lows will cause a big bounce, I’m afraid, at some point.
 
It should be worn off and we will have to see. Be sure you get a+10 to make sure she is headed up.

The amount of honey is ECID. Honey never worked for Gracie but Karo did and it only took a drop. Karamelle is Karamelle.

Hard to say what she will be doing by PMPS. These lows will cause a big bounce, I’m afraid, at some point.
And this is the same plate that had food she likes in
1000006140.jpg
it.
 
Jo!! Goodness and holy s$it-a-moly!!! Karamelle! You freakin' mommy and the forum out!!! Someone must have said she can't do low numbers or something. Girl is on a mission to prove that wrong. Either that or she's adamant that, "I DO NOT like the 1.75 dose." Please let's level it out and fingers, toes, paws crossed the bouncing won't be too bad.
 
How are you doing now, Jo? The other option if she usually likes the FF gravy lovers type is to squeeze out the gravy from the can. Sorry it’s been a tough day, come on now Karamelle, we get the point.
 
How are you doing now, Jo? The other option if she usually likes the FF gravy lovers type is to squeeze out the gravy from the can. Sorry it’s been a tough day, come on now Karamelle, we get the point.
Thanks. That is a great option. Ive got so many cans of food sitting on the counter, I have no idea which is which anymore. I do have printouts of the carbs tho, so I can match them up. But the pate GL I thought were high carb, apparently arent. Anyway, the tried and true honey brought it up.
 
Jo!! Goodness and holy s$it-a-moly!!! Karamelle! You freakin' mommy and the forum out!!! Someone must have said she can't do low numbers or something. Girl is on a mission to prove that wrong. Either that or she's adamant that, "I DO NOT like the 1.75 dose." Please let's level it out and fingers, toes, paws crossed the bouncing won't be too bad.
Haha! I think she just doesnt like the dose. I do expect a bad bounce from this one. Especially since Im lowering the dose.
 
Haha! I think she just doesnt like the dose. I do expect a bad bounce from this one. Especially since Im lowering the dose.
I see she’s headed up but if she is not starting on a bounce by PMPS, you might think about skipping the shot to drain the depot. What I don’t want to happen is she is up now from HC, maybe even comes up a bit more by PMPS and then drops even with the reduction.

She hasn’t always bounced right away.
 
I see she’s headed up but if she is not starting on a bounce by PMPS, you might think about skipping the shot to drain the depot. What I don’t want to happen is she is up now from HC, maybe even comes up a bit more by PMPS and then drops even with the reduction.

She hasn’t always bounced right away.
So what do you think? Shes at 112 at +11.
 
So what do you think? Shes at 112 at +11.
It is your call. While I do not think it’s a bad idea to drain her depot by skipping, she will go higher so that’s up to you how you feel about that. It’s hard to know if she will bounce tonight or have another night like 7/25. Or even come back down lower. It’s not possible to know. But if she stays here for PMPS, she might very well come back down when she onsets.

Or she could bounce. Only she knows.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
It is your call. While I do not think it’s a bad idea to drain her depot by skipping, she will go higher so that’s up to you how you feel about that. It’s hard to know if she will bounce tonight or have another night like 7/25. Or even come back down lower. It’s not possible to know. But if she stays here for PMPS, she might very well come back down when she onsets.

Or she could bounce. Only she knows.
Thanks Marje.
 
It is your call. While I do not think it’s a bad idea to drain her depot by skipping, she will go higher so that’s up to you how you feel about that. It’s hard to know if she will bounce tonight or have another night like 7/25. Or even come back down lower. It’s not possible to know. But if she stays here for PMPS, she might very well come back down when she onsets.

Or she could bounce. Only she knows.
I decided to skip. Her PMPS was 80. as hard as it was to not give it because i know she will go up super high, I just couldnt take the risk of her falling low for several hours again. The caliper is set of 1.5, so I will start it tomorrow. I had already pulled up the dose. But I'll dump it. Its such a small amount and I waste insulin every day just making the dose, so who cares. I will still get some readings tonight until it gets high enough its not worth the trouble. Thanks for your help.
 
I decided to skip. Her PMPS was 80. as hard as it was to not give it because i know she will go up super high, I just couldnt take the risk of her falling low for several hours again. The caliper is set of 1.5, so I will start it tomorrow. I had already pulled up the dose. But I'll dump it. Its such a small amount and I waste insulin every day just making the dose, so who cares. I will still get some readings tonight until it gets high enough its not worth the trouble. Thanks for your help.
I would have skipped too. Like Marje said, it's not a bad idea to drain the depot. Good luck, Karamelle and Jo!
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
I decided to skip. Her PMPS was 80. as hard as it was to not give it because i know she will go up super high, I just couldnt take the risk of her falling low for several hours again. The caliper is set of 1.5, so I will start it tomorrow. I had already pulled up the dose. But I'll dump it. Its such a small amount and I waste insulin every day just making the dose, so who cares. I will still get some readings tonight until it gets high enough its not worth the trouble. Thanks for your help.
I really think that is the best decision. You still need to test her tonight until she’s safely headed up because of the depot.

I hope you can get some rest.

In looking back at her SS today, catching the +3 this morning would have been ideal. As I mentioned earlier in the day, she often seems to onset at +3. She just did it a bit over-dramatically today.

Tomorrow is a new day. We just have to be patient for her inevitable bounce to clear.

In the subject line, please just change “PMPS 80 skip shot” to “PMBG 80” and we will all know you skipped.

Have a good evening.
 
I really think that is the best decision. You still need to test her tonight until she’s safely headed up because of the depot.

I hope you can get some rest.

In looking back at her SS today, catching the +3 this morning would have been ideal. As I mentioned earlier in the day, she often seems to onset at +3. She just did it a bit over-dramatically today.

Tomorrow is a new day. We just have to be patient for her inevitable bounce to clear.

In the subject line, please just change “PMPS 80 skip shot” to “PMBG 80” and we will all know you skipped.

Have a good evening.
I'll try and get more +3's in the future. I thought you mentioned her onsetting at +4, but maybe I was mistaken. She fell again at Pm +2 so I fed her some low carb and honey. I probably won't test at +3 since I gave the honey but I'll do a +4. Then go from there. No telling how much juice is still in there.
 
I'll try and get more +3's in the future. I thought you mentioned her onsetting at +4, but maybe I was mistaken. She fell again at Pm +2 so I fed her some low carb and honey. I probably won't test at +3 since I gave the honey but I'll do a +4. Then go from there. No telling how much juice is still in there.
You can look back at post 3 in this condo. I can see where it might have been confusing because I mentioned my Gracie onset at +4. I should have just left it that Karamelle onsets at “+3 or so”. Sorry for the confusion.
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
Back
Top