? 8/2 Fistuk AMPS 88, +4 108, +7.25 130, +8.75 106 PMPS 119, +1 119, +3.25 101::not eating

Fistuk & Shelly

Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...83-pmps-72-3-97-happy-bd.292694/#post-3197224

Good morning :)

A disturbing start of the day for us… we’re on our way up the mountain for a hike and the catsitter called that Fistuk has diarrhoea.

Yesterday Fistuk had tummy discomfort. He went to the toilet in the morning (described in the post yesterday) and it was rather normal. He ate well yesterday and relaxed after the morning episode.

yesterday we had the first full green AM&PM cycle in a long time.

but this morning he didn’t want to eat so much. When DH gave him the renax (the kidney supplements which we give with a syringe mixed with water) he didn’t want to take it and salivated a bit.

I have him colloidal silver nebulising to treat his blocked nose. That’s the only thing different in his routine. He can get sensitive to colloidal silver and obviously something was already going on for him.

The Catsitter, Vanessa said that all the pets she cares for were in the past either sick, didn’t want to eat or shed fur like crazy as a response to the heat we’ve experienced here. After Al in Switzerland the weather is cold most of the year and the past week was challenging

both Fistuk and Prince were reluctant to eat yesterday and today. They have different food that comes from different tins. Their food is always in the fridge. Prince didn’t have any tummy issues

I told the Vanessa to not force Fistuk to eat and to feed him a 3ml syringe with 1/8tsp of psyllium and call me again when she visits at +6. (She’s so sweet. She cancelled dog sitting appointments to be able to check in Fistuk easier than planned).
Any advice would greatly appreciated.
@Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo

Obv because of past ketones my mountain hike has turned into a nightmare stress.

these are the pictures the Vanessa took
upload_2024-8-2_12-0-36.jpeg


upload_2024-8-2_12-0-57.png


Thanks!
Wishing you all a peaceful day :bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-2_12-0-36.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-2_12-0-36.jpeg
    42.7 KB · Views: 136
  • upload_2024-8-2_12-0-57.png
    upload_2024-8-2_12-0-57.png
    236.8 KB · Views: 136
Last edited:
Hi Shelly, so sorry to read that! I can imagine it is hard to be away on a day like that but it sounds, he is taken care off perfectly!

Maybe you can also check out "Heilerde" (healing earth). It helped Binie but I am a bit careful now because it is not for cats with kidney problems. It soaks up any pathogens and helps to stop the diarrhea. You just shouldn't use it close to giving any meds, because it also soaks that up...

Here is a link, in Germany you get it in any pharmacy, I'm quite sure in Switzerland also:

https://www.luvos.de/

I have the fine one at home for Binie.

I hope Fistuk gets better soon! Try to enjoy your day at least a little bit. He is taken care of by Vanessa. Send you hugs! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, so sorry to read that! I can imagine it is hard to be away on a day like that but it sounds, he is taken care off perfectly!

Maybe you can also check out "Heilerde" (healing earth). It helped Binie but I am a bit careful now because it is not for cats with kidney problems. It soaks up any pathogens and helps to stop the diarrhea. You just shouldn't use it close to giving any meds, because it also soaks that up...

Here is a link, in Germany you get it in any pharmacy, I'm quite sure in Switzerland also:

https://www.luvos.de/

I have the fine one at home for Binie.

I hope Fistuk gets better soon! Try to enjoy your day at least a little bit. He is taken care of by Vanessa. Send you hugs! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Heike :kiss:
Fistuk does have CKD but at the moment my priority is to stop the diarrhea.
Is Heilerde homeopathy? How do you asminister it? With food/water? Is it drops… what’s the dose
Thanks for the info
Sorry I’m short my buttery is low and we’re trying to get down the mountain to the car
 
Oh no, Shelly. I’m sorry to hear Fistuk isn’t feeling well today. Sending prayers he recovers quickly. Poor baby.
You’re so lucky to have such a responsible pet sitter.
Keep us posted on how he’s doing.
Sending you lots of hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh poor thing!
A bout of loosies occasionally goes through my kitties - one gets and another, and another. So many bottoms to have to clean :rolleyes:
I try to trip the fur around there to minimize the damage but when it happens, well, like saying goes, *&it happens (pardon my French)
Hope he feels better - sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Actually yes. That’s the main thing that’s on my mind. Last episode was in September 2023. So I wasn’t sure. How do I know? What’s best to do if it is?
Our vet is on holiday. I called a vet that Vanessa recommended and we have an appointment in about an hour and a half
Unfortunately, I do not have any personal experience with pancreatitis. Here is a link from FDMB A Primer on Pancreatitis.

@tiffmaxee Elise is my go to source when it comes to this.
 
Thanks, Heike :kiss:
Fistuk does have CKD but at the moment my priority is to stop the diarrhea.
Is Heilerde homeopathy? How do you asminister it? With food/water? Is it drops… what’s the dose
Thanks for the info
Sorry I’m short my buttery is low and we’re trying to get down the mountain to the car

Hi Shelly, Heilerde is really just a special kind of earth. It looks like very fine sand and it has the quality to absorb things. I started to give it to hear against stomach acidity but it helps with diarrhea also. I also take it myself my whole life and even make face masks with it. :rolleyes: It has lots of minerals in it.

I just copied this text from the page of the company, there you can find much more information (https://www.luvos.net/):
Luvos Healing Earth - natural and effective
Luvos Healing Earth is a natural remedy for heartburn, acid-related stomach disorders, irritable colon and stomach. It also binds cholesterol and helps to heal acne and blemished skin. In ancient times, the special medicinal effect of this “Healing Earth” was already well known. But it was Adolf Just, founder of the Heilerde-Gesellschaft Luvos (“Healing Earth society”), who re-discovered medicinal Healing Earth for use in modern naturopathy. For 100 years now, the family-run company has been producing Luvos Healing Earth as a purely natural product without any additives. Luvos Healing Earth consists exclusively of loess dating from the Ice Age, which possesses a special, ideal combination of minerals and trace elements.

Make sure to take the ultrafine. The dosing recommandation I found for cats is 1/2 tsp a day. I gave Binie a little less becaues I mix it with cat lickingcreme and 1/2 tsp is a lot to mix. I gave maybe a quarter tsp. She doesn't mind that her licking creme is a bit muddy and it is easy to administer.

About Healing earth and CKD: I unfortunately didn't find any concrete information about that so far. The company writes that you should not take it, if you have kidney problems. I found out, that the long term use can cause some kind of inflammation in the kidneys because of some minerals. Of course you don't want that in a CKD cat. When we had to deal with diarrhea the last days I decided, that taking it for a few days only is not too risky but I stopped giving it to her on a regular basis now. But that is just me and I am not a vet. If you got the chance to call your vet, I would just ask him. In Germany everyone knows Heilerde and I think it is also well-known in Switzerland as well.

I keep my fingers crossed it is over soon. My vet says that in summer they see cats with diarrhea every day and usually it is nothing serious.

All the best! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
UPDATE:
We're back from the vet. She doesn't suspect pancreatitis because she could palpate his belly and it was quite soft and he also didn't have fever.
She said it could be related to the CKD and it also can be a stress response to the fireworks last night.
In any case she said her treatment would have been the sa,e whatever the reason. She have him Cerenia SQ and gave me a couple more home so I can administer myself.
She also gave me some product by Inuvet (Great German company) for the diarrohea and the acid in the stomach to give with food today and stop when he doesn't have diarrhoea or vomiting anymore.

He's been quite alert, not apathetic, and very weak.

I managed to syringe feed him only about 15g, 1/3 of his supper amount. I will keep trying in small doses. He's trying to sleep a bit now.

I gave the anomaly 2.5U dose and will monitor closely.

Thank you everyone for your support :bighug::bighug::bighug: It was quite stressful to try and get back down the mountain to the car then drive back home. I'm grateful that this vet clinic were able to see us and I'm happy to say that I quite liked that vet! She was very positive about my approach and simply trusted my capacity to handle him.

Here are some photos from what we managed on our hike

upload_2024-8-2_19-56-12.jpeg


upload_2024-8-2_19-57-14.jpeg



The tectonic mountain rock. It's a world heritage area
upload_2024-8-2_19-57-53.jpeg


Swimming in that lake was the goal
upload_2024-8-2_19-58-56.jpeg


Special blue mountain flowers
upload_2024-8-2_19-56-45.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-2_19-56-12.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-2_19-56-12.jpeg
    159.5 KB · Views: 133
  • upload_2024-8-2_19-56-45.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-2_19-56-45.jpeg
    72.1 KB · Views: 130
  • upload_2024-8-2_19-57-14.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-2_19-57-14.jpeg
    106.7 KB · Views: 117
  • upload_2024-8-2_19-57-53.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-2_19-57-53.jpeg
    100.3 KB · Views: 125
  • upload_2024-8-2_19-58-56.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-2_19-58-56.jpeg
    134.4 KB · Views: 130
Hi Shelly,

thank you so much for the update! So good you managed to go to the clinic and good it seems to be not related to pancreatitis. I hope Fistuk feels better soon! I looked up Inuvet because I haven't heard about it so far. Looks great! Unfortunately it looks like only vets can order. So cool, your vet has the products!

Thank you for the nice pictures of your hike. Looks so beautiful! I hope you still enjoyed the day besides all the worries. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ask your vet if s/he can order it for you. They're really good and I'm sure other clients would enjoy them.
I give him Renax for kidneys and Flora for the gut, both from this company :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you Shelly! I will definitely ask my vet about it. Maybe the Renax is something for Binie too! My vet sometimes rolls her eyes - but in a nice and funny way - about all my new ideas and informations. :)
 
Fistuk is not willing to eat. I tried again at +1 and I could hardly squeeze into him 1/3 of a syringe.

He looks pretty exhausted once we came back from the vet. On the way there and back he protested which was a very welcome sign that he's not lethargic or apathetic. I can imagine that he's just tired from a full day of vomiting and diarrhoea. Looks like he's over it.

I added to the food the powder the vet gave to stop the diarrhoea and the nausea.

I applied 1ml of Mirtazapin now (+2). I'll try to feed him again at +3.

Can I just let him be for tonight so he can recover? With ketones history I'm quite concerned.
I'd appreciate an advice @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
 
Oh Shelly, I am sorry to read that he is not eating! I hope that someone with more knowledge checks on you soon! All fingers and paws are crossed Fistuk is better soon!
 
Oh Shelly, I am sorry to read that he is not eating! I hope that someone with more knowledge checks on you soon! All fingers and paws are crossed Fistuk is better soon!
Thanks, Heike. I appreciate your support.
I was hoping someone will be around... I'm going to bed and hoping things will turn a positive corner over night :bighug:
 
Did the vet give you ondansetron or cerenia ? He must be nauseous. With pancreatitis you treat the symptoms with nausea medication preferably ondansetron, fluids if dehydrated, pain med, and try and get 2/3 of the usual amount of food. I know that’s tough when syringe feeding which is why you need to get the nausea under control. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
How much food are you able to assist feed him with? If I could get Neko 2/3 of her normal calories, I was OK to shoot full dose.

For diarrhea, good probiotics can help. Specifically Saccharomyces boulardii or s. boulardii, more information here: https://www.ibdkitties.net/supplements/probiotics/ It's a product humans take too, so you should be able to find in most chemist/pharmacies.
Thanks for the feedback, Wendy.

I gave Fistuk the full dose last night even though he hardly ate during the day because I felt it would be right. That's why I tested him ever hour after shot.

It's good to know the rule of thumb for feeding and shooting. This morning I was prepared to shoot reduced dose if necessary. Happily it wasn't.

Fistuk already gets S.B. regularly as a therapeutic dose, 1/2 of 250ml twice a day.

That's for the link. I'll add it to my treasure FDMB link collection. I read it and it's great to know about the FortiFlora vets prescribed. I never took it when vets offered. I'm always suspicious of vets' prescriptions and first do my research before I feel safe taking something from them. :bighug:
 
Did the vet give you ondansetron or cerenia ? He must be nauseous. With pancreatitis you treat the symptoms with nausea medication preferably ondansetron, fluids if dehydrated, pain med, and try and get 2/3 of the usual amount of food. I know that’s tough when syringe feeding which is why you need to get tge nausea under control. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Elise :)
Yes, he's def nauseous. The vet gave Cerenia SQ injection and gave me two syringes to administer at home if I see it's needed.

Last time we had nausea episode the Cerenia pills didn't work but the injection did.

I also have Onda at home. I remember from last time you advised 2mg per kilo for a cat in 24h (that's 8mg per day for Fistuk), every 8 hours. Last time when I used that dose it worked well.

This morning he ate well with the syringe. Would it be best to continue with the Cerenia SQ for now?:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Elise :)
Yes, he's def nauseous. The vet gave Cerenia SQ injection and gave me two syringes to administer at home if I see it's needed.

Last time we had nausea episode the Cerenia pills didn't work but the injection did.

I also have Onda at home. I remember from last time you advised 2mg per kilo for a cat in 24h (that's 8mg per day for Fistuk), every 8 hours. Last time when I used that dose it worked well.

This morning he ate well with the syringe. Would it be best to continue with the Cerenia SQ for now?:bighug::bighug::bighug:

I would start the ondansetron now and it would not hurt to continue the cerenia every 24 hours since you have it. I hope this episode ends quickly. I hate pancreatitis.:bighug:
 
I’ve never used slippery elm bark. For diarrhea I would try SBoulardii. I think that helped Chai although she was also on prednisolone for whatever was wrong with her. Prednisolone alone did nothing so that’s why I think that wasn’t what helped.
 
I’ve never used slippery elm bark. For diarrhea I would try SBoulardii. I think that helped Chai although she was also on prednisolone for whatever was wrong with her. Prednisolone alone did nothing so that’s why I think that wasn’t what helped.
I give S.B. regularly and now increased to therapeutic dose but I suspect it increases his diarrhoea so I'll stop it.

I found two sources talking about slippery elm bark. I just got back from the pharmacy and I'll try it with the aloe vera juice:
https://www.foodfurlife.com/my-cat-has-diarrhea---what-do-i-do.html#/
https://www.rawfeedingforibdcats.or...ark Instructions (for,an hour before the meal.
 
UPDATE:
We're back from the vet. She doesn't suspect pancreatitis because she could palpate his belly and it was quite soft and he also didn't have fever.
She said it could be related to the CKD and it also can be a stress response to the fireworks last night.
In any case she said her treatment would have been the sa,e whatever the reason. She have him Cerenia SQ and gave me a couple more home so I can administer myself.
She also gave me some product by Inuvet (Great German company) for the diarrohea and the acid in the stomach to give with food today and stop when he doesn't have diarrhoea or vomiting anymore.

He's been quite alert, not apathetic, and very weak.

I managed to syringe feed him only about 15g, 1/3 of his supper amount. I will keep trying in small doses. He's trying to sleep a bit now.

I gave the anomaly 2.5U dose and will monitor closely.

Thank you everyone for your support :bighug::bighug::bighug: It was quite stressful to try and get back down the mountain to the car then drive back home. I'm grateful that this vet clinic were able to see us and I'm happy to say that I quite liked that vet! She was very positive about my approach and simply trusted my capacity to handle him.

Here are some photos from what we managed on our hike

View attachment 70685

View attachment 70687


The tectonic mountain rock. It's a world heritage area
View attachment 70688

Swimming in that lake was the goal
View attachment 70689

Special blue mountain flowers
View attachment 70686
Oh my goodness what a beautiful place .praying for Fistuk .
 
I’ve never used slippery elm bark. For diarrhea I would try SBoulardii. I think that helped Chai although she was also on prednisolone for whatever was wrong with her. Prednisolone alone did nothing so that’s why I think that wasn’t what helped.
I also use S.Boulardii and it seems to work .
 
Back
Top