8/2 Ebby AMPS 225 +3 161 +6 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelissaEbby

Member Since 2012
AMPS 225
+3 161
+6 116

Everything going well today. Ebby was in her suspected bouncing spot though (behind the white curtain in the bedroom.) I'm pretty sure she goes here when she starts bouncing. Just sits there, surrounded by linen curtain, staring off into space. So, we'll see if she bounces or not from those blues last night, and if my curtain theory is correct.

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101304

???? Edit: I forgot about a question/concern I had. The other night, when the board was down, Ebby got down to 35. She had mild hypo symptoms...slight head wobble, and glassy eyes. Her coordination was pretty good, and she was able to jump on the dresser. When I saw the 35, I immediately fed 2 tsp of HC gravy food,(no syrup) then went to board to make sure I was handling ok. The board was down, so I got out my hypo instruction printout, and was re-reading it. I noticed these instructions said to feed 1 Tablespoon syrup for low numbers with mild symptoms. I was surprised to see the instructions said Tablespoon!

That seems like an awful lot to me, and I thought I remember reading quite often here, that a Tablespoon is often too much, and to only use a few drops. I've also seen people post that they fed a Tablespoon of syrup, and usually the response has been that we should only use a few drops of syrup. So, even thought I didn't even use the syrup, I guess it left me a little confused as to how I should of handled this. In my case, the 2 tsp HC seemed to do the trick, and I never used the syrup, but is that how everyone else would have handled this? Is that Tablespoon suggestion correct?
 
Re: 8/2 Ebby AMPS 225 +3 167 Question?

I found this REALLY confusing when I started, too. I saw low numbers the first few times and was feeding high carb food with honey on top because I was freaked out! I had the how to handle hypos info posted on my fridge from day one with its suggestion for a tablespoon of syrup, so when people started posting to tell me that I should just be using a few drops of syrup I couldn't understand the contradiction. What it basically comes down to is that in "Lantusland" we are following Tight Regulation in which the aim is to keep the cat in lower numbers as much of the time as possible, so the guidelines for handling low numbers are a bit different. Also the caretakers are more experienced with low numbers and know how to give just enough medium or high carb food or a touch of syrup to keep their cats surfing in greens. The hypo instruction sheet that mentions a tablespoon of syrup is there more so that newbies don't kill their cat. You sound like you are doing the right thing to handle lows with the gravy food.

With a 35, though, no matter what the cat has earned a reduction so there's no need to keep her surfing, just feed whatever you need to get her up into safe numbers at that time . . . but probably not a tablespoon of syrup :lol:
 
Re: 8/2 Ebby AMPS 225 +3 167 Question?

Hi Amy! Well, I'm glad I wasn't the only one a little confused. Yeah, I just re-read Sienne's post on handling low numbers, and her instructions are more in keeping with what I did...feeding HC, no syrup, and re-checking numbers. That printout, How to Handle Hypos, is the one I had printed out at home, and with the board being down I didn't have access to Sienne's instructions at the time. Until now, I didn't even realize the instructions were different here in LL. That makes sense that the Tablespoon suggestion is a safety for newbies who are dealing with hypos for the first time. Well, glad I didn't do the Tablespoon! She probably would have shot up to like 500 or something. Thanks for clearing this up! Have a good day Amy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top