8/2, Callie, AMPS 301, +2 203, +4 130, +6 104, +8 94, +9 129, +11 149

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/newbie-lantus-dose-question-jessica-and-callie.250676/

Hope I titled this correctly... this is my first post on the Lantus Board. Also note: We are using a Freestyle Libre 2 sensor so you can find additional BGs recorded in Callie's SS. I didn't think I could fit them all in the title.

I'm posting now just to give folks a chance to see it before our 8pm Eastern shot time in 50 mins. If Callie's PMPS goes up to 200 or more, we'll feed, shoot 1.75 U as normal and continue to monitor her closely.

But if it stays in the 100s, do we stall, not feed and recheck in 20 mins etc until she is 200+? We haven't shot below 211 before.

Thanks!
 
Welcome to LLB. Here’s a link to your post on main. We link for continuity.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/wake-up-to-feed.250766/

I am also going to link your intro.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/newbie-lantus-dose-question-jessica-and-callie.250676/#post-282862


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/newbie-lantus-dose-question-jessica-and-callie.

But if it stays in the 100s, do we stall, not feed and recheck in 20 mins etc until she is 200+? We haven't shot below 211 before.

You have it perfectly. If under 200 until you have more experience you will stall and not feed and retest in 20-39 minutes to see if she’s going up on her own. It’s also good you posted in advance so one of us could watch out for your next test. Keep asking questions. You are off to a great start.

If the +2 is the same or lower than the pmps she might come down a lot more tonight so keep checking and ask for help if a lot lower.
 
Hi Jessica and welcome to the Lantus board! I'm in NYC too! It's great that you have the Libre to give you all of that data. I like the Libre too but I haven't had very good luck with it on my kitty. Wonderful that you've found us and I hope we can all help you with your pretty Callie.

Question: I know that @Chris & China (GA) encouraged you to follow Tight Regulation as a protocol to get Callie into better numbers, but I see from your signature that you're feeding dry food--is that right? If so, then you'd have to follow SLGS. TR is a pretty aggressive method to follow, and because we don't know how long dry food stays in a cat's system it's recommended to stay on SLGS even if you're just feeding a small amount or going to Young Again. I don't know the carb percentage of the RC Ultamino Dry food but it's probably high carb. Once you move Callie off that food her glucose levels might come down very quickly and you'd have to monitor her very carefully. Basically if you want to follow TR you'd have to get rid of all dry food.
 
@tiffmaxee Great, thanks! I tried to link my intro but looks like it didn't work -- sorry about that! Will post +2 when we scan it in a few mins. +1 was 296.

@PerfumedCatMom Thank you! Great to meet another NYC mom. Callie was able to dislodge the first Libre after 5 days of data but we have so far had good success with the second. Fingers and toes crossed! Re: protocols -- Yes, I had thought that our vet was following SLGS originally but when she had us switching up dose amounts quickly and Chris pointed out the difference to me the other night, I double-checked and our vet is thinking more of a "TR hybrid" (my words -- meaning: aggressive like TR in terms of dose changes and testing but given Callie's allergies/food challenges and all of the stress/changes she has had in just the last couple of weeks, the vet didn't want us to entirely yank the Ultamino food puzzle that she gets as a reward after her night puffs too quickly. We are instead cutting it down slowly and are down to about 20 kernels which we hope to eventually stop and replace in some way or other with Young Again (very little amount and used the same way, as a special "treat" for BG, shots, etc.) The vast majority of her food is LC wet and I do know that we have to be very careful monitoring as we wean her from the Ultamino, thanks for the reminder about that.

Does us doing this "hybrid" mean that we shouldn't post on these boards? Or is there a special place for us to post? Don't want to confuse anything but definitely hope to stay and benefit from everyone's knowledge ... let me know what you think.

Thanks a lot!

upload_2021-8-2_22-7-46.jpeg



upload_2021-8-2_22-9-2.jpeg





upload_2021-8-2_22-7-46.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-8-2_22-7-46.jpeg
    upload_2021-8-2_22-7-46.jpeg
    54.2 KB · Views: 146
  • upload_2021-8-2_22-9-2.jpeg
    upload_2021-8-2_22-9-2.jpeg
    75.7 KB · Views: 75
You can post here but change your signature from TR to Custom per vet or something like that. On our forum if feeding any dry food you can’t do TR and that includes Young Again. You aren’t as you are following your vet’s advice. Callie is so cute!
 
Last edited:
Got it, thanks. I made that change on SS and my signature. +1.5 304; and then the Libre started giving error messages for +2 because...of course it did. Will try again in a few mins and take BG manually if we can't get a good reading.
 
Understood! Your vet seems to know what they are doing with the diabetes, which is unusual but really good! Mine never wanted to increase more than every couple of weeks and then I started doing my own thing and getting dosing advice here. Ruby was almost in remission because of the FDMB.
 
+3 271 Freestyle working again.

We are lucky with our vet and grateful for her - unfortunately, she's leaving the practice in a couple of months so we aren't sure what we are going to do then. But these days we're taking it one day at a time. That's amazing re: Ruby almost being in remission because of FDMB! Hope that she gets back to that place soon.
 
Hi Jessica!

Just wanted to welcome you to LBL Land. :-) Callie is ADORABLE! :kiss:

Looks like she's doing well on 1.75U and like Katherine pointed out, the removal of the RC Dry will only improve her numbers further!

If you encounter a pre-shot that is lower than your comfort zone, stall without feeding and post here for help. Edit your title to say something like "STALLING! PLEASE HELP" so it grabs the attention of people scanning the Board.
 
@Bandit's Mom Thank you so much for the welcome and the tip - will do. I'm very thankful to have found you all. Bandit is also adorable! (As are all of the kitties I have seen pics of here.)
 
Back
Top