8/2 Bob AMPS=333

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!!! I'm so happy this week is over! dancing_cat

I'm so sad Bob is back to bouncing for 3 days instead of just 12 hours (like when he was on the wet food). I guess it's because I reduced his insulin so much. :sad: His mood was decent this morning, but I can tell he's feeling kind of poopy. I hate when his numbers are high because he always feels so hot - his little nose is dry and his ears are very hot. His ketones were .4 again, but not sure I can trust that because of the article about the novamax being off when reading ketones. He's eating and drinking and his pee is a bit large. I'm taking him to the vet tomorrow for some fluids and maybe I'll ask her to let me take some home with me.

I'm really stressing about going to that conference on 8/16. I can't tell what is going on with this stupid young again food because of all the bouncing.

Well, I will stop whining now and get some work done. I hope everyone has a great Friday! :-D
 
Oh, Dara, don't stress! Put him in a box and send him to me - maybe he & Tash can dance together and get the bouncing out of their systems together! It's feast or famine isn't it! I'll have the gravy all strained and in the fridge "ready to go" and then, as soon as it's been in there a few days, I'll throw it away, turn around and NEED it! I've actually found straining the FF Gravy Lovers to be a bit stress relieving in between testing! .......takes my mind off it!

Hang in there - the 18th is still far away - we've been invited somewhere on the 24th though and I'm starting to THINK about that.........the life!

Have a great day - TRY not to worry so much ! I know, I know, it's hard!
 
I'll have the gravy all strained and in the fridge "ready to go" and then, as soon as it's been in there a few days, I'll throw it away, turn around and NEED it

okay...now that is funny Bern!

ha

well...BOB ...what are we gonna do today? Bob is quite the Mystery Man :cool: :cool: :cool:

I know, dara, that you will get him back to those nice numbers where he feels good and cool....with no appetite! So sorry you have to take him to the vets tomorrow...but he will feel better for it

keep us up to date on the vet visit

come on Bob....feel better....I am rooting for you!!

~kelly
 
Hey guys! Yah - poor boo feels under the weather. Dangit! If only he would eat his wet fuds. I guess I have to stop dwelling on that and figure out what is going on now. Bern, I'm ready to box him up and send him your way!!! Maybe he needs a vacation from his stressed out mom.

That's really gross about straining the ff. BLECH. That stuff is so disgusting, especially the gravy lovers with the little preformed chunks. :?

You guys have fun today! Hope all our kitties cooperate.
 
ok - got a question.

I know I've been all over the place with my doses, but it seems to me that the two nights I skipped shots, should have drained the depot pretty good. Would that be a correct assumption? So the depot is not as large as it used to be. (please tell me if I have no idea what i'm talking about - this is just how I'm understanding it). If the zero carb food is working as well as it did with Ninja, then I'm a tad concerened about when the bounce is over. If it ends in 3 days and kind of repeats what has been happening, Bob will be low on Monday morning (he was 79 yesterday after a 3 day bounce). If I give him the 1 unit, he may go low again like he did yesterday (after a .5 dose!) and then we will have another 3 day bounce.

Soooooo, what if I skip his shot? Do you think if he stays at a decent level (to me, this would be anything under 200), that I could stop the insulin altogether to see if the no carb food is actually working? The owner of Young Again said he has advised many of his diabetic cat customers to stop giving insulin once the cat is eating the YA. He said if the cat is a diabetic due to diet, within a few days they are basically in remission. He said there have been a handful of kitties it hasn't worked for, but for the majority it's worked great. I know this guy is not a doctor, but I can't imagine he wants me to hurt my cat in some way. He must be really confident and have experience to make such a claim.

The only reason I ask this is because it looks like I'm just going to keep going through this cycle of going way too low and then bouncing. If he doesn't go way too low, then he won't bounce. I have to focus at this conference on the 16th - I can't be upset because I have no idea if Bob is so low he could go hypo or his so high he could be developing ketones and may need to go to the vet. I have someone watching him, but I trust NOBODY to take care of my cat except me.

Has there ever been anyone who just tried to stop the insulin like that that youguys can think of?
 
The owner of Young Again said he has advised many of his diabetic cat customers to stop giving insulin once the cat is eating the YA. He said if the cat is a diabetic due to diet, within a few days they are basically in remission.
Personally, I think that is the most irresponsible advice I've heard in a long time. Frankly, it's a great way to throw a cat into DKA. Extremely high BG levels can be just as deadly as very low levels. If someone the owner advised isn't home testing, his advice could kill their cat. You see the care we go to in weaning a cat off of insulin so the pancreas has sufficient support. If this is the quality of information this guy is dispensing, I'm skeptical to say the least.

Under 200 is not adequate to stop insulin. Take a look at the spreadsheets of the cats that have been on OTJ trials. In the majority of cases, their SSs are largely green and the dose is slowly reduced to a drop. If Bob was ready to have insulin discontinued, when you skipped a shot, he would stay in normal numbers. He didn't. Cats that are ready for an OTJ trial don't bounce the way Bob is bouncing.

I'm sticking with what I said the other evening: Pick a dose and stay with it. The dose hopping is contributing to the wonky numbers.
 
Yes Dara, Please pick a dose and stick with it. If Bob earns a reduction, than you can lower the dose but the skipping around on the dose is contributing to the skipping around on the numbers.

Skip, skip, skip to my Lou, (3x)Skip to my Lou, my darlin'.(Changing verse here). (repeated 3 times)Skip to my Lou, my darlin'.

Hey, you've got 2 weeks until you are away. We need to at least settle on a dose before you go away. ;-)
 
So when does a cat stop bouncing? Like I said, what I foresee is him constantly bouncing because he goes low as soon as the bounce stops. Very frustrating....
 
Forgot to add-he said to wait a few days only if the cat did not go into the 300s. So I'm sure he's not telling people to stop insulin no matter what. Hope not!
 
Cats bounce until they don't bounce anymore. Bob is not a bouncing champ. Go over to PZI forum and look at Cassie.
 
Bouncing is extremely frustrating. Furball has been bouncy lately, but the best thing I can do is stick with the dose until I get some good numbers. When I think she is going to go low while I am at work, I leave extra food out. I know Bob is being a picky eater, but maybe leaving some extra YA out will help even out the bounces. Of course, if Furball is really low at PS, I reduce the dose for one a time shot or skip, but then I got back to the dose she was on.

You can always reduce the dose while you are at your conference and then go back up to the dose you were on prior to the conference.
 
Dara

I've been trying to do this post all day and have just had one interruption after another. My apologies.

I do think you are getting way ahead of yourself and Bob. I understand that Ninja's SS is very encouraging but Bob is Bob and he's not Ninja :-D

When I look at his SS (and others may have other thoughts), his low numbers on 7/28 were likely the depot from the 2.5u dose. You decreased by half...I'm assuming because of the YA food. I'm not sure I would have done that without waiting to see how it actually affected him. It is dry food, yes, but since it is 0% carb, I don't know that I would have expected numbers to change alot. Sometimes it only takes a couple cycles at a higher dose to kick the green machine back in; you shot 2.5u both cycles on 7/31 and the low numbers on 8/1 were possibly the depot again from 2.5u.

If Bob were my cat, I'd probably shoot 2.25u or even 2u if you want and see where he is. I'd give him six cycles (unless he earns a reduction) and see where he is. I would also try and learn how to shoot those green pre shots. We can help you learn to do it. IMHO, learning to shoot those green numbers above 50, when it is safe to do so, will also help Bob immensely.

I know you have the trip ahead; I wouldn't hazard a guess as to what Bob will be doing by then. I would suggest we take a look at his numbers on the 13th or so and see what might help you feel safe about leaving him while you are gone. He could be at a totally different dose by then.

And...yes, the bounces are just something we all want to go away but you can't force them to go away. I understand firsthand that it is hard to ignore them. Gracie will run along for three or four days with mini bounces into high blue and then out of nowhere....high yellow. Sometimes I know it's because she got below 50; other times, I haven't a clue. I just get a good night's sleep and get on with it because she will come down. When she does, if her nadirs aren't where I want them, I increase. If they are, I hold the dose.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Hi Dara,

I think Marje, Deb & Sienne pretty much said it all. I'm just lending my support! Patience & consistency (unless Bob goes below 50 will help here & keep him safe).

Sending Patience Vines to you!
 
Thanks for the responses all!! Im just very stressed about being gone and leaving Bob for four dais. Ugh! :sad:
 
You've gotten great advice. I totally understand stressing over leaving him for 4 days...I'm just adding "calming vines" to all the info that you've received today! You're an awesome bean, so I have no doubt you and Bob will get this sorted out. I hope he's feeling better this evening!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top