8/19 Tigger PMPS/313 Shot thru Bounce!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Good Afternoon Everyone,
Tigger's 8/18 Condo

I'm still sick in bed with the creeping crud, & Tgger's still following the Green Brick Rd today :mrgreen: , which I'm very grateful for.

Tigger's still got a pattern of mid-300 at AMPS, then dropping like a cannonball to - well, from 66 (with 1-2 tsp LC) to 38 :shock: after 30 min. @ +4.25 which was a new low for him. I gave him 2 tsp FF HC gravy - his favorite! He seems perfectly normal, burrowing in the extra fluffy blankets I put on the bed, playing with his favorite shoelace string, & just cuddling & hanging out with his sick, sneezy, coughy runny-eyed bean & keeping her company.

:?: My question is the same that I've been asking the last few days - do you think this is still the depot talking or should I reduce again by .25? This is his 3rd cycle since his last reduction & I don't know if I should continue with this dose or give him another reduction?

Any advice here would be appreciated. Sorry I've been absent the last few days, I just feel crummy. I hope everyone's doing ok, & I want to send healing & comfort cines to anyone out there in need, Thanks so much for any help!
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 Still Depo

If you are going from 300 to 66, I think I'd try a reduction. You want to see as flat a curve as you can.
Even if you end up with no numbers under 100, you need to stop the roller coaster and then make a move.

There are some cats who drop huge at the front end of their cycles and what some of those owners have done was front end feed.
Instead of a full meal at shot time, divide that meal up into small portions, feeding at ps, +1, +2, +3, and then see if you can slow down the nosedive.

Gayle
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 Still Depo

Hi Suzanne, sorry the crud is following you around like an unwanted guest. I'm sending a ton of healing vines to see if you can shake that thing. Good to see Tigger hanging around to take care of you. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Under normal circumstances I'd say no reduction with just 3 cycles, but an under 40's number means business. I think you should do a .25U reduction either tonight if he manages to suppress the natural Tigger inclination to bounce, or tomorrow morning if he skyrockets tonight.
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 Still Depo

Thanks, Gayle, I do need to try that more.

Seems I've done it in the past & Tigger stayed pretty high, above 200, so I stopped. But, his SS has changed alot recently, so maybe I need to re-visit that for him. I'll definitely try it tonight -
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 Still Depo

Thanks, Wendy, for checking in. I'm thinking the same thing.

Thanks for the well-wishes, too - I'm rarely sick & don't do well doing nothing. Should probably get more sleep, but well, you know! It's worth it if Tigger's getting more healing numbers in.
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 +8/73 Redu

The way I've read things here in the past is that a number under 40 screams "reduce", period.
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 +8/73 Redu

Thanks for checking in, Carl,
The consensus stands.

Now, if we could just get Tigger to stop bouncing. I'm going to try breaking up the meals again. Maybe I should change his name, too....... ;-)
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 +8/73 Redu

I agree with Wendy's reasoning. That drop to 38 is telling you there's too much insulin on board.

Just because Tigger is a pro at cliff diving isn't a rationale for reducing the dose. Reducing as a means of trying to eliminate bounces doesn't typically work. Reducing because the numbers are telling you the dose is too high makes for a much more compelling rationale.
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 +8/73 Redu

Thanks, Sienne, that clarification helps. I think you're the one who also mentioned it would be good to feed at +1, +2 & +3. I'm going to try that again now that we're in lower number territory (in addition to the reduction).

If Tigger bounces this cycle, I'll shoot through the bounce. If he stays relatively low (Blue?) I'll just do the reduction.

Thanks, everyone, I owe you (again!) :oops: :lol:
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 +8/73 Redu

Feel better, Suzanne,
I agree with Carl and Sienne: a number in the 30s means an automatic reduction.

Hope you're healthy again soon,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 +8/73 Redu

I would reduce if the PMPS is below 300.

If you are going to alter Tigger's feeding schedule, give it at minimum of a couple of weeks to see if there's a change. Some cats have a quick response. Others don't. I don't think I saw a change in Gabby's numbers until after a few weeks.
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 +8/73 Redu

Sorry to hear that you are feeling like #@$**^! But Tigger is doing great! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Yep, a below 40 is definitely a reduction, I hope he stays lower tonight so you can give it and go to sleep.

Say, if you want to try the NV raw we can pick up an extra package and you wouldn't have to go all the way up to SLO. We need to get more in another week or 2 anyway. The we actually will get to meet! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340 +3.5/66 +4.25/38 +4.5/46 +8/73 Redu

Thanks Everyone for stopping by! I appreciate all the support & guidance & well wishes!

@ Ella, thanks - I guess we're in the 'under 40 club now!'

@ Sienne - I'm with you on the 'reduce if under 300'. T's coming up slow today (+10.5/129) so it looks like this evening will be a reduced shot & possibly a long one as well.
HOWEVER - it's not beyond Tigger to go to 300-400 in that remaining 1.5 hours ( :o ), so we'll see......

I'll give the multiple feedings more time, thanks for letting me know. I only gave it a few days at the most before. At night it's harder, because T's shot & feeding are at 8:20 - I try to be in bed by 10 or earlier, but I can do the +1 & a +1.5

@ Ann - hope you had a great trip to LA! Yes, I am feeling like $%&&^%*. Would actually consider Nyquil if Tigger was bouncing, but am too scared - of the Nyquil AND Tigger dropping :lol: :lol: :lol:

@Ann - if you want to pick up an extra NV raw, I'd love to buy/try one - lately I can't go too far from the house with Tigger dropping so much so quickly. We could meet in Nipomo!

Thanks again everyone, for all the input & kind thoughts - you're all awesome!
 
Re: 8/19 Tigger AMPS/340+4/38+10.5/129PMPS/313 Shoot thru Bo

If anybody's out there, Tigger went from 129 +10.5 to PMPS / 313 in 1.5 hours, so it looks like I will shoot through the bounce tonight & do Tigger's .25 u reduction in the AM. If anyone has anything to add, please let me know! I'm dosing in about 15 minutes! nailbite_smile

Thanks so much for all the input today!!!!!!
 
Re: 8/19 TiggerAMPS/340+4/38+10.5/129PMPS/313 Shoot thru Bou

Ok...so far he hasn't gone up in a bounce and then cleared it the very next cycle. No guarantees but my guess is he will bounce tonight. You can shoot through it if you want and take the reduction tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 8/19 TiggerAMPS/340+4/38+10.5/129PMPS/313 Shoot thru Bou

Thanks, Marje! I'll do that, + feed extra @ +1 & +2 for sure to make sure he stays up, but I think he will bounce, too- especially if I stay up :lol: :lol: :lol: he's just more unpredictible these days, but its all been good, so I'm definitely not complaining!

Hope you're having a great time & Gracie's numbers are more back to normal. I'll look up her condo tomorrow.

Thanks so much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top