? 8/19, Tango, AMPS 72 +2 95 +4 54 +4 1/2 79 +6 84 +9 279 PMPS 557

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lori C & Tango, Aug 19, 2022.

  1. Lori C & Tango

    Lori C & Tango Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2022
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, you would continue with 2.5U. Lantus is a depot insulin and the depot can take 4-6 cycles to adjust to a reduction. What you are seeing is still the previous depot (2.75U) at work.
    You want to monitor him this morning and feed small meals every hour after tests.
     
    Lori C & Tango likes this.
  3. Lori C & Tango

    Lori C & Tango Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2022
    Thank you!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  4. Lori C & Tango

    Lori C & Tango Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2022
    Understand waiting 4 - 6 cycles. Will test and feed today. In case he continues to drop, is there a BG # that I should be concerned about?
     
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Below 68 on a pet meter and 50 on a human meter is below normal. You want to feed higher carb food and retest in 30 mins if he drops below those levels.
     
    Lori C & Tango likes this.
  6. Lori C & Tango

    Lori C & Tango Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2022
    @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Chris & China (GA)

    We are at +6 and Tango has been in the green since AMPS. Been feeding him after each test. For one feeding gave him Friskies Chunky w/Gravy and a few Freeze Dried Turkey Nibs.

    He has had 2 reduced doses at 2.5. So far BG #s are all in the green. I read in another thread that for TR if you are getting green #s someone will stick with you and guide you.

    He's never been this consistent with low numbers. If he continues all green up to PMPS, do we still dose at 2.5?

    Re: food. If he stays above 68 should we stay with the low carb wet food and not give anymore higher carb food?

    TIA
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  7. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If he drops below 68 you'd definitely want to feed high carb and test again in 30 minutes. If his numbers go up above 68 at that time, you could go back to a little low carb to help hold him up without sending his numbers too high (from too much HC) but you still want to test again in another 30 minutes to make sure he doesn't drop below 68 again. If he's still doing OK at that point, test again in 1 hour (so you test 3 times in the 2 hours after the drop below 68)

    If at any time in those 2 hours, he drops below 68 again, you feed more HC food and that 2 hour clock starts over, with testing in 30 min, 30 min and 1 hour.

    It will depend on where he is and if you have plenty of supplies and can test as long as necessary through the night.

    The 2.75 dose is still affecting his numbers but it should be getting closer to being drained down so that he's only getting 2.5 "released" over the 12 hour cycle.

    You might want to test at +11.5 so you have some time to get some opinions before it's actually shot time (and remember, if his number at PMPS still makes you uncomfortable shooting, stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes
     
    Lori C & Tango likes this.
  8. Lori C & Tango

    Lori C & Tango Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2022
    Thank you Chris. Will see what his PMPS is and will probably be back for more help!
     
  9. Lori C & Tango

    Lori C & Tango Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2022
    @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Chris & China (GA)

    Ok. Can someone please see SS and give me your opinion? Is this a bounce - drop fast, low then rise? All green from AMPS to +9 to black at PMPS?

    The only higher carb food was given after BG at 54 - Friskies Chunky with Gravy - about 2 tlbs and a few Freeze Dried Turkey Nibs.

    Going to shoot 2.5 tonight.

    UGH!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  10. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, he is bouncing from the lime he saw today. Don't worry. He is clearing bounces really quickly. He will be back in good numbers soon. :)
     
  11. Lori C & Tango

    Lori C & Tango Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2022
    I think he's just trying to keep me on my toes:cat:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy and Bandit's Mom like this.
  12. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, it's pretty much their mission statement! :banghead:
     
  13. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Official Cat Handbook:

    Rule # 23. Never let the hoomin get comfortable. Change things up often so you always remain a mystery. :rolleyes:;)
     

Share This Page