8/19 Sparky AMBG 28 ?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aly & Sparky

Member Since 2010
Sparky's first shot of insulin again after his honeymoon was last night, with a PMPS of 274.

This morning at +12 he is 28, retested him and he was 27.

No hypo symptoms at all though. I'm obviously not shooting and I have him chowing down some food at the moment.

Upset that I have to go to work but I'm going to run home on my lunch and retest at around +17.
 
Re: 8/19 Sparky AMPS 28 ?!

List this as either your AMBG or +12. If you're not shooting, this is not a pre-shot number.

Also, please give Sparky a bit of high carb food to bring the numbers up. You really want him in the 50s before you leave.
 
Re: 8/19 Sparky AMPS 28 ?!

Hi guys .. wow sparky! What the heck are you doing way down in the 20's? Come back up please, no need to start the morning off with such a low number ... have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 8/19 Sparky AMPS 28 ?!

Aly:

We link our condos (i.e., threads) from the previous day so if necessary, it's easy to backtrack to find information. Here's Sparky's condo from Thursday.

Since you've obviously started home testing, can you get a spreadsheet started? It will help you to keep track of Sparky's numbers and it will allow us to help you in a better informed manner. Here's the link to the spreadsheet template & instructions in the Tech Support forum.

This is the link to your first post on Health, as well. I wanted to respond to your observation that you hadn't heard about cats going back into remission more than once. They do. Jill's Alex has been in and out of remission 3 times. There are others here who's cats have gone back into remission after being on insulin a second time.

You mentioned that Sparky's breath was, ummmm... unpleasant! There are a number of cats who fall out of remission due to dental issues. The inflammation due to gingivitis or if Sparky is in pain from dental issues may raise his BG numbers. Since you're planning on a vet visit, I'd encourage you to get a dental scheduled.

Also, with that 28, you need to lower Sparky's dose.
 
Re: 8/19 Sparky AMPS 28 ?!

Thanks for the replies. Sorry I'm not sure how to link to old posts... i'll have to learn that one quick :) I'll also work on a spreadsheet over the weekend.

I'm an old pro with the hometesting, very important to do. I unfortunately had to leave to get in to the office but Sparky was eating well when I left.

I think there's another Sparky on the board perhaps because I don't remember saying anything about not returning to honeymoos or his breath? If there is and the two of us become confused perhaps I can use a nickname for him to avoid that? His breath isn't worse than normal (though I'm not a fan of cat breath LOL)

I'm glad noone thought I needed to Karo him, in all his years with FD I never saw him go this low so I wasn't sure if food only was the way to go but I was afraid if he was headed back to a honeymoon the Karo would ruin those chances...

So i'm thinking if his numbers are up again tonight I'd try .25 units (we did .5 last night). Sound good? Again, I'm kinda going off what I would have done on the PZI so the insight is appreciated confused_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top