8/19 Max +1~119+3~62+5~101+10~120

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
Good morning. Hope everyone is well.

Max is fine. His neuropathy is really improving, and I notice these things after the fact. In the last few weeks he has started to jump up on the desk . . . cleanly! No scrambling at the last minute; I noticed this with the bed a while back; I was beginning to wonder when he was going to rip my sheets or my mattress there for a while. He takes the stairs not like a 6 year old, but like he did before he starting getting weak. He still leans way over and inches his paws down the side of a stool before he lets himself kind of half fall/half jump down. He probably does have some problem with his joints -- wouldn't we all at 84?

I don't have time to check on everyone's SS's or provide any support. Sorry. I'm going to tackle a bigggg job: Cleaning my stationwagon inside and out. It may kill me, and I may find cheerios in places I never thought possible. I once found a sprouting potato under one of the seats of a hatchback I had. Guess it rolled under there. No, I wasn't alone when I found it . . . and it wasn't even me that found it -- it was the 10 and 12 year old boys I was looking after while their parents had a date. They thought it was very funny. It became a big joke amongst us all; Dale has a garden in her car, ha ha ha.

I just cannot remember to create these darn links!!!! Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77408&p=836391#p836391
Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 8/19 Max AMPS 111 +3.75~76 +5~75 +9~107 +11.5~114 PMPS~1

LOL, oh, the car clean out NEVER happened. It's no surprise really. Well, at least my husband did empty out most of the junk for me such as the mat which was sticky with Karo syrup that spilled out during one of our trips to Del Mar with Max. My husband invited his mother and his brother over for today, and by the time I felt the house looked decent enough that the Hubs could finish the job while trying to keep Emma from harassing Max too much, there was no time for the car. I thought Marjorie would forgive me under those circumstances.

As far as I know there are no root vegetables in there, at least not any that have attempted to sprout while making their own soil!

Max had quite a day though, and it might show a bit in his numbers, but not much. His BG didn't change much in the hour and 15 minutes after the excitement started, and then it didn't rise too much after that.

What happened? Juno came to visit. Juno is my brother-in-law's dog She's a Jack Russel terrier. She lives with a cat, but that cat is used to having a dog around. Max is not. Juno is a huge scaredy cat, and let Max in on that secret the last time she was here. I guess Juno had never been chased by a cat. Before Max was sick with diabetes, at least to my knowledge, Juno came to visit, and as Juno came to the door with my brother-in-law, Max rushed out the door at Juno, and lunged at her. Max chased her all the way to the back side of the house. Juno was terrified, running for dear life and looking back over her shoulder as she did like Wil E. Coyote in a Road Runner cartoon. It was hilarious if you weren't Max or Juno, of course.

This time Juno was required to stay outside which perplexed her as she is not used to being excluded from the "pack." When Max realized she was on the other side of the glass door, the reports are that he literally sprung at the door hissing and spitting with all claws extended in an all-out effort to kill Juno right then and there. We have, never ever seen Max act like this.

My husband immediately thought Max was having a hypoglycemic mania induced episode, and he says his hands were literally shaking as he tested Max's blood immediately after this display of aggression. The chasing of Juno last time was odd, but the dog got away cleanly, and we put Max in a safe room where he stayed without protest. We have seen Max run from dogs, hide from dogs, and show concern over dogs that got somewhat close, but never try to harm or destroy a dog. This time, Max would not put up with being put away in a safe location. He howled and howled until my husband decided it wasn't fair to lock him up if he was protesting it so severely. So, DH let Max come back out where the rest of the group were, and Max continued to lay right by the glass door and periodically try to kill Juno through the glass. Juno was terrified at first, but eventually, due to the fact that her master was inside the glass and the fact that the glass protected her from Max, apparently, Juno decided she could sit outside the glass and act very "put out" indeed (no pun intended, lol).

When I came home, I came in the door while carefully keeping the dog out, and as soon as I closed to door I saw Max launch himself at the glass -- no holds barred trying to rip this dog to shreds. I couldn't believe it. He was hissing and spitting with his claws out and his paws flying around as if they were the Wolverine's. Really crazy! The only thing I can think of is that this is the first dog that has ever shown fear of Max, and by golly, he's going to enjoy his superiority! Maybe it's the location, his age, his old man grumpiness; I don't know. I hope he doesn't try to do this to any other dog who isn't so intimidated!
 
Re: 8/19 Max AMPS 111 PMPS +116 +1~119+3~62

Wow, a 62! I'll have to get up and test him again at +4. Anti-jinx: I want him to earn a reduction without having to raise the dose! Pretty please, Max!
 
Re: 8/19 Max AMPS 111 PMPS +116 +1~119+3~62

Geez, what a Max-Story! I know it must have been weird and a bit worrying, but as you said, when you aren't in it, it's very funny indeed :mrgreen: Nice looking (+3) there. Fingers crossed for earning that redux!

Jane
 
Re: 8/19 Max AMPS 111 PMPS +116 +1~119+3~62 Tough Q?

Hi, Jane, I know you are in bed by now or on your way there. Too bad we miss each other, but that's just the way of the world, huh, what being on two different sides of it and all!

Hello, Everyone:

Oh, my, last night was a mess. I set an alarm on the computer for +4 to see if Max went too low, and at +5 I woke up to the alarm going off, and realizing that I'd been dreaming about the alarm. I guess I dreamt about it for an hour because it was set correctly. Max had gone from 62 at +3 to 101 at +5. Bounce?

Now at +10, he's at 120. I don't know what to do with the shot. Is it best to assume he did not earn a reduction? Or is it better to see that this is most likely a bounce because he has not jumped 40 points or more from +3 to +5 in the recent past without an outside stimulus such as a car ride?
I hate to miss taking a reduction when he needs one. I think it is safe to assume that he went low in between and bounced up. I can't imagine any other reason for this unusual uptick at +5.
 
Re: 8/19 Max +1~119+3~62+5~101+10~120Tough DOSE Q 40MIN. LEF

I'm not supposed to be on here :-D but I'd hold the dose. Unless you have a test that shows he went down, I wouldn't decrease.

Shhhhh...you didn't see me. :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 8/19 Max +1~119+3~62+5~101+10~120Tough DOSE Q 30MIN. LEF

Marjorie! Bad, Marjorie, Bad! But thank you! Will do. Hope Gracie is well. Have wonderful day.
 
Re: 8/19 Max +1~119+3~62+5~101+10~120Tough DOSE Q 30MIN. LEF

I saw nothing. :lol:
150_1136644.jpg



I think the dose looks fine.
 
Dale,

That was a funny story about Max and the little dog. It seems Max is enjoying being a bully when he gets a chance. :lol: It must have been funny to watch the whole scenario.

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top