8/19 Jynx AMBG 38, 77 at +8 of OTJ Day 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Jynx

Member Since 2011
Good morning!

Jynx is in the green again today (I think I'm getting the lingo around here)! I'm so proud of him.

I used your helpful suggestions, and added water to his food. Jynx had a beautiful BM early this a.m. He also ate his breakfast (with a slight hesitance, but he finished most of it).

I might take Jynx over to the vet for a check-up today, so I can be sure everything is okay before leaving this weekend to visit my father in the hospital. DH will be here, though, in case something changes.

I hope all of your kitties are feeling well, and everyone has a great day.

yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50246
 
Re: 8/19 Jynx AMBG 38 OTJ Day 4

Will your DH be posting? He won't be the only guy here!! Promise. We'll make sure that Marje's DH, Mike, visits.
 
Re: 8/19 Jynx AMBG 38 OTJ Day 4

Just need to VENT :!: :!:

First, before I get started, I'll say that I love my vet office. All of the vets there are wonderful. It's an AAHA practice, and I wouldn't trust anyone else with my pets' care. I've also gotten to know them while doing my co-op there in the past, and like all of them very much.

Saying that, here's how the visit went today.

No "congratulations on being OTJ". Or "Looks like you are doing the correct things for Jynx". I explained again my reasoning for the care I've been giving him. I've already given them a copy of the protocol, and explained that I'm following the recommended home care by AAHA. I was told that I was getting carried away with the home testing, and that the preferred insulin (by the vet I saw today) was not Lantus due to drastic dips/rises in BG that I had seen in the past couple of weeks. She tested his BG there on their glucometer (77), and charged me $14 to do so. She also gave me a glucotest to sprinkle in the litter box, so that he wouldn't need to be "poked" - which I found out cost $42 at check out!!! Aaaaa! I respect the vets there, and am sad about how they feel about the care I've been giving.

Anyway, Jynx was given a clean bill of health with his digestive tract, and she felt that he didn't need insulin at this time, and would leave him off of the medicine for the next couple of weeks, even if the BS#s began to rise :( Guess I'll take it one day at a time, and cross that bridge when I get to it.

Just feeling a bit frustrated today!

Edit - I'm sorry that I was complaining, when there are so many sick kitties here. I'm so blessed that Jynx has been stable the last couple of days. I was just a bit put off by the appt.
 
Re: Frustrated 8/19 Jynx AMBG 38, 77 at +8 of OTJ Day 4

I really like my vet, as well. She thinks I test too much. I've not pointed out to her that I have a cat who's BG can plummet early in the cycle. I'm not entirely sure how she would suggest I handle that other than by testing and, oh yeah, I figured out that this is Gabby's pattern how? Right -- testing. So what would the corollary be in humans? You test before or after meals and/or shot times. Somehow, I think that would play out to about the minimum number of tests we get with our cats. I suspect that someone has written in an endocrinology book somewhere that home testing stresses out the cat and is unnecessary. AAHA recommendations now differ. And I don't know about Jynx, but I can tell you where Gabby is more stressed and it's not sitting on my kitchen counter waiting to be tested -- it's the vet's office. I politely agree to disagree with my vet and do what I think is right for my cat.

As for urine glucose testing, it's inaccurate. It does not give you to the minute readings. Urine takes time to collect and fill the bladder. The glucose level is hours old. If you were concerned about a cat being in low numbers, you wouldn't be able to tell. And, furthermore, urine glucose testing does not give accurate readings in low numbers. Renal threshold has to be exceeded for glucose to be assayed in the urine -- this is at about 220 on a meter. So, if you know how to use a meter, urine testing is pretty much worthless. The American Diabetes Assn has stated that urine glucose testing should only be used if BG testing is impossible.
 
I don't get it either. Why are vets opposed to all the testing? It is extremely frustrating when in the face of solid data , some vets just won't budge from what they think is best.
Sometimes you just have to smile and nod, and then go about your business!
 
Lisa, you are doing a good job, and Jynx's numbers are a direct reflection of that. Don't let your vet get you down -- I've concluded that most vets unfamiliar with FD would rather defend their job and reputation by not recommending home testing in case something goes wrong at home, at the owner wants to blame the vet, because the vet said it was okay. You know what I mean? They're looking out for themselves which is understandable, but also know that if it was THEIR cat with diabetes, they would test it every day.
Keep your head up -- Jynx is responding so well to the diet and is doing great on the OTJ trial. Your vet is legitimate and certified, sure, but the people on this board are compassionate and knowledgable individuals who deal with FD EVERY DAY, which IMO is an invaluable service. You're doing awesome!
 
Lisa:

Great number for Jynx today. Many of us have had these conversations with our vets. You just have to have a thick skin, say "thank you", and then do what you know is best.

Have a great trip. Unfortunately, my better half, Mike, who is a frequent poster, is working this weekend but I know Ann's DH, John, is on duty as Ann is gone over the weekend. So see...your DH will not be alone!
 
Hi Lisa,

I am John, Ann's DH who will be looking in at your DH over the weekend. Jynx is really looking good. Nice numbers so far.

Sorry about your vet visit. The vet that first diagnosed Tess did not give us a great deal of confidence. We felt he didn't know much about diabetes, like low carb diet and BG testing, so we switched vets. Ann found this group the next day and after a little research thought she wanted to try lantus, and we started home testing right away. We saw the new vet the next week. This was actually a vet clinic we had gone to several years earlier, that had quit and then started again. Ann came armed with a spreadsheet of Tess's BG readings, and a copy of the lantus protocol. The vet examined Tess and said that Ann probably knew more about treatment that she did, and she helped us get the insulin prescription and gave us some advice about testing and shooting. She (actually a couple of vets at the clinic) watch Tess's general health, and we manage the diabetes with the help of FDMB. This is the kind of arrangement I would want with my doctor.

Jynx looks like he should do fine with the wet low carb diet and no insulin for a few days. I'll be looking for your posts. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ~ ~ John
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top