8/19 Joplin AMPS: 271; +4: 51 -Dose advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherylockholmes

Member Since 2013
8/18 Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=102540

Yesterday Joplin got a dose descrease for falling to 30. I'm not sure what the high number this morning was (perhaps a bounce?), but now at +4 he is 51!!! One shy of earning another dose decrease. Do you think I can give it to him this PM and move him to 2.5? (my meter is not exact!)
 
Cheryl

The Lantus depot from a higher dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles in "some" cats so we try not to give back to back reductions. Low numbers today are likely still from the depot and from clearing the bounce. I'd hold the dose for now and see how he does as the depot drains.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Cheryl

The Lantus depot from a higher dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles in "some" cats so we try not to give back to back reductions. Low numbers today are likely still from the depot and from clearing the bounce. I'd hold the dose for now and see how he does as the depot drains.

I just tested him before his PM shot, and he is only at 79. I'm just so afraid to give him the full dose. Thoughts??
 
If your shot schedule is flexible, you can stall without feeding, and test again in 30 minutes and see if he has come up enough for you to feel comfortable shooting. You would need to be able to shoot his next dose 12 hours from when you shoot tonight.
You could shoot a BCS dose (which is a one time temporarily reduced dose) which often doesn't affect this cycle much as most of his numbers would be from the depot from previous doses, but could affect subsequant cycles.
You could skip.
You could shoot the full dose now, as long as you have all the supplies you need and will be home to monitor and test him. If you shoot, I would start tonight's testing with a +1 and a +2 and see how it goes. He should start coming up some on his own once you feed him, and the onset of the new dose is usually around +2, so he has time to come up before the dose of insulin takes effect.

It's up to you. You are the one holding the syringe.
I won't be around tonight, but I'm sure others will be to help you through the cycle.
 
Dyana said:
If your shot schedule is flexible, you can stall without feeding, and test again in 30 minutes and see if he has come up enough for you to feel comfortable shooting. You would need to be able to shoot his next dose 12 hours from when you shoot tonight.
You could shoot a BCS dose (which is a one time temporarily reduced dose) which often doesn't affect this cycle much as most of his numbers would be from the depot from previous doses, but could affect subsequant cycles.
You could skip.
You could shoot the full dose now, as long as you have all the supplies you need and will be home to monitor and test him. If you shoot, I would start tonight's testing with a +1 and a +2 and see how it goes. He should start coming up some on his own once you feed him, and the onset of the new dose is usually around +2, so he has time to come up before the dose of insulin takes effect.

It's up to you. You are the one holding the syringe.
I won't be around tonight, but I'm sure others will be to help you through the cycle.

I think I'm going to do a reduced dose tonight.
 
Deb & Wink said:
Sounds like a good plan. Joplin is certainly nice and green today. :mrgreen:

Yes, but only 2 hours in, and he's already down to 57. I think it's going to be a long night. ~O) I really hope I don't have to end up using syrup or honey on him. I haven't had to do anything like that yet. I know it says a TBSP, but isn't that a LOT?? Hopefully this doesn't happen...just preparing myself...
 
Just be calm and breathe. We have all been here. Being newly diagnosed you probably shoulndt have shot under 200. Just keep testing, the food will bring up numbers for a bit. You can add a little bit of honey to the food also if you want. Good luck tonight and try and get naps in between testing.
 
Let me look at his SS and I will be right back. Did you feed, what, and how much? If you haven't fed, I'd give him three large tsp of HC gravy...no food. Retest in 30 mins.

Sound ok? I will BRB for your response.
 
The above applies to the +3 of 47 but also add one drop of syrup and retest in 30.

When numbers are coming down like this, you always want to test every 30 mins.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
The above applies to the +3 of 47 but also add one drop of syrup and retest in 30.

When numbers are coming down like this, you always want to test every 30 mins.

Just tested him at +4 and he is up to 69. I had given him some HC food (Precise Holistic Flaked Chicken). Do you recommend any better brands to have on hand that are known for being high carb with gravy?
 
Good....could you please keep your subject line updated? I'm working about five cats tonight and it helps me to be able to just check their subject lines and pop in if I see any problems. Thank you!

I would give him a couple tsp of LC food now and retest in no more than a hour.

I don't use HC for Gracie but alot of people use the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers. I think if you have something that works for him, I'd use it. I'd use something that can bring him up without syrup although if he gets in the 30s, it's a good idea to give him a drop of karo.

In the future, when he gives you 40s or 50s, I'd test every 30 mins. Once you know him well and know his patterns, you can decide how to space out testing.
 
If he's had HC food or karo, that will wear off and he might come back down. I'd set my alarm to get up and check him again in about 2 hours. He might be headed up and up...or he could come back down.
 
Hi Cheryl!

I haven't noticed you on the boards for some time, and am concerned. How is Joplin? I see your SS is up to date, though. Is everything alright?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top