8/19 -Fitzel -+3.5-30/+4-33/+4.5-41/+5-51/+6-57/+7-74

Status
Not open for further replies.
Still no computer and my iPhone is so not co-operating with google and my condo from yesterday.

We're trying out the new dose. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile Well at least that's what I think I'm doing.

Sending out much love to everyone who helped me help Fitzel through her hypo yesterday. So many furrs at 32 +5. I sense a fuzzy pact.

OT: I need a new RELIABLE laptop that will let me interact freely with google apps and has a dependable Internal wireless adapter. That's what keeps crashing On our 2 year old Dell Inspiron. All suggestions will be test driven and gratefully accepted. (no worries I won't hold anyone's feet to the fire if I get a lemon. I just truly need one now and I hate buying something like this without months of research)

Shai
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139

Paws crossed for the new dose! No suggestions about the laptop but someone will have one.
Liz
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139

No advise on laptops here.
I don't like them very much myself. I don't like their battery issues and cord issues. Ours crashes too often, the cords never match the quality of the computer and the module overheats.
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139/+3.5-30/+4-33

Can anybody say deja vu?

This has to be my fault. I am taking the plunger to a hard zero. But I'm either not doing that when I inject her or some other Bean related issue.

I am stressed beyond stressed out and neither Fitzel nor I can take many more days like this.
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139/+3.5-30/+4-33

Breathe. All is good. You will look back on this one day, and smile and feel more confidant.
Give Fitzel a bit of HC, and test again in 20. Did you feed HC at +3.5?
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139/+3.5-30/+4-33

(((((Shai))))) You are doing great! FD is a crazy disease, no doubt about that. Fitzel will be fine.
Liz
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139/+3.5-30/+4-33/+4.5-41

Hi Dyana -

yes I fed a bit of HC food 30. Then a tiny bit of Karo at 33. Now she's at 41 and I'm just waiting. I don't want to over carb her into a fast high and then another dive.

Breathing is sporadic at best. I checked my syringe dosing with some colored water just now. It's a drop but this can't be what I'm doing. It just can't be or she wouldn't be crashing like this.
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139/+3.5-30/+4-33/+4.5-41

Hang in there, Shai! Fitzel is probably just showing you, with a definite flair for drama, how determined she is to be ready, some day soon it seems, to go from mini-micro amounts of insulin to *antijinx* You-Know-Where :mrgreen: Fingers crossed!

Glad you have back-up tonight as it's ni-ni time here. I'll check in tomorrow :smile:
Jane
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139/+3.5-30/+4-33/+4.5-41

That's GREAT that it's just a drop. You are doing exactly the right thing. Breathe. Breathe. Breathe. :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139/+3.5-30/+4-33/+4.5-41

Hi Liz -

Thank you for checking in on us. I sure don't feel like I'm doing fine. This is related to something, that I dont realize I'm doing, when I shoot. I've got to figure out what I'm doing wrong. This is so not good for Fitzels insides.

Hi Jane and goodnight. Curl up with that beautiful OTJ boy.
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139/+3.5-30/+4-33/+4.5-41/+5-51

Could just be that Fitz is a cat and this is a difficult disease and you are doing a super job for her. I wish we could control everything perfectly but that's just not the way it is. Isn't that annoying? :lol: :lol: That 51 is looking good.
Liz
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139/+3.5-30/+4-33/+4.5-41/+5-51/+6-5

That 57 is looking real nice. I have to leave for about an hour. I'll check in when I get back.
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139/+3.5-30/+4-33/+4.5-41/+5-51/+6-5

You're doing great, Shai ! That's a beautiful green chain for Fitzel. That's three solid hours when his pancreas got the time to heal!
Keep on surfing Fitzel! :mrgreen:
 
I see Fitzel is toying with the idea of giving up insulin some day.

It's a good thing you decided you let everyone help you get there, huh?
Perfect timing, I would say. ;-)
 
Fitzel is looking good! Don't assume you are doing something wrong... some cats really are that sensitive to a drop of insulin. If you have checked your dose and you're confident, then Fitzel might be one of those cats.

To me, it still looks like Fitzel needs some insulin, but definitely he needs a more creative approach to keep him safe. Hitting 30s on a single drop means we need to think outside the box.

There are a couple of things you can try:

One would be to have a "no-shoot" number. That means if he is below a certain number at shot time, you don't give insulin. If he is above that number, give one drop and monitor. To start with, a no-shoot number of 200 seems prudent for Fitzel. After trying it a few times, we might find that we can adjust that number. What *might* happen is that he might never hit 200, or he might just need a shot every once in a while. These days we are used to shooting low to help the cats reach remission. Just a few years ago, though, many cats went OTJ just by getting the cat down to a low dose and then shooting only when they went over 200. Fitzel is a newly diagnosed diabetic, so it might work. If not, then at least you won't be giving insulin until he is high enough to (hopefully) stay out of the 30s.

The second idea would be to try shooting just once a day, in the morning. Skipping the evening shots *might* let his depot drain enough that the single shot won't make him drop so far. I'm honestly not even sure if that will keep him out of the 30s, though. It looks like on 8/10 you skipped three shots and he still hit 50s just 2 hours after his next shot. I'm concerned that he still might drop like a rock even if you only shoot once a day.

The only way to know for sure what will work is to pick one and try it. What do you think?
 
Re: 8/19 -Fitzel - AMPS-139/+3.5-30/+4-33/+4.5-41/+5-51/+6-5

Look at Fitzel go! I think she's tired of this insulin stuff. :lol:

I'm pretty good at fixing desktops but laptops don't really have too many things you can fix. I'm not sure what your problem is. Internet Adapters are usually software settings aren't they?

Melanie & Racci
 
Sherry- here with Shai here on phone- I have meet Shai and Fitzel :mrgreen:

Shai- really thanks everyone for their input as I have read all responses to her because her wireless connection is dead- as well as her laptop:(

@ Liiby and Lucy- she really likes the idea of shooting just in the am as this would be most convenient for her- from this weekend Shai has decided (from my advice over the phone- that this is the safest thing for both of them because they are both exhausted from the weekend) tomorrow is a day off from any insulin due to Fitzel being totally stressed with all the testing as well as her mama-she will call me tomorrow morning with an update.

Amma update (I had to ask)- she is growing like like a little weed- she has new digs- she is in new kitty playpen 4 feet tall with a ladder and shelf which she has already figured out how to use and she loves it!!

Shai again thanks each and every one of you for all of the help and advice.

Shai & Fitzel
 
Sherry & Squirt (GA) said:
@ Liiby and Lucy- she really likes the idea of shooting just in the am as this would be most convenient for her- from this weekend Shai has decided (from my advice over the phone- that this is the safest thing for both of them because they are both exhausted from the weekend) tomorrow is a day off from any insulin due to Fitzel being totally stressed with all the testing as well as her mama-she will call me tomorrow morning with an update.
She'll need to be able to test A LOT if she gives insulin, especially if he is under 200. We've seen that Fitzel can dive from 130s to 30s and there is no guarantee that he won't, even if the depot drains. Test much earlier in the cycle than usual so if he starts to dive, you can catch it and intervene with food.

It's worth a try to see if SID shooting works but definitely stay on top of the testing until we know how Fitzel responds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top