8/19: Cedric amps 317, pmps 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

doombuggy

Member Since 2011
Twice this past week he has gone low (63 last monday and 44 yesterday) in the am. his dose was 2.25 units twice a day. it appears that his organs are starting to do their job, and because he drops low, the balance is off with the insulin injection. I decied to lower his dose to 2 units stating last night, as I expect the same thing to happen again sometime this week - going low. Yesterday he went from 204 at 1am to 44 at 6am.

Thougths are appreciated! We need all the help we can get! confused_cat
 
Re: 8/19: Cedric amps 317

If it was Lucian, I'd have done the same thing. Just MHO.

You know Cedric's past health issues with FD better than any of us. You keep check on ketones, etc. As long as everything else is good, I don't see why a reduction should be a problem. I'm sure someone with more knowledge will chime in.

How's his tummy doing?
 
Re: 8/19: Cedric amps 317

This morning's higher number may still be a bounce from yesterday's low. I think you made a wise choice to lower Cedric's dose to 2.00. Give it a couple of days to settle in.

All the best,

Claudia
 
Re: 8/19: Cedric amps 317

You know Cedrics dance better than anyone- even with his recent health romp. You are on target and am testing daily for those pesky little buggers I am sure.

He's healing again so better numbers (and twice in short time) is good news! Reduction appears in order :-D
 
Re: 8/19: Cedric amps 317

thanks for the reassurance. I get nervous with him, I just want him to get better (and apparently he does too). The pill pocket worked fro his cerinia yesterday, but he still did that licking thing, so I think it foamed him just a little bit.

The other thing that made me nervous today was Dallas at the water bowl. I never see him drinking water. God forbid if he ends up diabetic (from eating too much the bugger), as one of his ears is damaged from the hematoma he had and they are "sensitive..." Glad I am taking a day off on Friday!
 
Re: 8/19: Cedric amps 317

Will be saying prayers you don't have another Sugarkitty. :YMHUG:

My old girl, 17 this Sept, is dry, flaky, prone to mats, doesn't preen, chubby, drinks/pees a lot, etc. I was so scared to test her, just KNOWING at her age, etc, she had to be diabetic, too. It took me 6 weeks to get up the nerve to test her. I was really that scared to see what she would give me. And she tested at 60!! I was sooooo relieved. So she's just an old slob, not a diabetic! :lol:

Hon, if you're concerned about it, test him. nailbite_smile Get it over with. You'll either be relieved or have another one to treat. But at least you'll KNOW. :thumbup

Lucian has a scalloped ear, around the edges, from fighting as a young boy. His ears aren't in best of shapes, thin and crackly/leathery and that bugs me when I poke him. Because they are thin, it's also hard not to pierce his ear. :o My bff says I need to put a tiny gold hoop earring in one ear, the tiny hoops they use for babies. :-D I don't think he'd go for that. cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 8/19: Cedric amps 317

I test both my civies once a month. That way, I know what their baseline BG levels are. Also, if either one of them started to get high BG's it would be a sign to me that maybe an infection or inflammation was in the works so a vet visit might be a good idea. Just may take on testing and knowing what is going on.
 
Re: 8/19: Cedric amps 317

Deb, you are so right! I don't know why I haven't been testing both my civvies, like monthly. One hasn't been tested at all, that's going to change today. :-D Gonna test both the civvies and mark it on the calender to do monthly. Thanks for that bit of info, it didn't even occur to me and I'm not normally that dense! :lol:
 
Re: 8/19: Cedric amps 317

Wink went OTJ way back the middle of March. I had just opened a vial of 50 test strips, and needed some way to use them up. Wink didn't need a lot more testing than once a week, so that is when I started testing my 2 civies.

Figured it couldn't hurt, and I just might catch something going on like a dental issue. You know how well cats hide pain and other issues. I only take my cats to the vet once a year unless something seems off. This let's me 'head an issue off at the pass' so to speak.
 
Aw poor Cedric just isn't up to playing in the water with Lucian and Snoball. I hope he feels better soon so he can come out and play. I too have an elder girl who is matted and drinks a lot of water (less since she started eating raw) and was worried. Turns out that she is just old so I keep her brushed and loved.

I have added Cedric and Dallas to my prayers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top