8/18LT AMPS 421 +4 243 7+ 127 PMPS 149 1+207 2+291

Suzanne Burton

Member Since 2019
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...4-91-5-83-6-114-8-410-10-519-pmps-452.218248/

It's a beautiful morning in southern Colorado - fall is already trying to sneak into the morning air. LT got a bit anxious and excited while we took care of the diabetic dog this a.m. and I think that's why he threw up a small amount of clear, with a very small amount of foam, in it. He was very hungry and cleaned his bowl, so we gave him his insulin (no fur wetness). I'll keep an eye on him, but he doesn't look or act like a sick cat.

Hope everyone has a blessed Sunday.
 
Figaro was having little foamy vomits an hour before shot time for a while. I've been putting a half ounce of wet food (frozen) into a timed feeder for him to have around 3-4am/pm, a few hours before shot time, and it hasn't been an issue since then. He is still hungry in the morning but doesn't seem miserable, as he had before.
 
LT is 149 tonight; what a difference a day makes. I don't want to destroy progress, yet I'm concerned about being up all night if he drops. I know I'm the one who holds the syringe, just looking for input.
 
If it were my cat, I'd shoot the 1U dose ….but it's possible you may have an active night.

Get a +1 and +2 to start with.

The other option would be to stall (if you haven't fed him yet)…..and then test again in 20-30 minutes to see if it continues to rise.
 
Just seeing this now. I didn't get the tag.

You shot a lower number during the day on the 16th. That day, the goal was to keep him in the greens for as long as possible to help get him used to the greens; and for you to learn how to make your cat surf. You gave a lot of snacks and did a good job.

You hold the syringe and know what you are capable of. I cannot stay up with you tonight. Too many late nights are catching up to me and I have obligations in the morning.
 
Ok well, I shot, but just found a little dot with my finger, hopefully, he got some. I sure hope one day I can do this without a fur shot. I'll still test just to make sure.
 
If you're having trouble with using the "tent" method, have you tried the "wrist roll" method?

You grab some fur between your thumb and forefinger and then "roll" your wrist to gently pull the skin....where the fur "breaks", you shoot.

It's kind of hard to describe, but here's a picture that should help give you the general idea.
China skin roll method with circle.jpg
 
I'll practice the wrist roll technique, but it doesn't seem to make a very "thick "area to shoot in. I'm really taking my time, but I'll really work to my best on it. I just dread the numbers in the morning.
 
Back
Top