8/18 Tessa AMPS 123 +2 69 +2.5 55 +3 63 +3.5 70 +5 85 | How to get preshots down?

tessa's mom

Active Member
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...111-2-49-3-60-4-76-earning-reductions.293073/

Tessa is getting some great green streaks on this dose but I can't seem to get her preshots down. I tried searching for advice on this but couldn't really find anything that was relevant to my situation.

I looked back at Tessa's data from her first time on insulin and one thing that stuck out to me is that once she was more regulated she mostly hung around the 70s and 80s. I see some 50s and 60s on there but they were mostly on the Libre which definitely read lower than she actually was. So I wonder if maybe the 60s and 50s she's getting down to sometimes are triggering mini-bounces.

I was wondering if maybe shaving the dose might help with that or am I just crazy with this line of thinking?
 
I dint think shaving the dose will reduce will solve that. I think you are seeing lack of duration rather than bounces. If anything you could actually try an increase as you have not seen the 40’s and as a long term Tessa did not earn a reduction when you took it on 8/12. I need to see what happened on 8/12 that led to your decision.

I see why you reduced. It looks like the switch was not flipped by the dental to me.
 
I dint think shaving the dose will reduce will solve that. I think you are seeing lack of duration rather than bounces. If anything you could actually try an increase as you have not seen the 40’s and as a long term Tessa did not earn a reduction when you took it on 8/12. I need to see what happened on 8/12 that led to your decision.

I see why you reduced. It looks like the switch was not flipped by the dental to me.

Thanks for responding :)

I can see your perspective on it but I also see that she dives then shoots back up. It's very consistent for every single active cycle for over a month now. Dive early on, barely any time spent at the bottom and then going back up. And this is with a significant amount (~1 oz) of 8% carb food given at +1 to help slow down the drop.

This pattern could be seen as a lack of duration or it could be seen as a bounce mechanism.

I personally think it looks more like bouncing. A lot of her AM cycles lately have a higher number in the mid to late part of the cycle before falling to a lower PMPS. I may be wrong but isn't that a sign of a bounce clearing?

Also today her numbers dropped by 50% in 2.5 hours. That seems to be a trigger for a bounce for Tessa. Maybe I should try 8% carb food at both +1 and +1.5 and see if that helps.

I took a reduction on 8/12 because Bhooma suggested it and I trust her judgement. You can see her logic in my previous post.

Her numbers have not been significantly higher since I dropped the dose, they're essentially the same or maybe even slightly better. I would consider trying a dose between 2.75u and 3u but I don't think I want to go back to 3u unless her numbers start to rise overall.
 
Back
Top