8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +11.5 50, PMBG 46

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy&Pepper (GA)

Member Since 2012
yesterday

(sigh)

OT: Has anyone seen any monarch butterflies this year? I planted swamp milkweeds in hopes of raising some caterpillars but so far I haven't seen a single adult monarch. This is the first year I haven't seen any here in southern Ohio.
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398

Yeah, sigh on the amps, but I am getting so hopeful. You are getting so many greens lately. Pepper is keeping you on you toes.
Sorry, I can't help you with the butterflies.

Have a good day!
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +3 359

Hi Doreen. The monarchs migrate from Ohio to Mexico every fall, but I guess they can't quite make it as far as Hawaii!
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +3 359, +5.5 198

Way to go Pepper, nice job breaking that bounce. :-D Did you celebrate National Black Cat Appreciation Day yesterday?

Mary (OliverTwist) had some monarch chrysalis/butterfly pics at her Florida home earlier this year.
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +3 359, +5.5 198

Hi Wendy. Every day is black cat appreciation day around here! Nice photos of the chrysalis. It looks like there must have been a few butterflies down south this spring but none have made it up here.
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +11 57 - Advice?

It's +11 and Pepper is now 57! What should I do now and at PMPS? I'm reading the "How to deal with low pre-shots" sticky now, but this cat has a big depot and has been going very low lately.
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +11 57 - Advice?

Yikes Pepper, that's a big slide today!

I did some reading today on the "shooting low numbers" sticky, and it doesn't completely work for acrocats. You should test again in 1/2 hour, then at PMPS. Paws crossed Pepper starts coming up some. If he does, then you should be OK to shoot. If he drops or doesn't come up, I think your options are to stall until he does come up, shoot a reduced dose (only if surfing and I'd do like a half dose), or skip. If he goes below 50, the Sticky says to feed LC, but that's the wrong thing to do for an acrocat as the pancreas could make the BG lower. If he does go below 50, I think you are looking at a skip because you'll have to feed HC and then the numbers will be food influenced.

As for dose, I'd ditch that 22 for something lower now. Maybe that 44 the other day meant something.

ETA: When I say "shoot if he comes up", I mean over 100.
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +11 57 - Advice?

Hi Wendy! You are like Superwoman swooping in to save the day! Thanks for the advice!
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +11 57

My first test on Neko this morning was a 45 - timing was perfect. I hadn't read that sticky recently myself so I'd been thinking what to do in that situation all day.
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +11 57

Maybe Neko gave you that 45 because she had a feeling Pepper was going to need a little help today.
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +11 57, +11.5 50

Ummm, Pepper, that's the wrong direction.

I retested this morning and got a 116 so either she zoomed up really quickly or it was a bad test. But it got me thinking what I'd do. I actually looked at your SS because Pepper has done this before, and you either stalled, shot a reduced dose or skipped depending on the numbers. Once Neko starts zooming, she can really fly up so stalling could work for me unless she went under 50.
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +11 57, +11.5 50

Pepper's been going so low this week that I feel if I stalled until he was over 100 and then gave his shot he'd just go super low again. A reduced dose or skipping seems safer to me right now.
 
Re: 8/18 Pepper AMPS 398, +11.5 50, PMBG 46 - Advice?

This looks like a skip, a definite dose reduction and some HC gravy liberally placed over top of his dinner. Unless you really want to stall - a lot. In which case you'd feed HC, then see what his numbers look like in a couple hours before shooting. But I think his shed is full, a skip will help drain it. And the bonus is some sleep. I'd still test every half hour for a bit to make sure he's coming up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top