8/18 • Bowie • AMPS=87, +1=81, +11=87, PMPS=107, +1=78

Mon & Bo

Member Since 2026
Yesterday's post - 8/17: 92 AMPS

Hi everyone! Second post for me and Bo. Thank you to Marje, Tim, and Liz for your helpful insights and input yesterday!

I held off on giving Bowie insulin last night since her blood glucose was under 150 and I am still new to feline diabetes and collecting data. I wouldn't be able to track her BG regularly throughout the night.

This morning, Bowie was at 127 at 8 AM ET (+45 from her last shot) and 73 at 10 AM ET (+47 from her last shot) but retested right after at 91.

I am planning on retesting Bowie and administering her full 1u of insulin at 11 AM ET (even if she is under 150) and monitoring her closely throughout the day. I trying to follow the TR method, but until my calipers arrive I will have to stick to 1u or eyeball a reduction.

I welcome any input / suggestions / ideas from this community on this approach.
 
Yesterday's post - 8/17: 92 AMPS

Hi everyone! Second post for me and Bo. Thank you to Marje, Tim, and Liz for your helpful insights and input yesterday!

I held off on giving Bowie insulin last night since her blood glucose was under 150 and I am still new to feline diabetes and collecting data. I wouldn't be able to track her BG regularly throughout the night.

This morning, Bowie was at 127 at 8 AM ET (+45 from her last shot) and 73 at 10 AM ET (+47 from her last shot) but retested right after at 91.

I am planning on retesting Bowie and administering her full 1u of insulin at 11 AM ET (even if she is under 150) and monitoring her closely throughout the day. I trying to follow the TR method, but until my calipers arrive I will have to stick to 1u or eyeball a reduction.

I welcome any input / suggestions / ideas from this community on this approach.
Do you want 11/11 to be your normal shot times? We don’t usually shoot more than two hours late so if you shoot at 11 am (which you can do because she’s not had insulin in a bit) then you would have to shoot at 11 pm or slowly start backing up to your ideal shot time by no more than 30 mins a day.

Edited to add: looks like you shot so you would need to shoot at 11 tonight or if you want to move your shot time backwards, at 10:30 tonight.

Please be sure you get a +1 and +2 test and post.

For the subject line, we only need today’s numbers, not anything from yesterday. Thank you.😊
 
Hi Marje! I guess I would like to move up her shot times so I can do more post-shot monitoring in the evenings, but sometimes I am not home until about 10PM. It's good to know I can shift her schedule slowly over time.

For the subject line, we only need today’s numbers, not anything from yesterday.
Got it, thanks! I updated it to start with today's AMPS.
 
Hi Marje! I guess I would like to move up her shot times so I can do more post-shot monitoring in the evenings, but sometimes I am not home until about 10PM. It's good to know I can shift her schedule slowly over time.


Got it, thanks! I updated it to start with today's AMPS.
You can….15 minutes a cycle or 30 mins once a day. I always found the latter to be easier.

She should onset at +2 so that’s an important test to grab especially since she was flat at +1.
 
Got it, thank you! Just got a reading of 64 at +2, so the insulin is starting to kick in.
I don’t know how you are currently feeding her but we suggest starting with dividing her daily portion of food in half; one half will be fed during the am cycle and one during the pm cycle. Then divide each half into four minimeals to give her at PS, +1, +2, +3.

That’s the starting place but some cats have to have it modified a bit. I’d feed her some now and retest at +3. You want to stay on to of her BG today and be sure and catch her lowest number (nadir) so we can tell if this is the right dose for her.
 
Then divide each half into four minimeals to give her at PS, +1, +2, +3.
Ah, noted! I have been dividing up her meals throughout the day, but will try to concentrate feedings at PS, +1, +2, and +3. Bowie likes to graze throughout the day.

I fed her around +2.25 and retested at +3, she was at 64 again.
 
Oh that's great! I wasn't sure how to interpret it. But I'm glad her blood glucose isn't rapidly dropping.
Lantus, in a well-regulated cat, is known for its flat cycles with long duration. That doesn’t mean she won’t drop more between now and nadir.

Unless she drops below 50, you want to avoid feeding her after about +6 or you will possibly diminish her duration. You can, however, give her zero carb treats like freeze dried chicken breast.
 
Lantus, in a well-regulated cat, is known for its flat cycles with long duration. That doesn’t mean she won’t drop more between now and nadir.

Unless she drops below 50, you want to avoid feeding her after about +6 or you will possibly diminish her duration. You can, however, give her zero carb treats like freeze dried chicken breast.

Got it! Thank you for all of the helpful advice!
 
Got it! Thank you for all of the helpful advice!
You’re welcome. If she drops around PMPS, but it’s not lower than her nadir, it’s the Lantus “second dip”. It should come back up after PS but then when she onsets, she might come down if she doesn’t bounce.

I hope you can shoot 1u tonight.
 
Bowie just tested at 87 for her PMPS. Do you think it's ok to shoot 1u? I feel like I'm in the same situation as yesterday.

Is there a chance that building up her insulin depot again could cause her numbers to dip tonight?
 
Bowie just tested at 87 for her PMPS. Do you think it's ok to shoot 1u? I feel like I'm in the same situation as yesterday.

Is there a chance that building up her insulin depot again could cause her numbers to dip tonight?
If you can monitor her, I’d shoot. You had a similar AMPS.

Hard to say on the depot. Typically, we might see some New Dose Wonkiness where the BG goes up a bit at first. Or she could be one that doesn’t get NDW and she might do what she did in the am cycle.

Be sure you get a +2.
 
Ok great! Her BG increased a bit to 107 and I just gave her the 1u shot. I'll keep an eye on her blood glucose to make sure it doesn't drop too much at +1 and +2, and a few times in the night.
 
Back
Top