8/18 Lab news about Tucker

Tucker

Member Since 2018
Tucker saw his regular vet on Friday. He seems mostly like his old silly self except at night when he gets cranky with his siblings. She manipulated the heck out of his belly and he never winced. His tail area seems a bit sensitive. We are going to try 0.5 meloxicam as she thinks he had some inflammation. We are waiting on blood results to see what his pancreatitis level is. He is back to eating like a pig. I just caught him eating a peanut.... This is what a guilty Tucker looks like:
4CEF2360-D02D-4BCA-B255-BCE2F6D2C582.jpeg
 
One...that we know of! He ran off with it and hid inside mum's red coat and when I caught up with him he gulped it down.
 
OMG, I love that cat! He's such a scamp and so very cute. Keeps you on your toes Patty. Hope for improvement every single day and no more critical events.
 
Just before Tucky fell ill with pancreatitis he had been in a dose reduction trend where he had some scary low hypos. While in the kitty ICU he was on a different kind of insulin administered through a continuous drip. Since going back to Lantus we started at his previous dose of 1.25 units but he was barely under the pee threshold, running at high teens/ low 20s (he seemed nauseated and not quite himself - not sure if it was the high BG level or still some pancreatitis so we proceeded with caution).
Forward 2 weeks and our (super) vet is home and had us increase to 1.5 but without much improvement in his BG level she waited a few days and had us increase to 1.75.
At 1.75 he was doing better but we were still looking at pink (high teens/300s) BG levels. Yesterday we had an AMPS of 400, so she increased him to 2 units. He immediately dipped down to the yellows and his personality, eyes, fur, everything just exploded back to his silly self. Trilling hello, head booping, stealing peanuts, walking straight up my chest and laying his cheek on mine (he wraps his paws around my neck to sleep, Mr. Adorables is back!).
Question :
After1 dose of 2 units he dropped to yellows, 231.
After 2 doses he went into the blues over night, 144 and 129.
His morning pretest was just 7(126). I'm currently stalling, I'm worried he will continue to drop and I don't want to put him at risk. It's 5:30am in Australia and too early to get advice from our vet (or even bug @Bron and Sheba (GA) ). Before pancreatitis I would have shot without concern at this pretest level. Looking at his overnight drop concerns me. Do I reduce back to 1.75? A hypo when he is still recovering from pancreatitis could be dangerous. Advice, please?
@JeffJ
 
Have you retested?
The metacam he has just started has probably had something or a lot to do with the lower numbers. Sheba’s numbers dropped a lot when she first went onto metacam.
We certainly don’t want him to drop like he did the last time that is for sure.
You haven’t had a Preshot like this since before the pancreatitis.
Others may not agree but I would give a 1/2 dose of 1 unit and see how he goes. Then probably go back to 1.25 units. Completely not TR protocol but I know what Tucker is like.
And have plenty of higher carb food available.
 
Patty --

It's so good to hear that Tucker is back to his usual, affectionate self. It's really hard for me to respond to your question. There's no PM data and the AM data is pretty thin. Is there any way you can start collecting a few more tests? That before bed test is essential.
 
Hi Patty - I'm not on the forum as much since Leoberry passed. I'm glad to hear Tucker has recovered so well. And it looks like he is nearing BG regulation again.

I told Theresa about the peanut thief, and we both laughed. We can say one thing for sure - Tucker just loves a varied diet. Glad to hear he is trilling his hello's to you. Little Dude does the same thing.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Patty - I'm not on the forum as much since Leoberry passed. I'm glad to hear Tucker has recovered so well. And it looks like he is nearing BG regulation again.

I told Theresa about the peanut thief, and we both laughed. We can say one thing for sure - Tucker just loves a varied diet. Glad to hear he is trilling his hello's to you. Little Dude does the same thing.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I have something to share with Theresa that will make her smile.
I was feeling exhausted a little bit ago and decided to lay down on the bed with the two boys sleeping at my feet. Must have dozed off immediately. No joke just woke up and tiook a picture of the first thing I saw when I opened my eyes... Wait for it...
 
I have something to share with Theresa that will make her smile.
I was feeling exhausted a little but ago and decided to lay down on the bed with the two boys sleeping at my feet. Must have dozed off immediately. No joke just woke up and tiook a picture of the first thing I saw when I opened my eyes... Wait for it...
377BD193-5074-412D-9A0E-D39AD94CA64A.jpeg

Why... Helllooo Tucky! (The little teeth though ). I love his booplesnoop! He was almost named "Rudy" because it glows in the dark.
 
Last edited:
LOL here in the house. I just showed Theresa all three pics. She said "Tucker is so cute - the little peanut thief".:bighug::bighug::bighug:

We are both very happy to see his recovery. His latest issue was real grim, and his recovery was uplifting to us (and all here).
 
LOL here in the house. I just showed Theresa all three pics. She said "Tucker is so cute - the little peanut thief".:bighug::bighug::bighug:

We are both very happy to see his recovery. His latest issue was real grim, and his recovery was uplifting to us (and all here).
Thank you, I don't know that we are fully out of the woods yet and I do fear this complication will shorten his time with us, but we are grateful for today. I think of you two often and hope LD is coping. Are you thinking about a new buddy for him yet?
 
I think of you two often and hope LD is coping. Are you thinking about a new buddy for him yet?
Thanks Patty. All bonds with diabetic kittehs are strong - I think because we spend even more time with them.

LD seems to be partly bonded with the 2 little dogs. And Theresa too. Whenever she gets on the couch to watch TV, LD is up on her lap within a few minutes. I think he is pretty happy these days. He sleeps right next to the little dogs at night. He is a night owl. The dogs get up in the morning, and LD is always the last one out...with squinty sleepy eyes.
 
19 days after the pancreatitis diagnosis the animal hospital rang this afternoon. Tucker's new pancreatitis blood test came back. They said his initial test of "greater than 50" was the highest result they had ever seen with the average very sick cat positive result being around 18. (In other words, he was in dire shape.). A negative result is 3.5 or lower. The head vet rang because they were all shocked that Tucker's repeat test taken on Friday came back today at 4.5. He had the 4 doctors and all the nurses on speaker cheering! It was amazing! I just wanted to thank all of you for your kind words and thoughts and prayers. They have called his recovery a bit of a miracle and I am sure all of you helped! ❤️
 
This is great news. When you phoned and told me the result today I was so happy for that rascal boy and for you and your family.

The staff at the 24 hour ER are truly amazing and it’s great to see vets who care enough to work against the odds of success to successfully treat a cat and get them back to good health.

I have no doubt that all the prayers, vines, white light and heartfelt thoughts sent by the people on this forum helped in Tucker’s recovery.
 
What a wonderful update on little Tucker! It gives us all hope - that even in the darkest of times - not to give up! Love the pics and the peanut thievery story - Luci liked that part the best! She is famous for her food thieving escapades!
 
His recovery is indeed a bit of a miracle. I doubt many kitteh patients recover when they are in that bad of shape. Team Tucker Rules! I am so glad he made it through this episode. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

And he is doing fairly well with the lower doses. I remember when he was at 5 units and bouncing around. I hope you can get him some lower nadirs again. Tucker looks better when he is dressed up in blue.
 
The latest : He went down to 90.1 last night and being that it is important we avoid a hypo, I set hourly alarms during the night to test him. He stuck at 90 until 2am, each hour I gave him a Tbsp of high carb gravy food to keep him safe and reset the alarm. Unfortunately, I slept through the 3am alarm but guess who didn't? My husband woke me up at 5:30 and Tucker had ripped open the foil packet and finished off the gravy food. He also got a new foil packet open and there was not a drop of gravy food left in it. I don't know how I didn't wake up during this feeding frenzy!
His blood test was horrible!! 470!!
 
I am laughing so hard I think I wet! Oh Tucker, what are we going to do with you? Bet he was so satisfied and had a fat little tummy.
Yep, there's the tummy!
 
Patty, I have been telling DH all about Tucker, through the antics before the two crises and since. I just told him about the latest and showed him the pic. Tucker has a huge fan base, we've got FDMB members family members all joined up too.
 
Patty, I have been telling DH all about Tucker, through the antics before the two crises and since. I just told him about the latest and showed him the pic. Tucker has a huge fan base, we've got FDMB members family members all joined up too.
His daddy says if we could read his thoughts in the photo they would be "How about instead of taking photos you help me get my stomach pumped?".
 
I was missing Leo tonight - the Monday night candle was lit. Then I saw the FDMB alert showing this thread. Thank you for posting Tucker's antics. It made me laugh out loud. What a total rascal Tucker is. He was probably trying to be as quiet as a mouse when he got into that food. Your little sugar kitteh is flying higher than a kite on all that gravy food.

That is a great picture too. Theresa will see it in the morning.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top