Just before Tucky fell ill with pancreatitis he had been in a dose reduction trend where he had some scary low hypos. While in the kitty ICU he was on a different kind of insulin administered through a continuous drip. Since going back to Lantus we started at his previous dose of 1.25 units but he was barely under the pee threshold, running at high teens/ low 20s (he seemed nauseated and not quite himself - not sure if it was the high BG level or still some pancreatitis so we proceeded with caution).
Forward 2 weeks and our (super) vet is home and had us increase to 1.5 but without much improvement in his BG level she waited a few days and had us increase to 1.75.
At 1.75 he was doing better but we were still looking at pink (high teens/300s) BG levels. Yesterday we had an AMPS of 400, so she increased him to 2 units. He immediately dipped down to the yellows and his personality, eyes, fur, everything just exploded back to his silly self. Trilling hello, head booping, stealing peanuts, walking straight up my chest and laying his cheek on mine (he wraps his paws around my neck to sleep, Mr. Adorables is back!).
Question :
After1 dose of 2 units he dropped to yellows, 231.
After 2 doses he went into the blues over night, 144 and 129.
His morning pretest was just 7(126). I'm currently stalling, I'm worried he will continue to drop and I don't want to put him at risk. It's 5:30am in Australia and too early to get advice from our vet (or even bug
@Bron and Sheba (GA) ). Before pancreatitis I would have shot without concern at this pretest level. Looking at his overnight drop concerns me. Do I reduce back to 1.75? A hypo when he is still recovering from pancreatitis could be dangerous. Advice, please?
@JeffJ